Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Erector Set 30 Model Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set 30 Model Set
0

5 Star reviews of Erector Set 30 Model Set by Schylling

Return to Erector Set 30 Model Set product information...

Erector Set 30 Model Set has been reviewed 129 times with an average rating of 4.50

Good quality toy
Posted 12/18/2009 by rachael king - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I bought this product for my nephew's 11th birthday. He's an avid lego's builder, so I thought this may bring him to the next level and give him a healthy, mind-flexing challenge. I was really impressed with the quality of the erector set. Still made of metal, after all these years (and greed of CEOs to make more money). My nephew was immediately intrigued (he had never seen one before). He opened it up and started putting together a model immediately. The assembly requires more attention to detail than any other toy i've seen. It took him a few minutes to understand how to read the instruction manual, again because he had never seen this type of thing. After he got the hang of it he sat on the floor for hours assembling different things. This toy may be rather frustrating to children who are younger, and not mechanically astute. I would recommend this for any child who has an interest in building things, further than just snapping legos together. This toy may also require adult imput. It's a good toy for family bonding.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Meccano Lives...
Posted 2/26/2008 by Wayne F
Rating: 5

It was great to see the old 'Meccano' gear. My son was thrilled (he got the 30 model set for his 9th birthday). We'll be working together on it until he gets the hang of it, but the instructions are clear. Yes, not all are detailed, but isn't that part of the fun?! You'll need some ziploc bags to store the pieces in, but otherwise it's a great kit. The quality seems to be as good as ever. I was very pleased to still be able to get this sort of quality toy.

19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/13/2008 by Robert Harrington - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

The product is great. I wish the box were a little tougher so as to be used for a permanent tool box. The box has slits in the bottom. Parts, screws, and nuts can fall through and the cardboard. It is not very durable. I will have to toss the box and find something else to keep the bits and pieces in.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 10/17/2005 by Diane Boydstun
Rating: 5

My son loves his 30 Model Erector Set! What he likes best about it is the motor. At 10 years old he is old enough to assemble the models totally himself. This toy stimulates his interest and challenges him. Great creative toy! The price of the Erector Set at your company was lower than at other sites. I appreciated how quickly the order was processed and how fast I received it!

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 9/8/2007 by Michael E. Beard - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I bought the Erector Model 30 set for my grandson. I had Erector sets when I was a bit younger and I think they helped me to develop my mechanical skills. My grandson has shown a strong mechanical aptitude. I can't wait to give this to him on his birthday. I think the materials are slightly redesigned since my days (1940's) and appear to be much safer. I like the use of an Allen wrench in place of a screwdriver. The illustrations showing how to construct each item are very good.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging toy
Posted 1/3/2006 by Elizabeth Lovell
Rating: 5

Santa Claus brought this set for my 8-year-old son. Everything seems to come very easily to him, and we are constantly on the look-out for things to challenge him. This set definitely did the trick. We have worked on building the crane together several times and have not yet completed it. It is great to see him working on something that is harder for him. We will definitely buy more sets in the future.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Lori Barthel
Rating: 5

We ordered this for my son. He is almost 8 years old, and he loves to build things. He really wanted this and is very happy with it. It can be a little challenging working on the motor part, but he can do this mostly himself, with a little guidance from Dad. I would recommend this toy for boys/girls who are interested in building and how things work.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Engineering Approved
Posted 11/10/2010 by James Town
Rating: 5

I bought this for the Engineering Academy at our High School where I teach the 10th grade Engineering classes. I gave the set to my 11th grade aides to test out and make sure the 10th graders could build them. They are having a great time putting them together and even were late to their next class because they needed to figure out what was wrong before moving on.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/22/2009 by silvio albano
Rating: 5

This is a quality product which I think my grandson will be very happy with

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 7/26/2010 by Goody Zunker
Rating: 5

My ten year old son really enjoys the product. He was getting a little frustrated at times when assembling items because he would miss something and have to start over. I think this process is teaching him to be more careful while following the instructions. This is definately a step up from "Legos".

