Home > Toy Companies > Pixel Blocks > Pixel Blocks - Imagination Set 1200 > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 26 times with an average rating of 4.35

Fun for the whole family!
Posted 11/3/2008 by Dee
Rating: 4

I bought the 1200 block set for my daughter's 6th birthday, because she loves building and creating all kinds of things. She's always wanted Legos, but these jumped out at me for being more modern looking in both their colors and their connectability (is that a word?). Of all the gifts my daughter received this year for her birthday, she told me that this was her favorite, even though she "didn't even ask for it!" Although she's very adept at spacial perception puzzles, the three-dimensional project directions included are a bit difficult for her. The flat, two-dimensional ideas included are very simple for her to follow. The only problem we've had with the product is when two blocks that are not lined up *just right* are forced together. Once this happens, they can be extremely difficult, or even impossible, to separate without breaking or shipping the pieces. The best way to avoid this is to play with the blocks in very bright light. The pixelblocks web site shows people building on top of large light tables. I plan to buy or make a light table very soon! Overall, I'd highly recommend this product, especially for kids with fantastic fine motor skills and adults as well.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fast shipping, nice product, thanks!
Posted 5/15/2008 by Damon Demosthenes
Rating: 5

These are fun blocks, especially if you're someone who grew up playing Nintendo and Gameboy games. You can come up with both 2d and 3d designs and the blocks create the appearance of what something would look like in an old video game. Hours of fun, but if you get easily frustrated or don't like fidgeting, then these blocks are probably not for you.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Legos for adults
Posted 5/1/2008 by David Kim
Rating: 5

I love Legos. Those wonderful colored blocks fuel child imaginations and let them build (and destroy) entire little worlds. I eventually got over Legos (although I admittedly bought deluxe Star Wars sets until I was about 24). Nothing piqued my interest again until PixelBlocks. PixelBlocks come in a single shape, featuring a peg-and-hole combination for stacking top-to-bottom, and a unique tooth-and-groove combination on the other four sides. The unique shape allows PixelBlocks to be connected in different ways that enable you to build in 2D or 3D really easily. The blocks themselves are basically small little translucent cubes between the sizes of a Tic Tac and an Altoid. These things are sinfully addictive for the geeks, especially recreational artists and the gamers who can remember the glory of the 8-bit days. Once you see you can build Mario, Link, Megaman, etc, you'll so want a set. There are about 20 colors, but most people can survive with the basic rainbow set. Take note, all these sets come with about the same number of each color, but you'll be using the greys, blacks, and clears far more than any other single color. So if this is more than just a random curiosity, you'll be buy extra single color packs which get a little pricey. Also, because these pieces are so small, it's bad for young children and pets. The website has an online store, retail locations (although it seems to be dated) and two really useful things. There is a PB Builders Club to share ideas and your creations. They also have something called Digital Stained Glass where it allows you to upload a picture, tweak and crop, and they'll tell you what you need to create the picture with PixelBlocks. This is a fun feature, but you'll be shocked how many blocks you need to create anything with decent resolution quality.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 3/7/2010 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

As a contractor, I saw these at a client site -- the items that were being built (this client has an annual contest!). I couldn't resist the colors. I was given an 80-piece set and was hooked. I not only order the 1200 set but also the larger set and am in the process of building a tropical aquarium. Very cool. It is brain-less work but something that I needed to do otherwise I'd work 100% of my time. Very enjoyable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creative fun
Posted 1/19/2010 by Carla McKinzie
Rating: 4

Great for any child that loves to build. The only downside to this product is that they are a little tough to connect side to side and ended up hurting my son's fingers. Definitely not for very young children. But my 12 year old loves them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pixel Blocks - Think Twice Before You Buy
Posted 1/9/2010
Rating: 2

My 9 year old son was thrilled when he opened a box of Pixel blocks. My son has built many Legos kits and I thought these blocks would be a nice change. However, we soon learned that they are extremely difficult to take apart. I had to get a knife to pry apart some of the individual blocks after we built our first project. The blocks are very small and hurt your hands because of the force needed to get them apart. This is too bad because they come in a nice variety of colors and you can really use your imagination to build cool things. However, the frustration of getting them apart really outweighed the fun of playing with them. (The #1 rule for play with a Fat Brain Toy: Enjoyment needn't be forced. Please contact us through our Returns & Exchanges department if any Fat Brain Toy does not meet expectations.)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/3/2010
Rating: 4

Good product, with lots of creative uses. However, it is advertised on TV and my sons didn't react as enthusiastically as I had hoped because they didn't care for the TV commercial that promoted this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pieces Difficult To Connect
Posted 12/25/2009 by Ann
Rating: 3

My 6 year old son, who is very adept at creating intricate Lego buildings and has great fine motor skills, was frustrated with the way these blocks connect. They kept jamming, with some sliding together easily and others nearly impossible to connect or disconnect once jammed. Even my husband had a hard time with them. We gave up building 3-D structures and stuck to flat building on a table top, for instance making a Pokemon character. We had much more success with flat structures because the Pixel Blocks didn't jam when we worked on a single layer of blocks. While the colors are vibrant, the case nice and the booklet of ideas handy, we have to give this product a three-star rating for difficulty of use.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 9/29/2009 by Sandra Kalmar
Rating: 5

