Home > Toy Companies > Rhythm Band Instruments (Whacky Music) > Chromatics Set > Customer Reviews
Chromatics Set
0

Customer reviews of Chromatics Set by Rhythm Band Instruments

Return to Chromatics Set product information...

Chromatics Set has been reviewed 32 times with an average rating of 4.06

My rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 4/13/2010 by Nancy Ewing
Rating: 4

I love the overall uniqueness of this product. Being able to make music with tubes that you bang together or on the floor, is a child's dream. A child of any age. I found the tonal quality of the larger tubes were more pleasant to the ear than the smaller tubes. Playing them in order, one could hear the pitches in their incremental tones, however just playing the two smaller ones on the floor alone, the tones were not as clear. Playing the smaller ones against another tube was much better. Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone who works with children to get them interested in music and to show that music is all around us and can be made out of unusual objects. N. Nelson

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of ways to have fun with this, and teach music!
Posted 5/17/2010 by Koni Purscell
Rating: 5

These were purchased for my daughter who is finishing her degree in music ed. She and her college friends were thrilled, and thinking of new ways to use boom whackers to teach and to have fun.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

parent
Posted 1/11/2010 by Barb
Rating: 5

My 9 year old daughter used these @ her elementary music concert. Now we have mini concerts @ home!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 1/7/2010 by Laura Juarez
Rating: 3

I bought this set for my 3 1/2 year old who loves musical instruments. I don't think he knows exactly what to do with them yet as we really need more than the 2 of us to actually make music. My brother, who is a music teacher, suggested buying the kit to make the set into a marimba which seems like a good idea. He uses them in his classroom and the kids really enjoy them.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Bit Disappointed
Posted 9/18/2007 by Donna Wilson
Rating: 1

I was disappointed with this product. I thought that when my twins would tap or hit them on things, they would "chime" like music, instead its just a tube (like a colorful empty paper towel roll) that sounds like anything you'd bang on something.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Fun, Great way to include music in your home
Posted 1/19/2010
Rating: 4

We use 'Boomwhackers' in our homeschool to teach musical and rhythmic principles to our 5th, 3rd, and 2nd graders. However, the kids just think they are having fun. They are constantly asking, "Can we 'do' music?" These instruments are used way beyond the classroom setting though....even our baby, 18 months, can enjoy action! I would recommend getting a full scale, so you will actually be able to play simple songs the kids can recognise.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

chromatics set
Posted 9/7/2009 by Peggy
Rating: 5

The product looks like cheap plastic toys, but my 17 year old son makes beautiful music come out of them. He is interested in music and possibly becoming a music teacher, and he loves them. Thanks.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 5/13/2012 by Karen Koch - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I actually use these tubes with an adult a cappella chorus to enhance certain pieces of music. The women love them and the audience likes the variety it provides.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Chromatics Set
Posted 2/10/2012
Rating: 1

I should've listened to the other reviews. The quality is awful... such thin plastic. Banging them together doesn't make any notes... just sounds like plastic banging together... not a pleasant sound at all. Waste of money & doesn't create music like I was meant to believe....
Try whacking Boomwhackers against a variety of hand surfaces, (instead of banging one Boomwhacker against another Boomwhacker). This provides more clear, pure tones. Additionally, the Chromatics Boomwacker set may be combined with any Diatonic scale set for more sound variation. We're in tune with your needs if you'd like a refund or exchange. We assisted our customer.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 6/28/2011 by Cyndi Wehmeyer - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

We use Boom Whackers in our preschool music classes. They are a big hit. The children love learning when the Boom Whackers are involved. They help to develop an ear for different sounds, teach following directions, reinforce team learning and reinforce color recognition. Boom Whackers also fit nicely into small hands.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Boomwhackers
Posted 5/19/2011 by Karen Winford - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I ordered these to use with a preschool class. We've only had a few sessions with them, but they're enjoying them a lot. Although one comment was "they're only PVC pipe - we could make those for less!" I disagree. They're the right lengths to make the notes sound true, and the colors with the note letter names allow all kinds of learning activities with the kids. Might even come up with science fair ideas using these Boomwhackers!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Chromatics Set
Posted 4/7/2011 by Caroline MacDonnell
Rating: 2