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 3/17/2009 by Jodie Boyd - OTHER
Rating: 5

Great item. Met all of our expectations

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 3/23/2011 by Kenneth Adams
Rating: 5

I purchased this toy for my grandson who is just turning 7, I did so, even though it's for ages 8 thru 12, because he has always loved building things, and using his imagination. The more he is challenged the better. His ability to solve problems is beyond his years. He took to this toy right away, and he and I together have learned how to build with this toy. So if you are looking for a toy to challenge, and keep a youngster busy for long periods. this is a good toy.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/11/2009 by Nora Cuff
Rating: 5

I ordered 3 products from FatBrain and was very happy with the quality of all of the products.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun
Posted 8/14/2010 by Brandi
Rating: 5

Great idea for my 8 year old cousin. He opened the box right away and started marveling at all he could construct. Dad got into the act too. A great activity for the two of them.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/23/2006
Rating: 5

Excellent product, high quality, most impressed. Our child loved the 30 Model Erector Set. Thank you

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 1/12/2006 by Ruth Bailes
Rating: 5

We gave this as a Christmas present to our 7 year old nephew who is notorious for taking things apart, and always trying to use his dad's tools on things that really do not need fixing. My nephew's comment, "It's really cool!" He told me he had almost completed one project before the end of the holidays. The only problem, he is a little young still to do it on his own (the problem means, his dad or older brother then are pulled into the project). But I'm pleased he will have it for years to come. My husband said he played with his set for years, and wishes he could find where his parents stored it.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A young grandson
Posted 11/6/2004 by Richard H Potter
Rating: 5

My grandson is 7 years old which I was afraid would be too young for him to assemble a toy from an erector set. He has been very succesful, managing to keep ahead or at least even with his father. The directions are very good and there is never missing or ill fitting parts. As a kid in the 30's I spent many days playing with the old sets which were all metal and used a lot of nuts and bolts. Your customer service and fast delivery are excellent. Keep up the good work.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2008 by Mary Wallraff
Rating: 5

My "builder" son loves it! Comes with a 6 volt motor. Lets my child build vehicles with moving parts! Perfect for any child who loves to put things together and watch them work!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Set
Posted 2/12/2007 by Kim Kraemer
Rating: 5

My sons loves this toy.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 1/3/2007 by Jennifer Hite - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I actually bought this for my husband, because he never had one when he was younger. He couldn't wait to start putting stuff together!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 1/24/2006 by Barbara Kupfer
Rating: 5

My grandson who just turned 8 thinks the Erector 30 Model Set is a great toy. He has found it a challenge to put the battery pack together. There are so many things you can build with this set and the motor is a plus when the object you completed can move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy from Fat Brain Toys
Posted 1/3/2006
Rating: 5

I bought my 11 year-old daughter the 30 model erector set from Fat Brain Toys. What a great gift! The gift prompted wonderful questions about creativity, engineering, and construction to the point where I wonder if I really bought the gift for me instead of her! Anyway, the customer service from Fat Brain Toys was awesome, and the product is fantastic.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector 30 Model Set
Posted 11/29/2005 by Anne Smith
Rating: 5

Great toy for my 8 year old boy. He loves working with screws, nuts, etc and was taking his old toys apart to put them back together. Thanks to this great set, he has loads of fun putting the models together and making up some of his own. Highly recommend for boys who love to build and see how things work.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for the young builder
Posted 2/25/2005 by A Mainer
Rating: 5

Our youngest daughter loves building things. This set is a perfect Christmas present. She'll love using the engine to make hher "Wacky machines" really move. Her Aunts, Uncles and Grandparents all wish that they had thought of the gift, because they all want to play with it too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bought three, all were loved!
Posted 2/25/2005
Rating: 5

Kids (boys especially) love these. They didn't get it at first, but when the opened the set up and started playing, they were quite for hours!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent vendor!
Posted 2/25/2005 by Carolyn Lincoln
Rating: 5

