Home > Toy Companies > Plastwood > SuperMag 244 > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 56 times with an average rating of 4.77

My rating of
Posted 2/16/2006 by William Wallerstein
Rating: 5

Great creativity toy. Hours of fun for both kids and adults. Totally immersive activity. Extremely well made. What Lego was to me when I was a kid.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A life-long hobby
Posted 2/12/2006 by Steve Eitman - OTHER
Rating: 5

I've bought and used several brands of magnetic construction sets for myself and my children. Supermag is by far the most versatile and fun. The magnets are stronger than other brands and are manufactured very precisely. Their tapered ends allow us to create more intricate and organic designs. The Toy line has two magnet sizes and one sphere size. That simplicity gives us the freedom for more creativity. We are building a collection of Supermags over time to create larger, monumental, structures. I think the Magnetix brand is so popular in stores because of all the flashy colors and add-on bits they include. And of course their prices are much lower. But I'm sure that kids (and adults) must be disappointed in their quality and limited use. I tried Geomag, but the wide ends limited the kinds or shapes I could create...and there is only one length! Finally, about Supermag, their base price is just too high for a casual customer. I bought my first set of Supermags at a store. I remember being disappointed when I opened the box to discover they were so tiny compared to the size of the box and the size of the example creations on the box label. The boxes are bloated with styrofoam!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Geometric Modeling
Posted 2/11/2006 by Senthil Nathan G
Rating: 5

I use the toy as a tool. So its not a toy for me. I use it to construct crystal structures and some geometric models. It helps me to gain good intuition before attacking complex mathematical problems.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag order
Posted 2/11/2006 by Karl Luce - OTHER
Rating: 5

I find the constructions to be built an exciting way to exercise my mind while working on a vexing problem. It is a constructive diversion that keeps the mind working. These SuperMag toys are great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/10/2006 by Chris Min
Rating: 4

Great toy. May be a little advanced for our 4 year old twin daughters (perhaps should have started off with a set that only had 1 length of rods). In any case, the great weakness in my view is the lack of any instructions. There are a few pictures of a couple of items as on the cover, but it would have been nice to have more examples of things to make. Also I tried downloading a manual from the web site but this seems to be a broken link at the moment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 2/2/2006 by Clark Fife
Rating: 5

I've been a fan of Geomag and Supermag since it was first introduced in the states. I think it's the only construction toy to rival Lego. Endlessly fun and totally obsessive. As for Fatbrain Toys, this was my first order with them. Good site, great price and excellent service. I will definitely use this site again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermag - great gift
Posted 2/2/2006 by Daniel Salzberg
Rating: 5

High quality magnetic building set that allows significant flexibility in structure design. Additionally, we adults also find them enjoyable to play with (assuming you can pry them out of your children's hands). However, one needs multiple sets to build anything substantial.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/16/2006 by Gus Iverson
Rating: 4

The magnetic building pieces and balls are of excellent quality and most enjoyable. My 3.5 year old son simply loves the toy and spends a rather startling amount of time focused on creating with the pieces. My only quibbles with the product are three, specifically: * The size of the set for the cost - you have to make a signifigant monetary investment in pieces before you have a useful set. * The fact that you can't buy a mixed-color set of any size, once again driving the purchase of multiple sets. * Lack of instructions or useful examples included in the sets. I've managed to build some interesting structures but some advice or suggestions on how to build effectively with the pieces would be appreciated, particularly for the more complicated examples shown on the marketing literature.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great fun
Posted 1/6/2006 by Ken Judd
Rating: 5

The SuperMag construction sets are excellent toys. It pays to get large sets since you need many pieces to do the most interesting constructions.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

We love these!
Posted 11/17/2005 by Fiona Haag
Rating: 5

We just purchased these SuperMags for our two daughters, ages 3 & 4. They have both used them before at their pre-school and love them. I never mind paying money for toys like this that are educational and NOT 'brain dead branded' stuff! The only thing that would make me happier with SuperMags is if we could buy a large set of mixed color ones instead of just the one color option. Thanks also FatBrainToys for having such excellent customer service, I would be happy to recommend you to anyone.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag 244's
Posted 8/15/2005
Rating: 5

