Home > Toy Companies > Orbis World Globes > 16-inch diameter EarthBall > Customer Reviews
16-inch diameter EarthBall
0

Customer reviews of 16-inch diameter EarthBall by Orbis World Globes

Return to 16-inch diameter EarthBall product information...

16-inch diameter EarthBall has been reviewed 42 times with an average rating of 4.29

16" diameter EarthBall
Posted 4/26/2010 by Jennifer H.
Rating: 5

I got this ball for my son for his 5th birthday. He was born on Earthday and is fascinated with anything that relates to the Earth. He wanted an "Earth" ball for his birthday, I thought he wanted a globe. He said,"No, a ball that I can play with that looks like the Earth." I googled Earth Ball and found Fat Brain Toys had exactly what he wanted! I was so happy I found it. We gave it to him at a family party and he LOVES it! He and his cousins were throwing it and kicking it HARD and it didn't pop or even look like it was played with because it kept it's shape. I am impressed with the16 page global handbook that has Facts about the Earth, games to play, educational activitities to play. I also think like the fact that the major cities GLOW IN THE DARK and that the 6 seams around theEarthBall represent the 6 major lines of longitude on Earth. Too Cool! I think this is a great learning toy!

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 8/7/2008 by David Sprecher
Rating: 1

I am greatly appalled by the inclusion of a warning notice to keep the product outdoors for at least two days before bringing it indoors because of fumes.
We contacted the manufacturer about this issue and have found the fumes are not noxious, but due to phthylates. A phthylate free version will soon available to customers.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 10/9/2009 by Carolyn Giuliano
Rating: 5

The EarthBall is a good size. Unfortunately on the first day of use it began leaking air. My 9 year old son was playing with it and it must have hit something that damaged it. I used the enclosed patch to cover the whole which was small but easy to find. The ball is now hanging from the ceiling in his room and not leaking air. He will be using it for a project in school at the end of this month. It's a nice product but not as hardy as we hoped.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

16 inch Earthball
Posted 6/1/2010 by Maureen
Rating: 5

The Earthball was purchased for my son's school play. For 2 weeks 50 3rd graders passed this ball around on a stage during rehersals and the ball didn't break. It was also the right size for their hands to pass around without dropping it. After the play it came home with us and is now a volleyball in the yard. As we pass the ball back and forth we have to name the different countries on the ball, and then we did states. We had fun learning geography!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 10/20/2008 by Lynda Mealue - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

This item has been used well in our wetlands/stream programs in Redwood National and State Parks. They last about two years with regular ware - shorter if they get left outside and a bear plays with it!

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

EarthBall fun for 8yo or infant
Posted 1/12/2010 by debra hazel
Rating: 4

The EarthBall had a plastic smell when it first arrived, but the product is surviving a ball-crazy dog, hard-playing 8-year-old, and go-go 6-month-old baby. One review mentioned it glows in the dark—we did not find this to be true. But my 6-month-old loves to lie on his back, holding and kicking it, and my 8-year-old loves to volley it across the room with me. And it's too big for my dog to bite, so it's surviving. Fun for any age.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 2/4/2010 by Jean Daddow
Rating: 4

Have been using the EarthBall in a large university geology class and it is awesome.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 8/29/2011 by jane Myers - OTHER
Rating: 4

This was used for a photo shoot, not for play. Was great for the purpose.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

earthball
Posted 5/24/2010 by sarah
Rating: 4

I had trouble getting it to blow up fully. The kids like it, but so far have used it only as a ball and not the educational tool it can be. The booklet describes some educational activities for the earth ball.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 5/11/2010 by Greg Zemp
Rating: 5

Great...it was exactly what we were looking for.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

16 in EarthBall
Posted 3/8/2010 by Sarah L. Johnson
Rating: 5

I was impressed by this EarthBall as described in a book I read. I have bought several as gifts for children and adults. They have lived up to my expectations as anticipated.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

b-day gifts
Posted 9/21/2009 by Sharon Ulrich - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Loved the elephant, the earth ball is a gift so I haven't blown it up yet.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 9/22/2008 by Curt Ash - CO-WORKER
Rating: 3

When it is blown up the seams on the ball created harsh angles. So it is not completely spherical.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 6/9/2009 by Brett Macdonald
Rating: 5

Good product. Is as described.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

EarthBall
Posted 5/7/2010 by r chevalier
Rating: 4

I like the fact that it is actual satellite photos, so I think of it as a global family portrait even though we can't see everyone individually. It's playful and educational.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 3/12/2012 by Baerbel Repik
Rating: 3

The Earth Ball looks great. Unfortunately, it is not easy to put air in it and it's loosing air every day, so you have to re-inflate it every day a little bit. Our son still loves the ball and after we put fresh air in it, he loves playing with it!
If you find yourself bound to the air compressor or foot pump, this is a problem. We have a solution. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for quick assistance! Our customer was shipped a replacement for the defective item.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 4/13/2010
Rating: 3

