Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Erector Set - Special Edition Set > Customer Reviews
Erector Set - Special Edition Set
0

5 Star reviews of Erector Set - Special Edition Set by Schylling

Return to Erector Set - Special Edition Set product information...

Erector Set - Special Edition Set has been reviewed 452 times with an average rating of 4.60

Will definitely order again!
Posted 9/18/2008 by William Wise - OTHER
Rating: 5

Excellent product although the directions do get a little hard to understand at times. Takes time to build but with a little patience you can overcome the minor flaws and have a great time!

35 of 36 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/6/2009 by Ben McBride - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I'm an old guy who had a big erector set when I was a kid. I'm a retired mechanical engineer now and I build machines that entertain me, usually home-made. I enjoyed putting my crane together and I was impressed with the craftsmanship and care given the product, not only the hardware, but in the thoughtful utilization of the parts to make a functional machine. I was also pleasantly surprised that the parts inventory was perfect. I only wish there were more structural components available so that I could add on more features. I may have to buy other sets since I dont want to disassemble this one.

34 of 35 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Sets are Great
Posted 1/3/2006 by Thomas Leyva
Rating: 5

My son is almost 8 and already says that he wants to be an engineer. He told me recently that when he grows up he's going to build the fastest race cars. I figured I'd jump at the chance to get myself...er...him an Erector set for Christmas. We built our first model and it was great! On several occasions we found ourselves fighting over the tools. I told him, "I think I'm having more fun than you". "Trust me, you're not!", was his reply. Two hours passed, and when the last bolt was tightened he literally shouted out loud in excitement. We spent the next 30 minutes launching Santa and Frosty across the room with the catapult we built. I don't know who had more fun, but we both really had a blast and can't wait until we can build the next model. To think that I'm 34 years old and I love this toy. The quality of Erector sets go without saying. There's a reason why they've been around so long. And I'd like to add that I couldn't have bought it from a better place than Fat Brain Toys! Excellent service from beginning to end. I WILL buy from Fat Brain again. You can count on it. Thanks again.

24 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/4/2008 by Todd Ross
Rating: 5

I am very satisfied, I think the product is of highest quality.

24 of 28 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/11/2008 by James W. Lancaster - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I am older and retired and I haven't had an erector set since I was a child. This one is a bit more complicated than those of time gone by but I am enjoying it tremendously. This is one of the ways to enjoy my free time. The set is great. The instructions for the projects are quite clear and comfortable to folow. The carrying case is easy to handle. All artound quality is up there with the best. Outstanding product. James Lancaster

20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Errector Special Edition Set
Posted 10/20/2008 by Jaime Ananko
Rating: 5

A really nice working retro construction set.

20 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition
Posted 8/24/2009 by Garett Medlin
Rating: 5

I gave this five stars because for a very good price, this erector set will last for many hours. Being able to make 25 different models was the reason I chose it and it makes this set last for a very long time.

18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 7/2/2009 by Mateo A.
Rating: 5

My grandpa gave me this set and I love it! Instructions are easy to follow, it comes with tricks to help you measure what piece you need to use. You can build what's suggested or just use your imagination. For some parts, you might need a grown up help.

16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Meccano at its best!
Posted 3/24/2009 by Michel LeBlanc - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

The case is the right size to hold all the parts. But for small parts, its better to separate them into smaller containers that you can still store in the carriage case. The quality is great. I would have preferred that all the pulleys be made of metal. (Two of the larger pulleys are all-metal, however.)

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 5/27/2010 by heather-cut bank, mt
Rating: 5

Our 10 year old received the Erector Set Special Edition Set for his birthday. Ever since we have opened it both our sons (the other is 6) have been very busy building. We have only had the case closed once (on the way home from grandma's), other than that, the directions are open and the building is non-stop. They even rearranged a spot to work on things, bringing in more lamps for light. The directions are so easy, everything is very well organized, the parts are sturdy and easy to put together. There are so many items to build and the carrying/storage case are super.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

genius at work
Posted 6/9/2009 by Ralonda Patterson
Rating: 5

My 9 year old son loves to build things. When we got this set home, he was a little bit overwhelmed but he is not usually phased by the complexity of his toys. We have not had any erector sets before and this is looking to be a great challenge. It will not only challenge his fine motor skills but it will also test how well he keeps his cool. I realised very quickly that this set will require parental guidance and will serve to teach many lessons of perserverance, skill and achievement. This is not just a toy but a learning labratory of fun for both parent and child.

13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 5/12/2010 by Douglas A. Pierce
Rating: 5

my daughter has evolved from Legos to erector sets - I had an erector set as a kid, used the heck out of it, and the two sets I purchased through "Fat Brain" are the same high quality and I know they will last her just as long

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/8/2008 by Taryn - OTHER
Rating: 5

Exactly as stated. Very pleased

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just great
Posted 12/8/2008 by Stewart Gordon
Rating: 5

What can I say ? A throwback to my youth 35 years ago! and what we in the UK called Meccano, you call it Erector. Ethan was agog and launched straight into it, and the catapult was up and running quickly!. I had to keep my Adult head on and let him do his thing! Brilliant toy for the adventurous and kids who love the joy of working things out

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandson Ecstatic
Posted 1/4/2012 by Mary Flanagan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 10 yr-old grandson was ecstatic when he unwrapped this Christmas gift. He loves building things & had been wanting an Erector Set of his own ever since he found his father's in our basement. Loves it!!

