Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Jester in a Box > Customer Reviews
Jester in a Box
0

Customer reviews of Jester in a Box by Schylling

Return to Jester in a Box product information...

Jester in a Box has been reviewed 168 times with an average rating of 4.54

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 10/29/2011 by Carol Porter
Rating: 5

I have not gifted it yet. But this is exactly like the one I loved fifty-some years ago. We choose active toys, not technology toys, usually, so this was a wonderful find.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2009
Rating: 2

It is extremely hard to close the top when the jester is put back in the box when the song is completed. The latch on the box I received does not catch very well at all. It becomes very frustrating even for an adult. A child just tosses it aside because it is too difficult to play with. I would hesitate buying this toy for a child.
Faulty latch or Jack's misbehaving, either way- a "Jack out of the box" just won't do. We promptly shipped our customer a replacement.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 12/25/2009 by gina - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I ordered the jack in the box for my granddaughters. They are enjoying it very much.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

jack in the box
Posted 12/8/2009 by Holly Klassen - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My daughter-in-law requested a jack-in-the-box for her 18 month old. There are two other siblings in the family, and they enjoy helping the 18month old turn the handle and giggle right along with him when the jester pops up. I really like the color, design and quality of this toy.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 9/12/2009 by T
Rating: 5

Very nice and entertaining toy!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 9/13/2008 by John J
Rating: 5

This is a great jack-in-the-box which has thoroughly amused my 9 month old daughter. It is a classic toy that I wanted to be sure was in our collection. The tin box is a sturdy with bright colors. The Jester is also made with good quality material. But the best part about this particular jack-in-the-box is the sweet music it plays. It reminds me of the old fashioned music boxes that sounds like little chimes. Overall, I definitely recommend this product if you are looking for a class and entertaining jack-in-the-box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack in a Box
Posted 8/3/2008 by Mr. Jenkins
Rating: 4

The jester in a box was a bargain. It plays "Pop goes the Weasel" and the jester jumps out just like the old jack in the boxes. Quality is real good. Like some other reviews I've seen, one of the only things that could improve is that the "jester" can only be stuffed back in the box at the very end of the song, but it's not that big a deal. I got this for our nearly 11 month old...it may be a little early at this age but I'm sure he will love it later.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

All time favorite for toddler
Posted 7/9/2008
Rating: 4

This is a classic toy. I bought this for my 3 years old. He first saw this toy at his friend's house when he was 2. He loved it at his first sight. Since then, he has been playing with this toy everytime he is at his friend's house. So, I decided to buy him one. Now, he is showing it to his baby sister who also enjoys it when Jester pops. The only complaint I have is, Jester cannot go back to the box unless the music finish playing. This takes a little practice.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic Jack-in-the-Box
Posted 6/19/2008 by Ellen R.
Rating: 4

This jack-in-the-box is a total classic! We got this for our son who is 1.5 yrs old, and he was able to figure out the operation of the music crank right away. At first, he would crank it the "wrong" direction, but the next day he was an expert. The only reason I didn't give this toy the highest rating is that it has some features that are not 100% ideal for a child this age. First, our son can easily release the clown by pressing on the latch, bypassing the whole turning crank. Second, if you turn the crank the "wrong" way, it doesn't make music again until you get back where you started. This makes it hard for a child to figure out which is the right/productive direction to turn the crank. Finally, the inside lid is marked with insctructions that the song has to be finished for the lid to close. While that is well-marked, that doesn't help my non-reading child. Simply put, the toy is not intuitive for a child under age 2. The above shortcomings are no big deal to us. We wanted a classic toy over a plastic imitation, and the complications just mean that we play with this toy together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A simple, perfect gift for the little one
Posted 5/8/2008 by Timothy C. Mayr
Rating: 5

This was for my grandson's first birthday. He's delighted every time "Jack" appears, and, although a little young to master reloading on his own, he can work the hand crank with a little help. I think children, especially young children, prefer simple toys, and this one's a classic. I've also noticed that every grown-up around want's a turn, too!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/10/2007 by Diane G
Rating: 4