My 7-year old twins (boy an girl) play with these for hours! I even get in on it once in a while. We started with a small set, but soon decided that the 244 set in each color was the only way to go. Too fun!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 8/4/2005 by Steve Yourst
Rating: 5

1st of all...the customer service (re; product questions, quick delivery, etc) at Fat Brain was as good as I've EVER (and I'm 63) gotten "anywhere". Thanks. I bought the SuperMag 244 and 50 kits for my 4 and 6 yr.old granddaughter/grandson's birthdays. They (and their parents) couldn't have been more thrilled. They played with them nonstop (for more than 2 hours) until we had to drag them away for dinner....making all sorts of 2 and 3-dimensional figures...animals, geometric figures, etc. But the most remarkable thing was that our 24 yr old PhD candidate son (CompSci) had to be dragged away as well. His parting comment (sheepishly) was..."you never seem to know what to get me for my birthday...well, a couple of sets of SuperMags would be cool!"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Recommended for serious fans
Posted 6/30/2005 by S. B.
Rating: 5

A nice complete set. Smaller pieces allow for diagonal enforcements. You can build pretty large and strong models with this set. Allows more flexibility than regular Geomag sets.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag244
Posted 5/25/2005 by Tami McFarland
Rating: 5

My son loves them. I had given him some at christmas and I keep adding to his collection! He wants more and more glow in the dark ones. He want to be able to build the skyscrapers! He only wishes they came in Orange also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMags
Posted 5/12/2005 by hj
Rating: 5

my son (age 9) loves these and to find them on sale at the larger quanity (so less balls and more connectors), and use coupons for more $ off is better. I got these to stash away for birthday and Christmas, but he did see the box come in...thanks for great service and notification of sales too. one was on backorder but still came in very timely...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great but pricey
Posted 5/9/2005 by Kevin Cotter
Rating: 4

My 14 year old son LOVES it. The magnets are very powerful and work well. There's a lot of room for creativity and geometric mischief with this set. My only gripe is that 244 pieces don't go very far. It's easy to use them up quickly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Instructions please!!!
Posted 5/7/2005
Rating: 5

Great constuction toy. 7 and 5 year old spend alot of time building but instructions would be really useful. Tough to see what is going on inside the larger models. Also need alot of pieces to build larger models. Overall fantastic toy and worth the money.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun
Posted 5/4/2005 by Corey
Rating: 5

Had a lot of fun playing with these when I got them for christmas, I've since got a couple more sets. You can never have to many that's for sure!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Mag Magnet set
Posted 5/3/2005 by Robin LeClair
Rating: 5

My boys just love these Magnets. What a delight for the imagination. They are creating amazing designs. Thank you for providing a fun opportunity for them to be creative.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 4/28/2005 by Mark Prothro
Rating: 5

Great toy for all ages - my 3 year old loves it as do I. Let me know if you have another 244 piece special

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Price and Selection
Posted 4/13/2005 by Dominic Neumann
Rating: 5

During and after the order process I was completely satisfied with the experience. I could not find lower prices and the shipping was extremely fast.I have recommended you to all of my friends. The toys were pretty fun too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

supermag244-yellow
Posted 3/11/2005 by ashleigh r matteson
Rating: 5

my children love the magnets as does the entire family. my mother bought a magnet tray the children use to build on,it makes it sturdy.i am glad i found this site, magnets can be hard to find. thanks for a great product. ashleigh matteson

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mag-nificent!
Posted 3/11/2005 by Douglas Langdale
Rating: 5

