Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Erector Set 30 Model Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set 30 Model Set
0

4 Star reviews of Erector Set 30 Model Set by Schylling

Return to Erector Set 30 Model Set product information...

Erector Set 30 Model Set has been reviewed 129 times with an average rating of 4.50

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/28/2009 by Bob - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great set--Grandson is 7 may be a little young--but with Dad is really enjoying it.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A toy that grows with kids
Posted 12/16/2009 by IR - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I purchased this toy as a present for 2 students of mine, ages 11 and 13. The boys are learning English and are very "mechanically inclined", so one of my hidden agendas was to encourage them to read and follow instructions as they assembled the first few models. I was also hopeful the toy would provide increased bonding between the boys and their father, who is house-bound with a terminal illness. I'm glad to report that the younger boy came to my classroom very early the next day just to tell me that "me and my brother and my dad stayed up very late putting together a helicopter and it was so much fun! I can't wait to go home today!". This set looks like it will grow with the boys as they refine their building skills.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 1/18/2008 by Allison
Rating: 4

My 8 year old son and his grandfather started this a couple days ago. The manual is quite complex with small detailed pictures and requires a concentrated effort (at least in the beginning stage - we'll see if it gets easier). My son loves it as he loves mechanical things.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 3/1/2011 by Michael E Kuester - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The product gives a child more mechanical knowledge by using the screws and nuts to fasten parts together. Building something that actualy operates and does not fall apart during operation. Better then snapping blocks together and having them fall apart.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Raul Calderon
Rating: 4

My son is 6 and enjoys toys that require him to think and. This will be a perfect gift for him and his creative mind.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 6/15/2009 by susan dose
Rating: 4

Great toy. Still working on putting the first model together but we wanted something that would last all summer. Does require some parental assistance for an 11 year old.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 6/15/2011 by Karen Damron
Rating: 4

Instructions are clear. Models are interesting and hold together well when child plays with them.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/25/2006 by Betty Kaiser
Rating: 4

My 10 year old grandson is working on it. I think if there were written directions and picture references it would be better than just the picture references. He is having a little difficulty.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Stephen Bolin
Rating: 4

My son, who is almost 8, eagerly opened the box. Since I got an erector set when I was his age, I shared his excitement with him. We are halfway through building the motorcycle and the only problem I see right now is that 2 of the silver bolts heads have stripped - i.e., the hex tool slips and spins in the head socket, making tightening or loosening difficult. The erector set is teaching my son how to tell left from right, how to follow directions closely, how to have patience, and a lesson in perseverance. What a bargain to give a dad help in these areas, as well as some great time spent with my son.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 11/10/2005 by James Sneyd
Rating: 4

I thought there would be more building pieces included in the set. Other than that, it was what Iwanted.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

speedy b-day gift
Posted 6/2/2005 by Susan Pawelk
Rating: 4

I ordered an erector set as a birthday gift for my son on Monday. It arrived on Wednesday. He loved the gift and has been building a variety of different things since his birthday. He and his brother have been pouring over your catalog and are making plans to order a bigger and better erector set or they can build even more things. Your quality and selection are great. And your ability to fill orders fast was very helpful. Many thanks.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Erector Set Review
Posted 2/25/2005 by Tracey Yonker
Rating: 4

My nine year old son loves this Erector Set and he has assembled atleast four of the models in the directions. The only issue we have is that we now need to go out and buy more screws because we have had a lot of problems with them stripping out. It is not because he doesn't know how to use the tools, but because the screws aren't good quality. I am surprised at this lack of quality in the screws from a quality made toy. I would probably buy this toy again due to how much he enjoys it but I wish the screws were better.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Scott Dorn
Rating: 4

The product and the service were both great! I'll shop at fat brain toys again.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jay Thomas
Rating: 4

I bought the set for my 10 year old son. He is used to building large lego type toys, like a 2500 piece aircraft carrier. But at first this type of building was giving him trouble. He was having a hard time getting the bolts on and tightening them. I told him just to take his time and slow down and he would get better at it. Well now he has built about 10 of the 30 models and loves it. He really likes the way the directions are made.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

I love inventing
Posted 4/20/2010 by mitchell philpott
Rating: 4

I have really enjoyed using this toy I have put together some of the things that are in the instructions manual but what I have enjoyed most is that I have the oppurtunity to build whatever I want with it and I have the chance to practice inventing my own stuff. I take my ideas and turn them into actual items.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 6/20/2012 by Bryan Timmerman
Rating: 4

It's making a great addition to an already existing set!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 3/10/2011 by Joseph Thometz
Rating: 4

1 inch bolts missing from kit. Told to send in all sorts of reference information from box which had been discarded. Will probably need to purchase bolts from some web site that I was referred to by dealer.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great
Posted 9/13/2012 by Katherine Barnes
Rating: 4

My 14 year old son really likes this set. He has enjoyed all the things you can build with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Favorite Erector Set
Posted 7/31/2010 by Sam Cohen
Rating: 4

I really enjoyed building and playing with this set.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 4

We bought this as a gift for our 5-year-old; the smaller kit we wanted suddenly became unavailable. The majority of the parts are fine. The motors and gearing are chintzier than the model I had 35 years ago, but the metal plates and brackets are still fairly sturdy. I'm not a fan of square nuts, but the hex-head bolts are an improvement. The instructions are clear for an adult, but not for a younger child. Even for an 8-year-old, this set requires lots of grownup assistance. For a first-time Erector experience, this set is too complex -- go with something simpler. For a proven enthusiast, this is a nice model.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

2-person job, but great fun
Posted 12/25/2012 by John Sisson
Rating: 4

Nicely done toy. A good step up from Legos.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01