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set
Posted 6/24/2009 by MARVIN M. HEWLETT, JR., D.D.S.
Rating: 5

The quality of this item exceeded my expectations.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/21/2009 by David Wilson
Rating: 5

My nine year old grandson built the crane featured with the special edition set and which i gave him a year ago. So I ordered the same set again so he could build something new without dismantaling the original work. He built the crane when he was eight with no adult help. I am delighted with this toy and the opportunities it provides to teach and for the child to achieve.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Quality
Posted 12/26/2008 by Susan Williams
Rating: 5

The special edition erector set that I ordered for my son's Christmas gift was just as I remembered from my childhood. It's a great "toy" that promotes problem solving and thinking and also sparks creativity.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excelent Toy to power your imagination!
Posted 9/16/2009 by Roberto Lynch
Rating: 5

I have no word to describes this toy, it have more than 100 years old and still in the market. With this toy you and your kids can experience a real fun, constructing in a team a lot of cars, tow, everything that you want.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Speciat Edition Erector Set
Posted 2/16/2008 by Frank - OTHER
Rating: 5

I haven't played with erector sets since I was about twelve, but I had the urge to create something and this was the perfect solution. The creativity and fun that this set evoked reminded me of why I became an engineer.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 5/24/2009 by Jen Caldwell
Rating: 5

What a great product. My son turned 10 and loves Legos but he builds those so fast and then its over. With this set there are 25 different things he can build and it keeps the fun going longer. He does need to come and ask us for help with some stuff where Legos he doesn't but we love that it's more of a challange.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

erector set special edition
Posted 1/10/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I got this set for xmas and have been building the vehicles every chance I get. It's actually pretty hard to stop building and go to sleep.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition Set
Posted 12/3/2008 by JR
Rating: 5

Well constructed, made to last. Bought as a Christmas gift for our son. He will enjoy it a lot.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 7/15/2012
Rating: 5

I bought the Erector set and the Engino for 4 grand kids. They are all very creative, and this keeps these kinds of toys keep them very excited, but more importantly, will undoubtedly help them as thinkers as they grow up..

20 of 32 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/27/2012 by Michael Juel - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I purchased this Erector set with grant money I was awarded for my mentoring program for gifted youth. I have intended to use this toy to enhance our mentoring sessions, but due to the time constraints of being a high schooler, I havn't yet had the chance. However, I have tested the product out and discovered that it is incredibly fun! My other high school friends have enjoyed 'testing' it with me and a few have decided to order their own! I can only hope that my student will have as much fun with this product that I have.

18 of 28 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/2/2011 by PAUL KEARNEY
Rating: 5

I'm 59 going on 60 - just I little while ago I was 5 going on 6. Have always been a secret engineer, but didn't really know until the last several years - lifetime fascination with bikes - to me, like sculpture, everyone - how something so thin and light can be so strong - the nature of balance is akin to magic - spokes radiating, wheels rotating, up in the air like flying. Have always had bikes, hobbies and animals - and live full-time in Manhattan now (!). To the point, I had an erector set and a girder and panel buidling set, and a Lionel train when I was little, and now I have them all over again when I'm big. This product is truly one for all ages, the instruction manual itself is a wonderful piece of work - complete instruction by pictures completelely without words - and we're discussing a complex and fairly abstract mechanical device - and...intuitively, visually, it works - it's almost like a new medium possibly due also to the great graphics - the colors, the layout.

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/15/2009 by Becky
Rating: 5

Fantastic and excellent quality!

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 3/4/2009 by Mitch Groen
Rating: 5

My son is having a great time with the erector set. The carrying case is an excellent feature to keep all the parts organized.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/18/2011
Rating: 5

It is great for a 12 year old. It is challanging and yet not too complicated to put together. You can create a car, crane, helicopter, and more. It takes concentration and patience but you will be happy with the results.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

History repeats itself
Posted 6/4/2009 by James Holish - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The best, simply the best! My grandson turned 9years old this week, and has a very inquisitive mind. He is creative and loves to express his imagination any way he can from water colors to books, from Leogos to remote control models. This erector set was not a hit, it was a mojor hit.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/13/2009 by Eric-Paul JOHNSON - OTHER
Rating: 5

Recieved my set friday, and put it to work late evening. This set seems to have enough pieces to satisfy the imagination, but time will tell all.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Toy For My Boy
Posted 12/22/2008 by Clay Hudson
Rating: 5

This is a great toy for those children that like to build. My son loves to tinker and play with building toys and this product fits the bill. It sure helps that i also as a boy had some of the same toys to tinker with.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Set
Posted 12/13/2008 by Joseph Crum
Rating: 5

Will use this Set in the classroom (Rre- Engineering Course) for problem solving activities. Set has all the parts needed to construct devices to solve a number of pre-determined set of problems. Students will work in pairs and will have a time limit in effect. The final outcomes are not yet known.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 5/20/2008 by Robert Flynn
Rating: 5

As a gift for a budding engineer this was a great buy. It has not been put back in the package since he got it. He just builds and builds!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy
Posted 3/28/2008 by Jill N - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

My eight year old sons LOVE this set. They love to build things and this is different from their other building toys. I love the case--all the pieces have somewhere to go and don't end up scattered around the house. And there's room in the case to add more pieces. My kids started by building their own creations and experimenting with the pieces, rather than building the suggested models. I do wish we could buy more of the larger pieces to add on (as opposed to buying model kits)

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Stuff!
Posted 3/19/2008 by Leck Read
Rating: 5

High quality product. Lots of options to build different models. All the pieces are well made. The carrying case is compartmentalized for all the parts.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/9/2008 by Mark Spikes - HOMESCHOOL
Rating: 5