The sound is not clear enough to be attractive.
You'll like the sound of this - full satisfaction with every purchase is guaranteed! We contacted our customer and offered an exchange or refund. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Chromatics Set
Posted 3/10/2011 by amy j - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

fantastic for children and adults to explore sound, rhythm, and make music.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Chromatics Set
Posted 1/21/2011
Rating: 5

It is to be used by members of the choir wand www have not had time to do so yet. Have used it is school in the UK and they were excellent

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Music Questionable
Posted 12/29/2009 by Frances Sheldrick - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

The Chromatics were a disappointment. Not sure what we did wrong, but we could not evoke anything remotely musical from them. Yes, the tones differ, but we just didn't find them inspiring or fun.
Purchasing more that one Boomwhacker set will add to marked differences in tone and provide a greater musical range. We contacted our customer with this information along with our 100% satisfaction guarantee. If any purchase from Fat Brain Toys doesn't "tune out" as anticipated please visit our Returns & Exchanges center.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good, But Big
Posted 12/24/2009 by Kim Longfield
Rating: 3

These musical tubes are neat, but much bigger than I thought they'd be. I ordered them for my 4 year old daughter. After receiving them, I decided to keep them at the office for team building activities. I'd never give my 4 year old a whacking stick as large as a wrapping paper tube (the biggest of the tubes, C-major, D-minor) to use in the house. The tubes are also plastic. For young kids, I'd be interested in something more sturdy and smaller.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Chromatics Set
Posted 8/25/2009 by Larry Mazur
Rating: 5

I love it! I purchased this for my sister-in-law in Korea. Her music students are enjoying learning how to play them and the product exceeded my expectations. They make learning fun in a unique and new way. They can combine percussion and melody to play real music.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Chromatics Set
Posted 6/1/2009 by Kim
Rating: 5

My 3 year old daughter loves this set - we experiment banging out notes on various objects, and they make great swords and border morris dancing sticks! :)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Chromatics Set
Posted 8/8/2008 by Jacquelyn S. Quay
Rating: 5

The product was received very quickly and was just what I wanted. Thank you for your prompt service.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Chromatics Set
Posted 10/29/2007 by Shayshoshewa Westin - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The children of our Sunday School love the Boomwackers and are enthusiastic in making up new songs and learning some of our old ones.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Boomwhackers Chromatics Set
Posted 10/1/2007
Rating: 5

My students love to play songs on their Boomwhackers! The Chromatics set allows us to play many more songs than with the basic c-scale set!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 9/23/2007 by Dr. Lydia W. Meek - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

I have used the BoomWhackers only once. I did not find a real instruction booklet on what surfaces to effectively use these. We have carpet, so it was just noise. I probably need something to strike them with to make more real sound. The kids enjoyed playing with them, however. I may be able to give them a higher rating when we can utilize them better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Chromatics Set
Posted 5/16/2007 by Tony Guerrero
Rating: 5

Excellent. My nephew loves ya'lls Chromatics Set product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Chromatics Set
Posted 10/30/2006
Rating: 5

I am very pleased with this product. Its educational value is significant.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Boomwhackers Chromatics set
Posted 7/5/2006 by Jennifer Wirt - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

We've used the regular Boomwhackers for several months, so I already knew they were a good product. The Chromatics set allows us to play much more music, so they're very useful for us

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tons Of Fun
Posted 4/19/2008 by Tom Janssens
Rating: 4

My kids instantly were engaged with the tubes. They recognized the different tones coming out and were playing with them on the floor. Great for toddlers.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Boom Whackers
Posted 2/18/2013 by Emillie Lee
Rating: 5

This set was a gift for my 7 year old niece. My son who will be 11 received a set for his 9th birthday and they were a MAJOR hit with all the kids. The kids get to use them at school in music class. So now they can play at home too!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03