Both the Geomag and Supermag lines are fantastic! My three-year-old daughter and I started playing with them at home, and in the first day she learned what pentagons, hexagons and octagons are. She's nearly as obsessed with these things as I am. I'm a writer, and I have a set on my desk that I play with whenever I'm sitting around pondering the eternal question of "What happens next?" This toy has awakened in me an interest in geometry I didn't know I had (who'd have thought that at 41 years old I'd be learning about Archimedean Solids?). Furthermore, these babies are a positive boon to a borderline-OCD sufferer such as myself. I'm able to channel my obsessive behavior into something other than counting how many lines in the sidewalk I step over. I don't know if PlastWood has considered recommending these products for therapeutic uses in this area, but they certainly should. I'm going to stop ranting now. Gotta get back to the Supermag icosidodecahedron I'm working on. Oh, and your price was good, too. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag 244
Posted 3/11/2005 by PJS
Rating: 5

Great product. You can build all you want -- let your imagination run wild. Lots of fun and it was well priced.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 3/11/2005 by Sue Trupin
Rating: 4

great toy. great service. only thought is that now with 294 pieces (we got a 50 piece set first)costing what is for us a lot of $$, we don't have as many pieces as we might want to have to make larger projects. also we got a catalogue of all your toys but not a pamphlet or book of suggested supermag projects. We are doing fine but I think that would be helpful for those of us who need diagrams and pictures. (my grandchildren don't seem to mind.) Sue Trupin

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMags are Super
Posted 3/11/2005 by Andrew B Deskins
Rating: 5

You came to the rescue! After trying to find a nonexistent magnet set at Toys R Us, I came home and jumped online. Another frustrated magnet hunter had found your website and recommended it. I found what I wanted very quickly and had it shipped easily in time for Christmas. The magnets were great and have been well used by my 7 year old. Thank you. I also went back on your site and ordered some stocking stuffers that were great as well. I will be back.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good stuff
Posted 3/11/2005 by tim
Rating: 5

this toy is a time killer. my attention keeps drifting over to it during the day and i wind up losing half an hour assembling my latest brainstorm. note that you'll never have enough pieces to complete what you want to make.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 3/11/2005
Rating: 4

The rods were smaller than I'd expected, and the magnetic balls were larger; somehow thru the photos on your website, I would have thought the reverse. HOWEVER, great set, loads of fun. I actually purchased this for my nephew, but now he'll have to fight me to play with the set when he visits! I'll probably be making another purchase, to add to the set...so despite my comments in paragraph 1, this is still a great, educational toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 3/11/2005 by Kathleen Crumbaugh
Rating: 5

The package arrived VERY quickly and was in excellent shape. It is a Christmas gift for a grandson, therefore has not been opened yet. We are excited to see how it will be received Christmas morning by this eleven year old with an engineer's mind. He is fascinated by magnets and has had other similar toy sets, which go together quickly. We are hoping this set will be as versitile as it promises to be and will serve him well for some time to come. So far we are very happy with the service provided by this company.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

supermag 244
Posted 3/11/2005 by stephen messina
Rating: 5

i think this item is the greatest thing to come along in a long time. i am eighty years old. i have been building shapes with this toy that are un imaginable.i still have ideas that i havent tried out yet. there isnt enough time in a day for me. the only suggestion i have is to make bigger models. bigger than super 244. thank you. steve messina.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermag 244 - Yellow
Posted 3/11/2005 by Jill D Hill
Rating: 5

My son loved his first set of Supermags so much that he asked for another set this year. His grandfather, an architect enjoys the magnets with him. This toy is great to take when you need a quiet, no-mess activity to occupy your child on a trip or anywhere you have to wait quietly. The customer service was great too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Toy!
Posted 3/11/2005 by Steve Yao
Rating: 5

My brother gave our nephew a supermag 50 set for christmas. He is almost three years old. However, it was my brother and i that played with the supermag, trading it back and fourth to see what kind of creations we could make. I had to get my own, and I did. It is a bigger set, and I can really get creative with various structures. The package came in mint condition and it was quick shipment. This will be a great desktop display for me to entertain guests in my home. Thank you!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermag
Posted 3/11/2005 by Jim Peterson
Rating: 5