A great set that is challenging, but not impossible for our 10 year old. With about 25 different designs, this kit will be used over and over.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/11/2010 by Susan Woeltjen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My just 7 year old utterly desired this toy. He is extremely bright and loves to put together toys, like K'nex ferris wheels and the like. I know this toy is recommended for 8 years to 15 and though it may prove to be loved and played with, the pictures provided for building are a little harder than those he is used to. There is also the problem of fine motor control in this toy, as there are many very tiny parts. He first attempted to assemble the motor and still hopes that the rest of the construction will be easier. I am not convinced that this is so. His frustration was very high, as he is not used to being unable to do something like this. He will definitely be able to enjoy it in a few months. The toy looks wonderful in summary.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great challenge for nine year olds!
Posted 9/19/2010 by Kim Erwin
Rating: 5

Nicely packaged, with clear instructions--our nine year old is putting it together by himself! Product is well crafted.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/29/2010 by C. Goeggel
Rating: 5

My 10 year old is always making things from items around the house. My husband suggested we buy him an erector set. We couldn't be more pleased! Our son is making so many neat things that actually move with motors! This erector set is so different than the ones we grew up with. The technology is just amazing! Our son is hardly paying any attention to his video games and computer - he's having a ball with this! I think we might have a future engineer in the family.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/22/2009 by christine
Rating: 5

My son (10 years old) totally enjoyed building with this set. There were lots of options for him to choose from. This is a good set to start with do to all the options.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

BEST SET EVER
Posted 12/30/2008 by gayle ribertone - OTHER
Rating: 5

IT WAS GREAT THE ONLY SET I COULD FIND WITH THE CARRYING CASE WE'LL HAVE LOTS OF FUN TRYING TO PUT IT TOGETHER

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Set!
Posted 12/29/2008 by RL
Rating: 5

This is the perfect set for any aspiring builder or creative mind!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great father/son set!
Posted 1/23/2008 by Leslie Hayes Wolf
Rating: 5

Both my seven year old and my husband have great engineering ability and hand-eye coordination - they love it!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 4/20/2006 by Patrice DeLaTorre
Rating: 5

Exactly what I was looking for -- the classic Erector Set! There is nothing like the original classics.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic set, occupies for hours!!!
Posted 1/16/2012 by Audrey K
Rating: 5

Fantastic product! Initially, my son built the set as shown in the picture, but it wasn't long before he was making his own creations. Even my husband and our older son (18) have a blast with this set!!!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 4/6/2011 by Gabriel Ogilvie
Rating: 5

Fast Shipping, Fun product

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

awesome fun!
Posted 3/9/2011 by Cool inventor kid
Rating: 5

Love using my imagination to make things not in the book! I make cool little battle bots and have a whole war set up.... I can create, build and battle for hours!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/29/2010 by Melissa Arndorfer
Rating: 5

My 14 year old stepson loves this. He has been diagnosed with Juvenile Epilepsy so we are always trying to find other items that are not video game related. This was perfect for his age. Lots of small pieces, but the case they come in is very durable, sturdy and very handy.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great for our son
Posted 8/5/2010 by Roanoke, Va.
Rating: 5

Our son really likes being able to work on his own projects following the instructions. He's just old enough to do this, and he works a little, leaves it there, and then comes back to it soon to work some more. He loves it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/1/2010
Rating: 5

exactly what he was looking for--though he prefers models with motors if those could be added to future sets

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/30/2009 by Steve Downs
Rating: 5

The Erector set is great, just like I remember it as a kid. I spent a lot of time helping build the creations, but I had a lot of fun. This is a little too much for a 6 year old boy but he loves it. It is better than legos that fall apart if you play with them.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Review
Posted 1/14/2008 by Ronny
Rating: 5

It is completely awesome. I recommend this is you like building stuff.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's Just Awesome
Posted 1/14/2008 by Chris Hanson
Rating: 5

This Erector set (actually Meccano in disguise) is intricate, very high quality and well made. The designs in the design booklet are very complex, so this is not a toy for small kids. It will push your engineering and assembly skills (as well as your skill reading diagrams). I love it to death, and it works fairly well with my classic (flanged beam) Erector Set pieces from my childhood and my father's. Some pieces are plastic, but only ones that make sense. Girders (strips) are shiny metal, plates are a nice powder-coated finish over metal. The included wrench is well-designed and ergonomic. Screws are now a well-fitting Allen (hex-head) style rather than the original hard-to-stay centered flat-head screws of classic Erector. A good Allen key is included.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/9/2008 by Leonid Tverskoy
Rating: 5

Son loves it

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/28/2007 by Joan Janda
Rating: 5

We ordered the Erector Set for our grandson. I, the grandfather had one (or maybe more than one.) It was my favorite toy. It is more than a toy. I became an Engineer. Some of the imagineering that it brought me, helped me. My grandson has muscular dystrophy so he is limited in his activities. He seems to like to work with his hands, so we thought this would be a good toy for him. We hope it will bring him as much pleasure as it brought me.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/26/2007 by Candy H
Rating: 5

We purchased the Erector set for my 7 year old son. He and his dad have just finished their first project--the plane. My husband loved the set as a child and now is able to enjoy it with his son.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/17/2006 by Tracey R Conti
Rating: 5

Thanks so much. My husband loves it.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 11/22/2006 by Michelle E Ellermeier
Rating: 5

It is so wonderful when good things you remember from childhood not only still exist but are even better. This is a fantastic Erector set with wonderful accessories.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/10/2006 by Bill O'Brien - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I enjoy the Erector Sets in all their many forms. Now that I have several, I can be "creative" with and build models of my own design as well as the models depicted in the sets. A great toy and my two grandsons (age 9 and 7 ) enjoy them too.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/19/2006 by Carrie McIntosh
Rating: 5

Excellent! I was so happy when I found your site. The selection of toys is exceptional and with the prices to match!!! My son LOVED the Special Edition Errector Set. He opened it up the morning after Christmas day and spent the whole day working on it. I don't know if I have ever seen him that focused for such an extended period of time. Now he can't wait until his birthday and the possibility of another set!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun for all
Posted 1/17/2006 by Roger Nixon
Rating: 5