Good music and action. It doesn't have a holding handle on the side, so it works best on a tabletop.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 7/9/2012 by Nana - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

5 year old grandson loves to play with this when he has friends over just so they can "scare" each other, then scream with laughter.It's brought many hours of uncontrolable excitement.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 7/8/2012 by BONNIE CIZEK
Rating: 5

Durable! Easy for a 3 year old to work. Never gets tired of it

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Too scary for a babe
Posted 4/11/2012 by Leslie OMalley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

This toy looks and feels cheap. The clown that pops out is cute, but my 6 month old grandson is afraid of it. When it pops out he always cries. Even when I just push it back down with my finger and let it up very slowly to show him that it is not scary or startling he cries. Now after several attempts to play with this with him, he cries when he just sees the box! The handle that you wind around to play Pop goes the weasel is not going to be easily gripped by a young child.
If any Fat Brain Toy is not the happy surprise you anticipated, we're jest-yer place for more fun! We assisted our customer promptly. Please pop into the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very good!
Posted 3/18/2012 by Luciana Teixeira
Rating: 5

My 4 and 2 children love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Classic toy - lots of fun
Posted 1/23/2012 by Allison Kozdron - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

A well made, gender-neutral, fun toy. I think a jack in the box is a classic toy that all kids should have -- both my 3.5 year old, and 1 year old, love seeing the jester pop up. It's pretty easy to work, and my toddler can put it back in and turn the handle again. It's not played with for a long time at once, but they often come back to it for 15 minutes every few days.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very cute!
Posted 10/8/2011 by Dee
Rating: 4

This toy is very cute, fits the bill if you're looking for a more "nostalgic" toy. My child is very young yet, (4 months) so for now I operate it for him, but he seems to enjoy looking at the pictures on the box and smiles when the jester pops up. There is a little delay between the "pop" part of the song and when the jester actually pops, but then again I believe there was in the version that I had when I was a child as well. Overall good toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 4/2/2009 by Arla Sprouse
Rating: 4

Jester in a Box is an excellent toy for development of cause and effect and to stimulate curiosity. The quality of the procuent is excellent except for the sound of the music. It is off key.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack In the Box Review
Posted 1/21/2009 by Scott Fon - FRIEND
Rating: 5

This is a great product. Exactly what I wanted to order.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 8/27/2008
Rating: 5

It is of excellent quality, lots of fun, and the top actually closes unlike many others out there!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

old fashioned toy
Posted 8/26/2008
Rating: 4

the toy is great, but, the kids had trouble pushing the jester back into the box. he'd try to pop out before little fingers could close the door. the info om the lid about playing the song through was a good idea.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty cute
Posted 8/21/2008 by Natalie
Rating: 4

This toy is cute, unfortunately it scares the poo out of my son, I put it away for a few months!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Happy with product and service
Posted 8/15/2008 by Angela
Rating: 5

Product is a favorite of my child. I am glad that a classic toy like this has become a cherished possession for my little one.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Jester in a Box
Posted 7/21/2008 by donny siders
Rating: 5

it was good

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 4/24/2008 by Richard Rosso
Rating: 4

I have not had a long enough period of time to rate this product at the highest level, however, initial opinion is very good. It works as it should and if you follow the directions you should not have a problem. My son is still very young but he gets a laugh out of it already.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/20/2008 by Nicole Herman
Rating: 5

Great quality product!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester In A Box
Posted 1/13/2008
Rating: 4

This is a quality product! I don't remember much about the one I had as a child, but this is the closest thing to it. My mother purchased several similar items from local toy stores, but wasn't satisfied with any of them, i.e., poor construction, cheap sounding musical movement, cheap materials, or poor quality paint finish. We turned to the internet and found this item. We purchased three of these because she wanted to give them to her great grandchildren. We are impressed with the overall quality of this item and it's what my mother expected them to be. If you're searching for the traditional "Jack in the Box", this is it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Far So Good
Posted 12/30/2007 by Charles S Wilke
Rating: 4