The magnet construction sets are a lot more fun than the Kinex or lego variety, which have fallen for the trap of creating sets to "build something", like a roller coaster, a car, a castle, etc. It is a lot more interesting to have the basic constructions pieces and be able to build almost anything. The magnets make it easy to assemble an disassemble, also, unlike Kinex or lego.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great service and a great toy!
Posted 3/11/2005 by Heidi Lewis
Rating: 5

Our order for 3 Supermag sets arrived quickly and as promised. With 4 boys in the house, we will shop with FatBrain Toys again! Soon! Compared to the other "magnet" toys our boys have played with, SUPERMAG is their favorite. Supermags seem to be the strongest magnets, and the "glow-in-the-dark" set brings cheers of "cool" and "awesome". Even Grandma-the-engineer was impressed with this "toy"! Supermags are one of those very rare toys that we will keep for years, and it is played with by all "ages". Do the world a favor-TURN OFF THE TV (better yet:get rid of it), put away the video games and buy your children Supermags!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 3/11/2005 by valerie harris
Rating: 5

We have multiple supermag sets at our house. My husband and I and our three boys ages 7, 5 and 3 all play with them. We have given them for birthday presents and more recently, graduation gifts after some teenage guests could not put them down the whole time they were at our house! We love our supermags!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag 244
Posted 3/11/2005 by Paul Nicholson
Rating: 4

Great product, but I wish it had more suggestions on what to build with it. Step-by-step building plans for bridges or houses or whatever would be really cool.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermags are Outstanding Learning Toys
Posted 3/11/2005 by Scott M.
Rating: 5

Supermag toys are by far the best toys for imaginative young minds. The magnets are extremely well manufactured and buying several boxes allows kids to make an endless number of their own creations. I highly recommend Supermags for anyone with kids age three and beyond.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

supermag
Posted 11/23/2004 by Joan Gillen
Rating: 5

I purchased SuperMag 244 for my young fellow and he loves it. It is of excellent quality and the delivery was exceptionally fast but a bit expensive as I live in Ireland. Last year I purchased 4 Supermag items and they are excellent and the lads still use them. You cannot get Supermag in Ireland, the lads brought them into school and their teacher and the class spent hours trying to get the Levitron antigravity top to levitate. Overall I am extremely happy with the products and would love if I could purchase them in Ireland

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag
Posted 11/1/2004
Rating: 5

It's the most interesting building toys. I like it more than Lego and other building toys. The quality is excellent.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

creative use of supermag 244 blue
Posted 10/28/2004 by Bill Grappone
Rating: 5

I am a clinical social worker and work with children ages up and up. My patients age 5-18 are enjoying supermag and becoming very creative with them. However they would like some detailed instructions to build more things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SuperMag vs. Other Magnetic Toys
Posted 10/25/2004 by Robert Craig
Rating: 5

I love these toys. I have some at my office on my desk (everybody plays with them), and my son and I put stuff together at least three times each week (he's six). I prefer the Supermags because of the tapered ends ... you can fit many more bars per ball bearing. You literally can't build the same stuff with other sets (they're too fat). I have the other sets (Magnetix and Geomag), and they're all high quality and fun, but Supermag, IMHO, is the best. There is one catch, though ... the smaller set sizes aren't enough to build more than simple structures (for desk toys and getting to know the toy, that's enough, but for a tower or a bridge, you really need the bigger sets).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermag
Posted 10/24/2004 by Stephen Thompson
Rating: 5

Hi This was the first time that we had ordered anything online to be delivered in another country..... We flew to New York from London for a 2 day break. We thought we were taking a risk wth such a tight time frame but we were delighted and relieved that everything worked so well. We would do it again and found the Customer Service from Fat Brain Toys very good. Rgds Stephen

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Supermag 244
Posted 2/22/2006 by DOUGLAS C DYAR SR - OTHER
Rating: 4

The 244 pc supermag set is one of the best because you get more of the pieces that are used most. I highly recommend Supermag and especially this large set.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01