Many years ago I had an Erector set. It was left behind during a move and I never saw it again. I was internet searching for toys and found fatbrain.com. I have had so much fun building the models and inventing my own. There is nothing like building something with materials that work. It is AMAZING! P.S. I am 54 years old and still a kid.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/9/2006 by Kathy Van Etten
Rating: 5

My son loves it! He likes the carrying case with all the compartments especially.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Richard Neill
Rating: 5

This toy has kept our child busy for hours. It is something parents and children can enjoy together. The quality is excellent and instructions easy to follow.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by William Goodrich
Rating: 5

My son shook his head yes when I asked him if he liked the set. He has just about completed a wheeled vehicle. The price was competitive.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/2/2006 by Louise Bass
Rating: 5

Thank you for carrying in stock the old fashioned, metal erector set. Your sale price was nice too. Quick delivery! Great web site - easy to use. Overall, great job!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/27/2005 by Steve
Rating: 5

Great storage case, lot's of room for more pieces. Includes built-in rulers. 25 models to make, several motor types and clutches.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Erector set
Posted 12/14/2005
Rating: 5

I ordered this set from FatBrainToys (for the first time), and my experience was great. The set arrived exactly at the promised delivery day, and an hour later my son was building his first model. This set is a great educational toy for future engineers, with several step-by-step instructions and unlimited possibilities for your own emagination. Recommend it to anyone!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 12/11/2005 by Thomas Fiske
Rating: 5

Excellent heavy plastic carrying case to hold all the pieces. Grandchidren already have a few smaller sets of the same brand. Case is large enough to hold all those pieces. Very pleased. Order was recieved promptly, and well packed.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/11/2005 by Courtney Arso
Rating: 5

Satisifed completely. The Erector Set is a gift for my Dad and he hasn't seen it yet. However, he picked this exact item out and said it is almost excatly how he remembers his first set when he was a boy. He is a Grandfather now and wants to enjoy the fun again with his grandson.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Very Special Christmas Gift
Posted 2/24/2005 by Ettore J DeTorres
Rating: 5

This is one of the best quality toys that adults and their children will enjoy. Since opening gifts on Christmas day, this is the one toy that my 7 year old son has continued to remain interested in. It is an excellent set with several projects that we can both work on and enjoy together. For younger children, I highly recommend the Model 10 set to start with if they have not used Erectors before, or that a parent assist them with the construction, otherwise some of the assembly complexities will frustrate them. For my son this is a good compliment to his LEGO sets, as it also allows for unlimited imagination, combined with hands on construction.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 1/17/2012 by Tom Stanfill - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great for a 9 year old.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 3/22/2011 by james johnson
Rating: 5

excellent quality, very good instruction manual - not sure they come any better. a wealth of erector set user information on the web. possibilities for the mechanically inclined with this type of 'toy' are fascinating. i got the set to play with mechanical linkages prior to model building, will probably buy a second set.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

toys for my grandchild
Posted 9/28/2011 by Barbara Coulter - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

As a child we played with erector sets. It was fun and it made you think and while you played your imagination took over and you were building and making so many different things.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

CHRISTMAS GIFT FOR NEPHEW
Posted 9/8/2011 by RODNEY SCHRECK - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

A CHRISTMAS GIFT FOR NEPHEW

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 6/29/2011 by Kevin Ostby - OTHER
Rating: 5

I use this Erector Set to prototype designs of equipment that I build. It is an invaluable tool for finding design flaws/improvements. I love it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/20/2011 by Jim Duthie
Rating: 5

The product is amazing. This was a departing gift to Mr. Bill Gate and his son Rory after a tour of our Specialty steel contracting Facility. Products like this allow minds of the young and old to experience building fundamentals with true hand on learning

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/9/2010 by Leota Dunagan - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Haven't tried to use it yet. I bought it for my grandson for Christmas. My son, his Dad, had one when he was young & absolutely loved it. Somewhere in a move, we losst it. So my son will probably as excited as my grandson over it. If it is as good as the last one we had, I am sure we will be pleased. After Christmas, I will let you know more about it. I searched & searched & was so excited when I founf your web site. You had exactly what I had in mind.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/8/2010 by Lynne Moeller - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

excellent product which uses not only hand coordination but the brain as well. Kids need to read and follow directions. The sense of accomplishment is awesome

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition
Posted 12/7/2010 by Patsy Adkins - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The kit is well conceived and quite entertaining and educational for the boy who uses it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/7/2010 by Roberta Brecheisen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The erector case arrived with a broken foot The set was placed in the bottom and then had paper added to the top to fill the box. Probably it was thrown during transit and hit something to break the foot. My older son who had the same erector set over 20 years ago looked and decided we did not want to return as we were afraid the same would happen again unless your packaging department was aware of how not to package. My grandson has not gotten the gift but I am sure he will play with it frequently as my son did.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 11/24/2010 by DIANE POIRIER JESSUP
Rating: 5

Dad wanted this tow - since he had one, they have set up a table to use and design creations- they are having a ball

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Service and Product
Posted 12/22/2009 by Philip Mitchell
Rating: 5

We bought for our 14 y/o son. Wanted something as an alternative to electronics and digital games. He really enjoys it and, although it was about a $100, it is a bargain considering the amount of time he can play with it and the creativity and concentration involved.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/10/2009 by becdae
Rating: 5

Purchased for a Christmas gift for my son. He is into building things. He is 6 yrs but I think he will try to create some great things with this Erector set.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition
Posted 11/9/2006 by Michael F. Vogel
Rating: 5