I LOVE the Earth Ball, and have had several before this one. However, I've had it inflated for two days now, and it is slowly losing air somehow. I'll do the soap bubble thing to see if I can find the leak, since a repair patch is always included. Still, the other balls remained totally inflated for months, so maybe I just got a "lemon" this time. It will be fine for its use, which is for our Peace Group's "Bearthday Party" on the 40th anniversary of Earth Day, this April 22.
No lemons for you. If your Earth Ball experience goes slightly sour, we're here to help. A replacement Earth Ball is being shipped to our customer. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for the sweet details.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 3/28/2010
Rating: 3

The EarthBalls were flimsier than expected. We thought they'd be more like the consistency of a physio/exercise ball. They were really just inflatable plastic beach balls. Earth graphics are cool. They do work for what we need.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

earth ball
Posted 11/30/2009 by Joe Tuccolo
Rating: 5

I teach special education for high school students aged 13-21. I am pleased to say that we used the earth ball in a project for a theme of habitant for humanity. We used this globe and 5 of the smaller 16 inch ones and then hung a flag of each country around the globes. It is going on display this coming weekend Dec 5-6. Thanks so much for the product and the ease of recieving the shipment. Joe Tuccolo Lowell High School Lowell Mass

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 10/2/2009 by Bobbi Chapman
Rating: 5

Wonderful global fun. I'm using it to teach the hydrologic cycle.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

MomRuth
Posted 10/15/2008 by ruth sammartano - FRIEND
Rating: 5

My son, who is an Earth Science teacher, loved this item. He found it to be both exciting and useful in his classroom. Great gift.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 9/3/2008 by Beverly Calhoun - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I was a bit concerned that the product was made in China( safety problems) however there do not seem to be any problems that I am aware of. This ball is an excellent teaching tool.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 8/26/2008 by Jackie Dunn
Rating: 5

I bought the earthball to use in my classroom. It is different, interesting, and beautiful. The quality of the earthball is excellent.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Earth Ball 16 inch
Posted 8/14/2008 by Bob Hodash
Rating: 4

The Earth balls seems quite durable and has an excellent image of the earth as seen from space. The clouds give the ball a realistic look without distracting from the terestrial and ocean features.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Earth Ball is a Winner!
Posted 7/15/2008 by Tammy Grimes
Rating: 5

The kids and I both love it! The kids especially like the fact that certain cities glow in the dark. The size is good. It seems to hold up well. It is durable and it looks realistic. It's not cheap nor too simple. My kids and the neighbors have started a club called "Club Earth" - so this was a must for the Club to have! Thank you!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

EarthBall
Posted 1/19/2010
Rating: 4

We already owned one and I wanted to order a few to give to my godchildren. Every child we have met loves this.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Earthball
Posted 1/11/2010 by Erin
Rating: 4

The Earthball is a great idea! It really invokes curiousity and gets people thinking.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 8/31/2009 by Melody F. Drawbond
Rating: 5

I bought this for my classroom. My kids LOVE it! The realism makes it so much better than a globe. I haven't told them it glows in the dark, yet. I'm waiting until we talk about population and urbanization. This will knock their socks off!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun toy
Posted 4/9/2012 by Nancy G
Rating: 4

Fun toy but not as educational as I had hoped. Our 7 year old is very interested in maps, globes, etc so we purchased this and he uses it as a ball. Because the globe doesn't have any markings like a map he's not as interested in it and the cities don't light up as much as we would have liked.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Okay
Posted 1/22/2012
Rating: 3

For the price this was a nice gift. It was purchased for a child with limited mobility. He really enjoys the fun aspect of the ball, and from a cognitive standpoint the book offers interesting facts and figures. The map was neat; however, not well done. Some areas had overlap and others looked "melted". The cities did not glow in the dark well as expected. For the money it is was it is. I don't regret the purchase but would not recommend it either.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 12/27/2011 by Kathi Charpentier
Rating: 5

Not as interesting as I thought it would be; child doesn't really know what to do with it.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 1/11/2011 by Ann Benjamin
Rating: 5

was a gift for two little boys and they love it

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 12/30/2010 by Jen
Rating: 5

My 4 yr old son loves this Earth ball. He had been asking for "the whole world" and when I realized it was a globe or earth of some sort I was excited to find something that could be played with.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 12/22/2009 by Edward R Sharpe
Rating: 5

I am sorry, but I purchased these to give away as prizes at an upcoming geography teachers convention. I have not and will not open them myself.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 9/19/2012 by Nancy Packard
Rating: 3

The ball is sturdy. Its coloring is not bright--it appears faded.
Don't fade into the background if a product disappoints. Brighten up with a visit to our Returns & Exchanges Center. We offered our customer a replacement or gift certificate.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about 16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 9/10/2013 by Denece Lord
Rating: 5

I teach 9th grade Earrth Science and this is a great Earth model for seeing the Earth's four systems in action, to see the percentage of water on the Earth by tossing and seeing where the students right thumb is touching- land or water - to use as a review game by tossing the ball to get answers to questions etc. It hold up well to all of the use and sometimes misuse that it gets from 14 year olds

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

16-inch diameter EarthBall
Posted 5/28/2013 by Arlo Moehlenpah - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I am using this as an object for teaching Creation and not as a toy.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb01