Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Erector Set - Special Edition Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set - Special Edition Set
0

4 Star reviews of Erector Set - Special Edition Set by Schylling

Return to Erector Set - Special Edition Set product information...

Erector Set - Special Edition Set has been reviewed 452 times with an average rating of 4.60

So far, so good!
Posted 9/4/2008 by Gena Montgomery
Rating: 4

the erector set came with a great carrying case, but with so many small pieces (nuts/bolts) it would be nice if there was a cover on one of the sections to keep those small pieces contained better. My son has already had so much fun building things and I'm sure will continue to do so for a long time. Was a bit disappointed that some of the pieces were plastic...hope they don't break too easily.

19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandma
Posted 7/9/2008 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Great quality, but needed a lot of help to follow the directions and to find the right pieces. A product more suited to the higher end of the age range for this item.

16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 4/11/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Our Grandson loved it. It's just like the set our son used 25 years ago.

16 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bringing Back Memories
Posted 12/26/2008 by THOMAS E BROOKS
Rating: 4

My 6 year old grandson is hooked on the mechanics of this set. Difficulty of assembly is high with many small pieces-nuts, bolts, etc. I think it will help build manual dexterity, hand/eye coordination, tool use and reading directions. He says he likes better than LEGO® kits. This is an advanced set and it might be better to start with less complicated sets. May require adult help. Overall we are very satisfied and challenged by the projects of this set.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/4/2008 by Nila Wanke
Rating: 4

Good to find a place to purchase these classics. Impressed with quality and packaging.

14 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/9/2008 by John Iafolla - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Wish toys were made in U.S.A.way to much coming from China.

13 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 3/18/2009 by Suzanne Dusauzay
Rating: 4

My kid really enjoy's playing with this set. He has spent hours that he used to spend on the video game - building instead!

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/28/2010 by Nicholas Zuck - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Product seems to be very well made though as a one time owner of the Gilbert sets of the '50's, I was a bit disappointed in soem of the components. I would have been happier had it been made in the USA.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 5/23/2009 by Lawrence P Boris
Rating: 4

Great packaging and case. Work with the set is in progress

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 7/11/2009 by Aquilino Garcia Arteaga
Rating: 4

Is the best toy tha i´ve bougth

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 9/30/2011 by Keith Bright - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Very Sturdy metal pieces, and a high degree of difficulty is why I chose Erector for my Engineering classroom. The instruction booklet is very detailed and beutifully illistrated. The storage cases are a plus and saves me alot of clean up time. I would recommend this product.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/14/2008 by Edward Portner
Rating: 4

It is almost impossible to distinguish the various spacers from the pictures, because they are all the same shape and almost the same color.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Sets - as Valid Today as when Dad was a Kid
Posted 5/10/2010 by Scott Ellis
Rating: 4

While the pieces/parts of today's Erector Sets include more specialized parts, many of which are plastic, the construction process is still satisfying and educational. Mostly, the process challenges one's ability to follow obscure directions consisting exclusively of visual diagrams, e.g. IKEA furniture assembly instructions. My only 'negative' observation about this kit is the lack of written clarification in the instructions, some of which were not visually clear enough to avoid pitfalls (bolting on an incorrect girder or using the wrong-sized bolt.) Other than that, I look forward to improvising and creating my own designs in the future.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition Set
Posted 2/10/2010
Rating: 4

Purchased for 7yr old boy who loves to construct and wanted metal parts that can be held with bolts. He was becoming frustrated with Magnetics and Legos falling apart during play. Of course he went to the most complicated project, the crane. Once convinced to start with easier projects and work toward the more difficult, he is spending many hours with and is enjoying the erector set. Nice to have a carry/ storage case.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 9/15/2009 by Shane
Rating: 4

Product is fantastic with easy to follow instructions...But my set is missing a small part which allows th wheels to lock onto the axle.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/13/2008 by Les
Rating: 4

I got this for my child for a gift. I opened the box to look at it. It's pretty solid pieces. Most of the pieces are metal. It is a great way to build different working models.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition
Posted 1/16/2008 by Rick S
Rating: 4

Really enjoyed everything about the kit. Used by a 14 year old. He enjoyed the versatility of the kit and how many different things he can do with it. He even enjoys using it to play with his legos. His only concern was that the directions weren't really complete for some of the things he wanted to make

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/10/2008 by Maria Moberg
Rating: 4

Recipient enjoyed the product. Never had Erector set as a child and now in his 40s and couldn't wait to dive in to assemble one of the models. All pieces seem to be intact. Nice carry case. Great gift for adults. Age group says from age 8 to adult, but this is probably not a product suitable for a child because of the complexity of the models and the small pieces.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Set
Posted 12/20/2007 by Patsy McMillan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My husband says it is a lot of fun but the directions could be a lot clearer. Also the carrying case was not good because the top does not fit tight enough to hold the loose pieces in place.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Set
Posted 5/17/2007 by Margarat Moore
Rating: 4

It is good overall and my son loves it, but the box doesn't hold everything together in one place. There are no gears, no clutches, and there is no steam shovel as said in the product description. Overall good, but specificly bad.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 10/19/2006 by Ellen Abrams
Rating: 4

I purchased this for my grandson who is quite the builder! He thinks it's cool! He particularly likes working with metal pieces and thinks the box is fabulous to organize the set. It keeps pieces separate from all the other building tools he uses.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/3/2006 by Fran
Rating: 4

A very nice set in an excellent storage case. I was a little disappointed with the number of "large" pieces. Though this has 600+ pieces, many of the pieces are screws and bolts. Compared to other venues for this product this was an excellent price and shipping was very fast.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Henry Stadler
Rating: 4

The set comes in a nice, rugged case with plenty of compartments to keep everything neat and organized. Obviously things change over time and the Erector set I had as a kid over 25 years ago has changed considerably from what is now being sold. An electric motor, rubber tires and other parts make the set geared more towards mobile creations as opposed to more stationary creations but my 10 year old will have a lot of enjoyment with this set.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The perfect toy you can build together.
Posted 1/2/2006 by Annie Andre
Rating: 4

I bought this set for my 8 year old son thinking that it would be somewhat of a challenge. The box indicated this was age appropriate for 8+ years. What I discovered was that this toy was extremely challenging... too challenging for him to do alone. So parents, unless you are willing to sit with your 8 year old and build this set together I wouldn't recommend this toy. However, if you're looking for something that you can do together then this is perfect. Overall, I'm glad I got this for my son. Most likely it will take us a month to build one project using our spare time. But it's a lot better than watching TV and it gives us something to do together.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/28/2005 by Steve Prabucki
Rating: 4

Thought there would actually be more pieces in the set but they count a lot of nuts and screws as part of the product. Me and my son had a great time building different stuff out of the idea book that came with the set. It has a very nice carrying case.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/9/2011 by rick schwartz
Rating: 4

11 year old is still a little young, but I think he will play more as time goes on

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

XMAS FOR 8 YR OLD GRANDSON
Posted 11/15/2010 by Cindy Knockeart - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I can't really evaluate this product yet. It is a Xxmas gift for my grandson so he has not received it yet. Based on how it looks and all that comes with it though, it looks like it will be something he will really like.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/4/2011 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson loved the erector set and plays with it all the time.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/11/2011 by Edward Forbes
Rating: 4

Once the missing parts were replaced, the Erector Set is a great toy. My son chose to start with a complex project and avidly works on a segment of the project, puts it down for days, then picks it up again to complete another segment. It's also a great opportunity to work together as father/son team. It's a very good experience for both of us. My son loves it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for all ages
Posted 2/7/2011 by Carolin Lund - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Bought this for my big boy for his 28th b-day. All he wanted to do that day was play with it. He started with the biggest piece in the instructions using up all parts but a few nuts and screws. He is playing with his crane which is decoration our living room quite frequently. I tried to talk him into taking it apart and starting a new project, but he rather wants more parts...maybe for his next b-day. The quality seems good. Except for the plastic container it came in, which was broken in one compartment.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/29/2010 by Katy Hoover
Rating: 4

The erector set was a great hit with my husband, who is a large child! LOL! He opened it Christmas morning and it kept him out of my kitchen all day - it really was a great present for him. I was a little bummed that the case had arrived damaged - I didn't realize it when I wrapped it because of the paper sleeve that goes around the unopened case. The bottom portion of the case under the sleeve was cracked in several places and when I looked in the shipping box, there were pieces of the plastic in the bottom of the box. I won't return the set - I cannot pry it away from my husband! All in all, it was a great gift for him! Thanks!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector set a good buy
Posted 2/25/2005 by Gary Ford
Rating: 4

The set provides a good variety of parts. My son is using it to try ideas for a school robotics competition. He's able to build different configurations, and the parts are strong and durable so that he can drive his creation and not have it fall apart. Perhaps the only complaint is that we wish the set had a few larger "plates". Overall though, the set delivered what we had hoped, and we're very satisfied.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 11/30/2009 by Terry Allen
Rating: 4

I would have like to have seen more spare parts in set, so you could build other things other than what the set would allow. I guess I will have to find some extra parts somewhere to solve my problem, but other than that set is as advertised and am satisfied.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mr.
Posted 6/17/2008 by ERIC T PAVEY
Rating: 4

Everything was like I expected except for one thing: The pulley's, and some of the spaces are plastic: I thought these sets were all metal. Otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. And it'd be nice if as an alternative to pulley's and rubber-bands, they used sprocketsgears and chains.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/4/2006 by Jacob Lehrfeld
Rating: 4

I bought it for my grandsons (8 and 6). They tried to make the most complex item. It was a bit difficult for them but with the help of my son and son-in-law they were able to complete the projects and enjoyed playing with the crane. The children were intrigued with the sets. They enjoy the sets and are looking forward to constructing easier projects on their own.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Not a quick toy
Posted 2/24/2005 by Donna Thaemlitz
Rating: 4

My son is above average in inteligence but he lacks in patience. He likes to be done quickly. This is not a quick toy. Since both his father and grandfather have remarked about 'what a great toy ..' and 'I remember....', my son has work with his set several times in the past few days. He has even commented on it being one of his favorites. I anticipate that once he starts to see things come together and work, he'll be encouraged to continue and develope some patience! Maybe you could find some simple designs for beginners- that don't take so long to build. These could be includedin a smaller book that has some steps more fully broken down.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/12/2011 by grandma
Rating: 4

Our grandson was thrilled to receive this set. He is a total whiz (really) at assembling all Legos, and was anxious to dive into this construction. He does get frustrated and discouraged at times because some of the illustrated steps to assembly are not as clear as with Legos. In fact, Dad, Grandpa and I took a fair amount of time over a few illustrations which were absolutely confusing. Overall, a good product. Sturdy. Lots of options. It will be a learning and growing experience for him. The tool use and motorized aspects are a good step up from plastic blocks. We hope he will ultimately build his own ideas, rather than following the suggested constructions (like we did as kids!)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 1/27/2011
Rating: 4

Classic toy that I loved as a kid. Now my son loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/30/2010 by Marc Colby - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Impressed with the packaging and appearance of the product. Was a gift for an 8 year old and at first I think he was a bit taken aback by the complexity of the instructions. After working on it with an adult assisting he became more interested and is now building with the set. Glad we got it for him, I think it is going to be challenging for him which is good.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 12/23/2010 by Fred
Rating: 4

quality not what i remember as a kid, but non the less good

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well Crafted
Posted 12/20/2010 by BRYON
Rating: 4

I bought this erector set originally for my 3 year old, but also for me too. Since I never had an erector set when I was little, I thought I should get the best one. I didn't realize how detailed the project was. Even though I knew this set was designed for 8+, I thought I could supervise my 3 year old and everything would be great! The deluxe set is great, don't get me wrong, but I didn't anticpate 6-8 hours of build time. My son wanted the big crane built, of course, and when I finally completed it, it seemed more suited for an older child. The only negative thing I can say about the crane is that when I lowered the crane with the motorized switch, it needed a little more weight and more tension on the string in order for it to lower down on its own. Cranking it up was great. I ended up returning the unit where the store manager told me to keep it together and they were going to use it as a display. She gladly provided me with store credit and we bought a more age appropriate erector set for my 3 year old. I can't wait to give feedback on that one too. He loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/14/2010
Rating: 4

This is the same set that my husband had as a small child and can't wait to have our son open it up at Christmas. This will provide endless hours of family fun!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 4/6/2010 by paul barcus - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

It was a big hit for me and my son to work together with my granddaughter to build a car over the Easter holidays. My 33 year old son and 6 year old granddaughter really enjoyed the activity. My granddaughter especially enjoyed operating the power tool. The instructions were well done, and the entire time together brought back many memories for me when I, in my childhood spent many hours with my set thanks

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Building Toy
Posted 1/14/2010 by JLK
Rating: 4

Good ideas of items to build. Kids need to be careful to look at which hole the arrow point to or it'll be off. Gives good design principles for kids. un to see the result. Not so fun to dismantle. The case is great. He'll get lots of use out of it if I can get him to take it apart for the next project.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set special edition.
Posted 12/26/2009 by Finn Jorgensen
Rating: 4

Excellent quality. Many hours of construction fun awaits.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/21/2009 by tim clemons - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

It is a very complicated set but for those who want to spend time with thier children on building projects it is very good. the insturctions are complete but it is very tedious because the parts are very small

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grand Mother
Posted 12/21/2009 by B. Lockhart
Rating: 4

The switch was broken after my grandson used it twice. We are going to send it in and try to get another one. Other than that he was thrilled with the whole system and his parents liked the case it came in.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 12/16/2009 by Bob
Rating: 4

Great toy offering hours of enjoyment for my 10 year old son.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/9/2009 by Larry Robertson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Products are of Good Quality Materials. My Grandson will love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/8/2009
Rating: 4

This product is everything that we had wanted for our son. It was the only thing that he wanted for Christmas and we are excited to see him open it up for Christmas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/6/2006 by Frits Sandberg
Rating: 4

We bought this for our 6 year old son. He loves building things. He put the erector set on his Christmas list and is absolutely thrilled with it! The set comes with a book to build all the different models but right now he is enjoying making up his own stuff. I recommend it if your child likes to tinker, create, or build.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Amy
Posted 11/29/2005 by Amy Gorman
Rating: 4

Great creative toy for a child that likes to build. Some of the models are complicated for an 8 year old but he/she can start with simpler projects and use this toy for years. Good that this set comes in a carrying case because there are so many pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super looking Set
Posted 11/22/2005 by Rebekah J Yeager
Rating: 4

We have not yet made anything as this is a gift for Christmas, but this looks just like what I was aiming for for my "engineer" minded 8 year old. I know that he will spend many happy hours with this making stuff and there are plenty of pieces to offer lots of choices.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Priceless Creativity and Memories in the Making
Posted 11/8/2005
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 12 year old son. It's a Christmas gift so he has not received it yet. However, I would like to comment that when I saw this Special Edition set on your web site (at a fair price, I might add!), I knew it would be the perfect item for him and his Grandfather (my Dad). They will get to spend precious hours building and using it together.... that's something that you cannot put a price on. Erector sets have been around a looong time, my Dad still has an original one - the motorized crane. I was so happy to have come across your web site, offering a well rounded selection of real toys that promote creativity, imagination, learing without costing me a months pay! Thank you! Oh, and the only reason I am not giving a rating of 5 stars (highest), is because we haven't opened the package yet. (Hoping all the pieces will be there and that it works the way I envision).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 10/14/2005 by Karen Croston
Rating: 4

My daughter thinks that this is product is great. She likes to build things that move.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good toy, great price
Posted 5/18/2005 by Stewart Meijer
Rating: 4

Timely shipping (and free too) for this timeless toy. All in all, a good toy at a great price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 5/5/2005 by Ken Gautier
Rating: 4

This kit has a wide variety of projects for kids to build, and my kids especially enjoyed building the more complicated projects with my help.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/25/2005
Rating: 4

My 10 year old really liked this set. It was difficult enough that he didn't finish it in one day but not so hard as to be frustrating.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Jill Fath
Rating: 4

My son loved this erector set. He couldn't wait to get started on it. I loved the carrying case that came with it. It is great for starage.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Richard Diacont Jr.
Rating: 4

My grandson and I started putting the item in the picture together. What I noticed different from the set I owned many years ago was the SMALL size of the parts. Some of the bolts are very hard to distinguish from one another because they are so close in size to each other. I don't know if it is possible to color code the items, but that might help in identifying some of the smaller parts, also if the parts themselves we a bit larger. I would not mind paying more if those changes were made to the product. It also would be nice if you could e-mail me your thoughts on my suggestions. My e-mail is: rckd52755@aol.com. Thank you for your time. Rick Diacont

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/25/2005 by Edwin Zollinger
Rating: 4

The carry case is a plus. The crane was not as easy to assemble as first thpought. I nneded to help my son gert organized and review how it is to be assembled. After that, then he seemed to get the knack. Our efforts do not reflect the picture... practice (hope will) make us perfect.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This is a nice set but way too advanced for my 7 year old
Posted 2/24/2005 by Larry R White
Rating: 4

This is a nice set but way too advanced for my 7 year old grandson. In fact, I'm an engineer and I was having some trouble. I'll be keeping it for when he is older.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tons of Fun
Posted 2/24/2005 by Phillip Cole
Rating: 4

Very detailed instructions for the models in the book. My son is having a great time with his new Christmas present. My only complaint is the motor could be stronger. Does not power the cars very well at all.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Crane Project
Posted 2/24/2005 by Shawn B. Brittingham
Rating: 4

Fat Brain delivered on time and product was in excellent shape. The Special Edition Set is difficult to assemble for a 9 year so I assisted. Looks good, lot of work. Thanks!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Learning Gift
Posted 2/24/2005 by Tim Morales
Rating: 4

My son and I had hours of fun and endless possibilities with this construction set. Great to see his mind at work on something other than video games.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition
Posted 2/24/2005 by Krissi
Rating: 4

Great product, not as good as the original, but what do you expect. Super fast shipping and great service.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hours of educational learning
Posted 11/28/2004 by Paul Wine
Rating: 4

i was looking for a education toy for my eleven year old grandson. I wanted to find something where he would be creative and something that would be challanging to him. I found the Erector Set Special Edition to be that item. With it he can build and create several different mechanical marvels. It actually takes his attention away form TV and directs into more productive and educational direction. I also like the fact that is not a computer game or etc. This is a hands on educational toy. He has hours of educational learning, and building which stimulated his creative juices.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Reminds me of being a kid
Posted 10/30/2004 by Francis Bruening
Rating: 4

Nice set, reminds me of being a kid. It is too advanced for my 6 year old, but we do projects together, and I'm hoping when he's older he'll develop a passion for building with this (I'm an engineer, like father like son) thx,

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 10/27/2004 by james
Rating: 4

ordering went smooth, shipping was timely and the product is as expected...so far I can't keep my 5 year old son and 10 year old daughter away from it....

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 10/14/2004 by Bryan Peeler
Rating: 4

St met our expectations both in quality and the skill level. The instructions are all pictures, and that is a little cobfusing at first.... but then makes sense, kinda like reading a blue print. My son was pleased and it was hard to NOT build things for him, but rather let him do it himself, and of course make mistakes and learn to correct them on his own. This set is NOT too complicated and is prefect for young people that are into building things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/10/2008 by Scott Dyer
Rating: 4

Is a Xmas present for my son, have not given to him yet but I loved Erector sets as a kid and am sure he will enjoy as well

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

What You See Is What You Get !
Posted 2/24/2005 by Sylvia Thurman
Rating: 4

My 15-year-old grandson was excited to receive this 600+-part Erector set; however, upon opening it, there was some disappointment to find that this number included mostly nuts and screws and very few actual "parts." It would be helpful if the description and number of parts were listed rather than include 500+ nuts and screws as the majority of the numbered parts. I told my grandson that I would add to his set; but the initial disappointment still registered on his face as he continued to put together the motor. I will still add to his set, in hopes that further purchases will include more "parts" than this one actually contained. The delivery was as promised -- speedy and without a glitch! I will happily purchase from your store again !!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/27/2012 by KRISTIN L OSBAHR
Rating: 4

My 8 year old loves this set however it does require an adult to be present to "assist'!!

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/26/2012
Rating: 4

My 15 year old is enamored with this!

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 10/29/2013 by Mark A. Carey
Rating: 4

We have only had the item for a short time, but he loves it. We have purchased other items in the past from your company.

2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Still in the box
Posted 1/8/2013 by Melissa Merson
Rating: 4

This appealed to me because my brothers played with these. The cool commemorative box looked like a convenient way to handle all the pieces and keep things organized.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03