Nicely packaged and true in design and quality to the original sets of the 50's.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SE Erector Set
Posted 10/31/2005 by Harold Denton
Rating: 5

Immediately captured the attention of my 10 year old grandson. The plastic box with trays for individual parts a major advantage. Instruction book well written and illustrated. One mechanism built the first night.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Set
Posted 2/24/2005 by Cynthia Winters
Rating: 5

I purchased this product for my 12 year old son as a Christmas gift. My son loves to put things together and take them apart with real tools. My son loves his new Erector set, finally something for him to take apart and put together. The Erector set was definatly the perfect gift for hours of fun and learning!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set and Fat Brain Toys
Posted 2/24/2005 by Zane Anderson
Rating: 5

Thanks for your interest, and yes, Will and I had an opportunity to build a forklift with the Erector Set. It's not as heavy-duty as the one I had as a kid, but it's a good educational toy that I'm sure will last Will for many years. I searched the local stores for this particular set and much to my dismay they were all sold out, so I found Fat Brain on the internet. The lady I spoke to was very helpful and assured me that it would be here in time for Christmas. I received an email telling me that it was being delivered, then a follow-up saying when it was delivered and where it was left. I really appreciated that. I would have to say that doing business with Fat Brain was a pleasant experience, and I may just do all my shopping for the kids next year with you. (Be sure and send my your catalog next fall.)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/4/2005 by Kenneth Hawkes
Rating: 5

Very nice combination of parts, our grandson loves the set!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic set
Posted 11/10/2004 by randall whiteaker
Rating: 5

Fantastic set .I'm 51 and enjoying this like when I was 8. Built 4 models already and continuing to build more . Impressive !!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

An Excellent Set
Posted 2/16/2010
Rating: 5

The set is everything I expected it to be. The pieces are perhaps a bit less robust than the classic sets, but the inclusion of plastic pieces allow for more creativity than the old sets. The instructions are quite well written and drawn. My son is 12 and this was perfect for him. We assembled one machine (catapult) together and then he was off and running. I seem to recall the set was recommended for ages 8 and over, and in my opinion, 8 is definitely too young to really enjoy this.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set special edition set
Posted 11/12/2009 by bethf
Rating: 5

This erector set is everything I was looking for in a set. My 7 year old son loves to build things and was ready to build something different and challenging. There are many different items he can build with this set, which is why I chose this one over the other ones available.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Still as captivating as when I was a child!
Posted 11/14/2013
Rating: 5

This creative construction toy can make easy or complex projects used for play and learning. Helps children learn basic engineering skills and design simple machines or complex creations. I played with an Erector Set for hours on end as a child and now I enjoy watching and helping my child do the same.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awsome Product
Posted 8/15/2013 by Jerry Clark
Rating: 5

This is another awesome Erector set with lots of models to choose from. Great colored instructions that are easy to follow and even more choices online. My 11 year old absolutely loves this set. Build sturdy and the included case is nice. I would definitely recommend this for older children who are interested in design and building.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/21/2011 by Ashley Roberts - FRIEND
Rating: 5

It's great!! He loves it, and so do I. Great interaction with hands-on activites.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/7/2011 by Sharon Franklin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very good for learning systems

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/10/2011 by Alexander B.
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 9 year old son for Christmas and he has LOVED it! He has always enjoyed building things his whole life (from blocks to legos to simple woodworking) and this set was perfect for him. He is a good reader for his age and is able to follow most of the directions. However, when he doesn't understand something, the pictorial directions fill in very nicely. He is already adding to the base designs on his own. I highly recommend this set for any child who enjoys building, designing and creating.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/29/2010 by Patrick Byle
Rating: 5

Excellent product. I had a set when I was a kid and this is so much cooler. Motors, fan belts, moving parts are teaching my son about how power really works!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/27/2010 by Damien Stephens
Rating: 5

Wonderful product that engages my son's imagination.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/26/2010 by Betty Moore
Rating: 5

This was given to the persons that played and helped the younger person years ago with an Erector set. They have often wondered if the Erector sets of today were the same or more detailed than the ones some years ago. This set seems to have more motor driven instrucions to make than the ones of many years ago (approx. 35 years ago).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Special Edition
Posted 12/23/2010 by Joseph Pennachio - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

One of the few good values on the market today. Requires the use of motor, mechanical, and cognitive skills in one nice package. The child is then rewarded with a completely assembled motorized toy, providing hours of fun.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/22/2010 by KATE BOYD
Rating: 5

Our almost 9-year old grandson (who we are raising) has high-functioning autism, ADHD, and a seizure disorder. He received an erector set a couple of years ago for Christmas and recently expressed interest in getting a second set. He is reluctant to disassemble the items he creates -- thus needed a new set. He mostly creates his own things using his imagination. Tends to not like reading directions -- wants to use his own brain power -- which is one of the nice things about an erector set. Erector sets are so sturdy and provide lots of opportunity for intricate creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/19/2010 by Jason Goldstein
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift.... The recipient has not recieved it yet. However, I have assembled the most complex model to ensure all the parts were accounted for. Only missing one piece, and it is on it's way here now. Great toy, I'm thinking about buying another for myself.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/19/2010
Rating: 5

Great product. High quality pieces.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift for curious kids
Posted 10/19/2010 by Tricia VanCoenhover
Rating: 5

Looks like a great kit- the child this was purchased for has a great time and creates really cool things

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Enrichment through Erector Sets
Posted 1/21/2010 by Michael Herres - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I am a teacher with Lincoln Public Schools and bought the erector sets to use as enrichment with some of my visual learners. These sets are perfect for this application because the manuals literally have one word, "scale. It is rewarding for these kids to use a manual to build something very complex. Needless to say, it is also excellent for fine motor skills.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/29/2009 by Michael Meza
Rating: 5