This was purchased for my teenager but the entire family enjoys creating with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 5/7/2008
Rating: 4

These blocks present intriguing possibilities. However I (a middle aged adult) have had trouble both with getting them together, and with having them fall apart, as noted by others, especially if I am making a two dimensional, one level, item. This is frustrating. I have had to create an extra level underneath what I am building just to keep the blocks from separating and falling off.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/29/2008 by Debbie E
Rating: 4

I bought this toy as a gift for my nephew, who loves other construction toys. It was a great gift. Unfortunately, his Mom was not so happy with it, because the pieces are so little! But it does come with a nice case to separate the pieces according to color when you (or your mom) clean it up!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent toy for big kids :)
Posted 3/17/2008 by Ronald Olszewski
Rating: 5

Excellent set if you want to build faux-pixel "sculptures." They go together well and hold together excellently also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent For Adults & Older Children
Posted 2/26/2008 by Kamilah
Rating: 5

I use these blocks on my cubicle desk. They are such great stress relievers. I use them to make 2D and 3D objects such as animals, people, symbols, buildings, almost anything I can think of. I plot out my own designs on graph paper. I make them very slowly throughout the day, one block at a time, so I don't get in trouble with them. My boss has even praised my finished models. One thing to note about the blocks is that they have a tendency to slide apart when a piece of a model is only one block wide. So either double them up or plan not to have small parts ahead of time. They're still wonderful, though!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/4/2008 by Linda Carbajal
Rating: 5

My autistic nephew really enjoys pixel blocks. He can connect them to make them all one color and in a straight line. His other favorite blocks are Legos.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pixelblocks
Posted 2/2/2008 by Tifany
Rating: 4

I enjoy this product. This toy is fun to use in groups. The pieces are tiny, so supervise young children when playing. I like that the blocks join together in many ways. There are so many more possibilities for building. The tiny pieces mean it takes a little longer to build things, but you can get more detail in your models. The colors are beautiful. The blocks are well-made. Fit together tightly. A fun and addictive toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/30/2008 by Dustin Newell
Rating: 5

These blocks are great for creating real world pixel art of video game sprites. I have them on my desk at work. Between calls and other downtimes, I create all kinds of 8-bit characters. I do wish I had more black blocks. I may have to order another set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun
Posted 1/17/2008
Rating: 5

This is a great gift for the adult or older child who enjoys legos or puzzles. The Imagination Set supplies a good number of blocks to play around with. With the shape and size of the blocks, the possibilities appear to be endless. I purchased this as a gift for my boyfriend who is studying game design. He has really enjoyed them. We have even built with them together on quite a few occasions.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 7/31/2007 by Marina Neira
Rating: 4

Pixel Blocks are excellent in terms of originality, and as a fan of Pixel Art, I found them especially appealing. I was disappointed, however, by how easily the blocks come apart. Some of the projects shown in the idea book are almost impossible to make because of this reason. It's pretty much the only thing that keeps me from giving it a five star rating. They are a very entertaining, but younger children may find them frustrating when their creations come apart by merely moving them from one place to another. Perhaps it's just the box I got. I hope so, because despite this one annoying detail, I still like them enough to buy more in the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/14/2007 by Debi Elrod
Rating: 3

If your child is a Lego lover, they will like these blocks! I only have 2 issues with them. One, there aren't enough blocks for the price. Two, there is no consistency in the blocks themselves. Sometimes they are really hard to put together and take apart and some slide off when you don't want them to. My 6 year old has a hard time taking them apart and is often frustrated to the point of crying. But you can build some really neat things with them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Definitely Something Different
Posted 11/7/2006 by Martina G.
Rating: 5

We bought this building set for our 9 year old daughter's birthday. This was the one gift she decided to play right away. She claims it is more fun than Lego and just loves the variety of colors! Hey, what building set has anything close to pink! Within a few days she is building more and more complex structures and requires very little help. Truly a great product! We didn't venture yet on the recommended website - she can't wait to see more ideas. The only drawback is the size of the tiny pieces. They are easy to get lose. Of course that's just a drawback for the parents.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pixel Blocks Imagination Set
Posted 7/28/2006 by Kristin V
Rating: 5

My son loves these! He has several sets and he spends so much time "building" pictures with them. It's a very nice alternative to spending time in front of the TV or with video games!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect stress reliever for the office
Posted 7/23/2009 by Natalie MacLees
Rating: 5

I bought these to keep in our work area at the office, and they are a fabulous stress reliever! There's a big group that stops by almost daily to build things as a little break between meetings and projects. The parents love them so much, they've bought them for their own kids.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 3/20/2009 by Monica McCutcheon
Rating: 5

Sorry, I bought this for my daughter who lives in Austria. She bought it for someone else who saw my daughter's son playing with his and wanted a box of them for her son's birthday. One cannot buy them in Austria.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03