The kits came promptly at the busiest time of the year - close to Christmas! The packaging was exceptional. I would definitely order from this site again. As a bonus, my kids love the sets and continue to play with them and it is now February! Can't go wrong with erector sets.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by David Sullivan
Rating: 5

Bought two sets for grandsons. They love them.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set 30 model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Beth Beatty
Rating: 5

My 9 year old is having a great time with this set. The instructions are easy to follow and is easy to work on for a time, then take a break and come back to it. We will definately add to this collection.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Guy V. Barnes
Rating: 5

Well, it's Christmas night and my 7 1/2 y/o son has been working on the helicopter model for 5 straight hours now. He loves it and it is a great product for young builders!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Hillary Lund
Rating: 5

This item is great. My son spent hours building with his Dad Christmas day. He was able to create and to see how each piece fit together. I especially like the motor and motion of the finished toy. That was a great reward for my son, to actually have the model move.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Easy to use web design
Posted 2/25/2005 by Guy Lento
Rating: 5

Your website is very well organized. I was able to find what I wanted and buy it with no false starts or dead ends. The selection of Erector sets was very complete, and the prices were as good or better than any on the web. My Erector set arrived well-packed and on time. Just an ideal Internet shopping experience.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent
Posted 11/26/2004 by Victoria Zarozinski
Rating: 5

Growing up my family had an Erector Set. My brother and I can still recall building "working" contraptions for hours. This 30 Model Set with 6v motor is a Christmas gift for my nephew. When I showed my brother, his eyes lit right up! Now all we have to do is wait for Christmas to give it to my nephew. There is no doubt that this will live up to our expectations... the pieces are just like we remember (metal, not plastic) and there are tons of pieces- just what mom loved!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of fun!
Posted 11/9/2004 by Lewis Mills
Rating: 5

Great gift for a 10 year old boy. Lots of building projects laid out for you, and plenty of pieces to get creative on your own.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 7/1/2012 by varun k - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

He has been building ever since he received it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 11/28/2011
Rating: 5

Bought this product for my 7-year old grandson for Christmas. He loves to build and use his imagination.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector 30 model set
Posted 7/22/2010 by fay losey - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

We did get a chuckle of how light weight these are. We are from the 40's and they were very heavy. We do know things change.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 7/22/2010
Rating: 5

My eight year old boys love this product and are having a great time building

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set - 30 Model Set
Posted 12/10/2009 by Becky Nielson
Rating: 5

Just as we remembered as when we where children. We get to pass on this terrific product with a new twist. The product has real moving parts and is made of high quality materials.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 11/23/2009 by Nancy Zorik
Rating: 5

This item is going to be a christmas gift for my son. When he seen it in the flyer that came with the order he said he would really like to have one and it was so cool. Little does he know Santa already got it for him. Thank You.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/15/2010 by Janet Thomlison
Rating: 5

Haven't seen him with it. They live a long distance from ut.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Wonderful Gift
Posted 1/8/2013 by Kristi
Rating: 5

My nephew loves this toy! Great way to stimulate mechanical abilities and imagination.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A little diffecult for beginner builders but loads of fun
Posted 12/28/2012 by Angela Moller
Rating: 5

This is a great kit with lots of different fun stuff to build. My son (age 11) has never built anything like these before so he does need a little help, but can do a lot of it himself. He will get each step done, then I will check to make sure he did it right and show him, if needed, what needs to be fixed. He can only make it about 3 steps before he needs to take a little break, but he is excited to get back at it after a break. My son loves that it came with a motor! Overall I think this is a great toy that will help teach kids how important it is to pay close attention to details, how to follow directions carefully, and have fun while doing so.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/26/2012 by Doyle Brown - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is for my 9 year old grandson. It will be an acitivty for his father to interact with. He is excited about it and is looking forward to those times they work on it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set 30 Model Set
Posted 12/11/2012 by Al , Arvada Colo.
Rating: 5

Great learning tool

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01