Fantastic fun. My 11 year old son went from 15 minute Lego builds to a full afternoon and into the evening Erector set build session. He is being challenged with new skills and more complex design and instructions. We are both having a good time together.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift
Posted 12/27/2009 by Stefanie deOlloqui
Rating: 5

Gave this to my 9 year old nephew. He loved it and his mom did too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

love the erector set
Posted 12/27/2009 by Janice Deal
Rating: 5

Beautiful kit; nice directions; this is a toy we'll save for future generations!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

special edition Erector set
Posted 12/25/2009 by arlene - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

quality of parts excellent, great product for thinking, quality time for father and 7year old son.Great confidence builder.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/25/2009 by Ed Wimberly - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Just what we wanted for our grandson.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set -Special Edition
Posted 12/20/2009 by Ann-Marie
Rating: 5

I can't wait for my son to play with this. My brother had an erector set when he was young, and we all liked trying to make things. I hope the case it came in helps keep pieces organized.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent toy
Posted 1/2/2006 by NICHOLAS KERR
Rating: 5

I feel this set is an excellent one to start out with. It offers many possibilities in the variety of things which can be built. However, it wouldn't surprise me if I purchased the 50-model set also to suppliment and expand my selection of parts. A definate for any child who is curious about the world of building things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/7/2005 by Robert E. Seginack
Rating: 5

Great quality toy, really nice storage container. The order process, follow up, shipping just could not get any better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 12/5/2005 by cathy Bernard
Rating: 5

This was a gift for my father. This was his favorite toy when he was a boy. He was surprised when he received it and absolutely loves it! My dad enjoys playing with it with my two sons (and they love it). The case is a nice perk for it makes for easy clean-up and transporting. Your site has the most novel toys. Our family enjoys "browsing." Thank you for your excellent customer service. Have a wonderful holiday.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/5/2005 by James Gallo
Rating: 5

one word FANTASTIC

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/30/2005 by Larry Lavell
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas present for my grandchildren ages 5 thru 9. I remember the hours and hours of enjoyment I received as a child with the old fashioned Gilbert Erector set. It looks as fascinating as the original and maybe even more so. My hope is that they will enjoy it as much as I did.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/24/2005 by Kate Martin
Rating: 5

I bought this Erector set as a Christmas gift for my 13 year old nephew. It comes in a great carrying case, and looks to be a lot of fun for someone who likes to put things together. I appreciate Fat Brain's great prices and professional service.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 11/23/2005 by Denise Kelloff
Rating: 5

This set is great for teaching kids how to use their logistical skills / why things work a certain way and why they don't.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/23/2005 by Pete Camarda
Rating: 5

This Erector set is a Christmas gift for my grandson so he has not played with it yet. After inspecting the sets component parts, I am very pleased and as he likes to build things he should get many hours of pleasure. The same as I did after receiving an erector set for Christmas at his age. I think children are missing out on the creative process today with the influence of electronic games and toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creative Construction Gift
Posted 10/11/2005 by Christine Leja
Rating: 5

My godson is very interested in robots but is too young to yet use software and construct an operational robot. The erector set gives him the ability to build and refine his skills until he is ready for the software side of a robot. By the way, my godson was born on Christmas and this is a combination birthday and christmas gift. In the past, he has constructed every lego toy we gave him in record time. We are hopeful that this gift will give him more hours of pleasure.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 9/16/2005 by Mike Gnaster
Rating: 5

This erector set is a Christmas present for my grandson. I noticed how he enjoys building type toys. I tried to purchase a very similiar item on Ebay with no success.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 8/27/2005 by Cecil Lourens
Rating: 5

Great product. My son enjoys it, but the instructions booklet only contains instructions up to model no. 11, last 14 models doesn't have instrucions, which is fine I presume for older guys. But his dad will figure them out, I'm sure... Your service is of course of the highest standard, order processing, delivery everything went exceptionally well. Thanks guys, great work!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition
Posted 7/11/2005 by Fenty Jono
Rating: 5

I bought this set for my nephew who is 9 yrs old and he totally loves it! Fat Brain Toys has great selection, great pricing, great service and fast shipment, I will surely do business with you again. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 7/7/2005 by Larry Then
Rating: 5

We ordered this for our son who is 12 years old. He has used this set everyday since we gave it to him. He takes it on long trips with him in the car. And there is enough space in the case to add his other sets so they are all together. The ordering was great. We were up dated on every move and it was fast. We will again be ordering from your company.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 7/6/2005 by Rob Prest
Rating: 5

When I was an eight year old kid in the early 50's, my parents gave me an erector set and I loved it. Now I have two 8 year old grandsons and I gave each of them the Special Edition Set--they also love them. They are both accustomed to the lego series of assembly models, but they tell me that the erector set allows them to make lots of models, then take them apart and make something else. I'm hoping they will both learn to use their creativity to design and build their own unique items.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 7/6/2005 by Larry Ruth
Rating: 5

This is not the set I grew up with - It is awesome. I ordered it for my sons birthday. It is a little pricey for a 10 year old, but youngbuilder.com's price saved me a bundle. When the set arrived (in two days - no shipping charges). I was stunned. My son will be able to use this kit for years (and maybe myself as well). If you like erector sets, this one is the one to get as it will do EVERYTHING!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set
Posted 6/6/2005 by Peter MacRae
Rating: 5

The Erector set I bought from Fat Brain Toys was all I expected it to be and more. On the set it said for ages 8 and up. I am 66 and it is a little complicated for me, but I will struggle through it while reliving the excellent adventures of my childhood. Just think how many pieces i woould have if I had kept my original erector sets and my old Lionel train sets.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic!
Posted 5/16/2005
Rating: 5

This set is a real treat. After reading Bruce Watson's biography of A.C.Gilbert, the inventor of erector sets, my son and I were ready to start building. We've built lego and k'nex and had a great time. This set is a bit more challenging than those toys, but we're having a great time. I suppose he's learning about building structures and patience and having motors power machinery, but we're really having too much fun to care about that. The carrying case was an unexpected surprise - it lets us keep all the pieces together so nothing gets lost. We are also enjoying the special edition train set.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector set
Posted 4/18/2005 by Jerry Toms
Rating: 5

This is a great learning toy...Although my son, who is 12, is having difficulty with it I am sure he will get how to use it very quickly...I see very many engineering type traits in him and I am sure he will enjoy. Fat Brain Toys has been very prompt in shipping this product and I would use them again for all my learning toys. Jerry

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tremendous kit for classroom use
Posted 4/1/2005 by Daniel Ueda
Rating: 5

I bought the special edition erector set for an 8th grade classroom. The students one of the 6V powered cars with enthusiasm. After the assembly is complete, we will be attaching ticker tape to the car and through a recorder. The recorder will place one dot per second on the ticker tape. We will then measure the distance between the dots and plot the results on a coordinate system. The results will be used to teach slope, equations of lines, and distance vs. time graphing. As for Fat Brain Toys, ordering was very easy, the product arrived UPS ground in under one week, and the price was unbeatable. I highly reccomend this erector set and Fat Brain Toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Set Review
Posted 3/16/2005 by John Hodgson
Rating: 5

A very satisfied customer would like to thank you for the simplicity of your web site. The set was smaller (not as many parts as I thought 640+ would look like) than expected but overall satisfied with product. Using youngbuilder.com definately made it easier and enjoyable to purchase the erector set. Thanks! John

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

SPECIAL EDITION ERECTOR SET
Posted 2/24/2005 by Erling and Nikki Naeyaert
Rating: 5

TO THE FOLKS AT FAT BRAIN TOYS, THANK YOU FOR YOUR PROMPT DELIVERY OF THE DET WE ORDERED. HAVING HAD AN ERECTOR SET OF MY OWN AS A KID,PLAYING WITH MY SON RYAN BROUGHT BACK MEMORIES OF DOING THE SAME WITH MY DAD. RYAN WAS AND STILL IS HAPPY WITH HIS SET,HE LOVES TO FREE STYLE AS IT WERE,AND IS QUITE THE ENGINEER. HIS OLDER BROTHERS BOTH HAVE ERECTOR SETS,AND SOME PEICES OF MY OLD SET THAT STILL SURVIVE ARE STILL BEING USED,MAINLY THE MOTOR,THE OLD PLUG IN TYPE.RYAN HAD ONLY ONE WISH,AND THAT WAS HE WANTED A BATTERY POWERED WRENCH LIKE HIS BROTHER GOT WITH HIS SET. IN ALL THE IDEA WAS A SUCCESS,AND HAS PROVIDED MANY HOURS OF QUALITY TIME ,I HOPE HE WILL REMEMBER HAVING SHARED WITH HIS DAD. THANKS AGAIN ERLING

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Product - brings back memories
Posted 2/24/2005 by Ken Kislak
Rating: 5

I am not going to say my age, but I am probably a bit old to purchase a product like this for myself. Anyway, as a kid I loved Erector Sets. I always aksed "Santa" for one each Christmas. I was not even sure they made these any longer, as I say on Ebay many old sets being sold. I hunted around and just stumbled across your site through Amanzon and was pleasantly surprised. I have not begun to work on this set yet, but love the way it is put together. Ir really brings back memories of a time when toys were toys! Your prices are excellent compared to any other site, and I plan to purchase other sets down the road. Hopefully this review is what you were expecting. Thanks.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just right
Posted 2/24/2005 by Randy Dykstra
Rating: 5

Our two oldest boys, 9 and 11, got right into the set and began building a few models. The boys enjoy working together. The set is just right for them and we look forward to many hours of building. The folks at FatBrain Toys got the set out quickly and we received it on time, just a few days before Christmas. I give them 5 stars, too! Thank you! Regards, Randy Dykstra

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Even better than I remembered it.
Posted 2/24/2005 by David Legg
Rating: 5

I had a Meccano (Erector) set when I was young in England, and spent many hours building various models. I knew my son would enjoy the same experience, and I am very pleased with the set I bought. While very similar to the set I owned, the improvements in parts selection and tools will only make his experience better. We built the first model together, and it was lots of fun. He is 7, and needed a little coaching but was thrilled with the results. Definately money well spent!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great value!
Posted 2/24/2005 by Mary Clark
Rating: 5

This set is a wonderful value and includes a variety of pieces and a real working motor. It reminds me of the erector set that my brother and I enjoyed playing with when we were young. My 10-year-old, who is very interested in building (thank you Ty on "Extreme Makeover Home Edition"), will enjoy this for years to come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition
Posted 2/24/2005 by ron witchie
Rating: 5

This set supplies lots of basic building components instead of specialty parts that tend to limit builders to only a few models. This set allows maximum creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Just plain enjoyable
Posted 2/24/2005 by James Hamm
Rating: 5

On time and at the right price! This set never made it under the Christmas Tree. Instead I opened it on arrival and sat down at the kitchen table and started to build the largest unit. Hours later I was smiling like a kid. Just plain enjoyable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Company! Great Product! Great Service!
Posted 2/24/2005 by Jud Krinsky
Rating: 5

In just a few words...read the review title. This review is as much about Fat Brain Toys as Brios Erctor Set. You folks are a pleasure to deal with. Friendly customer service,quick delivery, lots of interesting products, and great prices. Always having some reservations about buying online (being a brick and mortar retailer myself) it's nice to feel that there are good people serving you on the other end. I purchased a Special Edition Erector Set for my son for Chistmas.........I grew up with an Erector Set and used it for years and years......It looks like Jordan will be doing the same....what a timeless product. Thanks for the great service. Sincerely, Jud Krinsky

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Could not have been better!
Posted 2/24/2005 by Candi Arkell
Rating: 5

The Special Edition Erector Set was definitely a highlight for our 10-year-old son. He started building the next morning and is continuing to do so. The product was nicely packaged so as to arrive undamaged and the product case and instructions could not have been better! This is our first erector set bought (since we were kids) and will not be our last (the 5-year-old has been scanning the magazine we received with the set)! Thanks Much!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Erector Special Edition Set
Posted 2/24/2005 by Susanne Sahagun
Rating: 5

We were a little worried when the package arrived with a rattle, but be assured everything was there! We are thrilled, all three boys, 9, 11 and 39 are having a blast with their new toy. Great value too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Major play time
Posted 2/24/2005 by Steve Van Pelt
Rating: 5

This item has received major play time and we can enthusiastically endorse it. The only snag was it's incompatability with the Windows 2000 operating system. We will have to upgrade our computer to utilize the software accompanying the item.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Best price
Posted 2/24/2005 by Steven Monte
Rating: 5

This was purchased for our 9-yr old son. Up until now, he has always had K'nex sets. While he really likes those, I think the Erector sets are something that will continue to stimulate & challenge him for years to come, and I am really pleased with the quality of this set. It is perfect for a starter. I have checked the price on this particular set at several websites, including Amazon & ebay, and even stores in our local area as well. Fatbraintoys had the best price by far & free shipping to boot. I received your catalog with the order & know now exactly where I will look first for toys for our future architect. Thanks so much and Happy Holidays,

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding Selection and Service
Posted 2/24/2005 by Peter McCormick
Rating: 5

I have bought a number of items over the internet this holiday season and did not have a better experience than from Fat Brain. Both the Special Edition Erector Set and service related to the ordering and shipping of the item could not have been better. Outstanding job!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 1/4/2005 by Darlene Mandella
Rating: 5

It was packaged and shipped in a very optimum fashion. The recepient loved it. He is 11 and thoroughly enjoys it almost every day. It was a pleasure shopping with you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool
Posted 1/4/2005 by Marcos Kenji Oshiro
Rating: 5

The product was quite as i was expecting, it´s fun, takes time, not easy but not hard... You can construct it in many different ways, and it keeps your brain more active. I would buy to my son if i had one!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

collecting erector sets
Posted 1/4/2005 by Kevin Langfitt
Rating: 5

I collect toys of all sorts and have always liked erector sets and when I read about Brio offering special edition sets, I knew that the sets would meet and surpass my expectations of the toys! They are wounderful! After looking thru many sites on the web, I choose Fat Brian Toys because of how their web page was so easy to look thru, location to me and prices. Even after my purchase, Fat Brian Toys had sent me info as to where the product was till it arrived at my door. I was very impressed with their service. Makes a customer feel wanted! My purchase from Fat Brians Toys of four different erector sets was to check quality against the old sets. They fill the gap of old to new nicely. Two sets, a special edition train and the best of fifty model set, will entertain my two nephews for Christmas. The other two, a special edition train set and special edition set will be stored till a later time. I did get to open the special edition set to only look thru and was very pleased at how it is packed, at what materials was used. and at how informative the instruction booklet is. They all should be very fun to put together and play with sometime. Thanks to all for a good product that will be here for many years of play and enjoyment. Sincerly; Kevin Langfitt

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Special Edition Erector Set
Posted 1/4/2005 by HARRY B ZOLLER
Rating: 5

Superior toy for an 8 or 9 year old child that wishes to be challenged by a put together toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging Toy
Posted 9/3/2013 by Gary Allen
Rating: 5

The erector set is a great toy for my son. I am trying to get him to graduate from the popular you blocks to new challenging toys. He has really taken to the erector set. The erector sets are more hands on so he cannot build a very expensive set in a matter of minutes . I also think this set gives him a better understanding of real world mechanics.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/30/2012 by Gerald Gibboni - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great toy,will teach a lot

3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 4/30/2013 by Carol Clayton
Rating: 5

my 10 yr old gradson loves his erector set'he now has 2!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

100 anniversary erector set
Posted 12/26/2012 by Elizabeth
Rating: 5

This gift webt to a 50 yr old male who is thrilled with it. It is a stress reducer for him

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 12/27/2012 by Peggy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 8 year old grandson loved this. Glad I got this for him.

2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great B-day Gift for 11 year old boy
Posted 4/10/2013 by Julie Edge
Rating: 5

Perfect gift for a boy that loves Legos. As soon as he opened the present, he wanted to start putting it together.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 4/13/2014 by Carol Fish
Rating: 5

He just turned 9 and got it last night. He loves it but DAD has also HELPED him already build something. It was a great choice for him. I'm his grandma and made the purchase for his birthday.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 2/17/2012 by danny deavers - OTHER
Rating: 5

I am sure i will have hours of fun,when ever i get started.

5 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic
Posted 12/3/2013
Rating: 5

Saving this for Christmas, but really excited about it.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Doctor
Posted 12/24/2012 by Lewis Goldfinger
Rating: 5

When packing unwrapped my 8 year old grandson, Jonah exclaimed,"This is really cool!!! REALLY COOL!! He carried it proudly to the auto and home.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Erector Set - Special Edition Set
Posted 11/18/2012 by Roy Knudsen
Rating: 5

This product provides a much needed stimulation to help pass the winter doldrums.

16 of 40 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03