The only thing I wish were different is that you could close the lid anytime, not just at the end of the song. I do not remember when I was a kid if the ones I played with had that option. Otherwise, it is a very good toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 12/29/2007 by David Cann
Rating: 4

My 4 year old loves his "Charlie in the Box." It's just like the old time Jack in the box. It appears to be well constructed and works every time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Claudia Cortes
Rating: 5

My daughter really wanted this toy. She is enjoying it very much. She laughs and gets surprised every time it pops up.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Royston Evans
Rating: 4

A well made Jack in the box. My grandchild loves it. It is easy to wind up and the head is soft so it is no injury to very young children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Amy Hernandez
Rating: 4

This was my 2 year old daughter's favorite present. She bent up the lid a little already and cannot stuff the jester into the box that well, but she understands well that the lid can only close after the song is done. The crank is okay for her. I like that the box is tin, although I had to look up recall lists for possible lead content.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Cindy Fleming
Rating: 5

The product was everything that I had expected. My grandaughter liked the toy. She is 12 months but the toy was recommended for 18 months. After seeing her with the toy I can see that her little hands can't quite make the handle go around but someone can do that until she learns, so I feel that the rating was appropriate. I am delighted that it was made in the USA.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/27/2007 by Jeri Boswell
Rating: 5

It is wonderful. Some people say it is hard to get the Jack back in the box, but that's how it was back in the day. This is exactly what I wanted.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute
Posted 12/27/2007 by Brandie Krey
Rating: 4

It was just what I thought it was, cute! It worked great, the only thing was that I originally thought the arms popped out too, but they just kind of hung there. I wanted to put a message in his hands so when it opened it would display the message, so I was unable to do that.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, But Not Great Quality
Posted 12/26/2007 by Andrea Gregor
Rating: 3

The toy arrived dented and sometimes pops up at the wrong time. It will pop up before the "pop" part of the song. My daughter does love playing with it though.
A flawless Jester in the Box is soon to pop up in the Gregor household. A replacement was sent to our customer.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Nice Toy
Posted 12/26/2007 by Mark
Rating: 4

A high quality toy that our three year old fell in love with as soon as it was spotted. It's now known as "Jacks" and it gets a lot of attention. I liked the fact that she had to figure out how to push Jacks back in the box and get the lid closed at the same time - just enough not to frustrate her and still teach hand-eye coordination. She had it after three or four attempts, but you can tell the concentration level is up even though she now makes it look easy. Also, our ten month old also loves the surprise and is trying to turn the crank.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cute Toy
Posted 12/26/2007 by Julie Antonelli
Rating: 5

Very cute "old school" toy. It plays "Pop Goes the Weasel" and the jester pops out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 12/26/2007 by Shelby Moncure
Rating: 5

My grandson is thrilled with his Jester in a Box. His parents say he loves to close the top. He hasn't quite mastered turning the handle, but that will come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/22/2007 by Deborah Galambos - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Colorful, smiling face. The baby is younger than recommended age, so she can't do it herself, but she is enjoying others winding it for her. I like that it is very much like the ones I knew as a child, and made of tin not plastic, though there is one sharp place.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester In A Box
Posted 12/10/2007 by Barb Thompson
Rating: 5

This jack in the box has been enjoyed by the two boys I care for and they love it. They are only 2 years old but have learned how to operate it, it was easy for them. We could not find one in the stores so was happy to find Fat Brain Toys could help us out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack in the Box
Posted 11/27/2007 by Alana
Rating: 5

Last year I bought a different jack in the box for my grandson and it has been frustrating and disappointing. My daughter bought this jack in the box and her children love it. She bought one for a gift too. I ordered two from your company and they are the best ever! My grandson used it today for the first time and played with it for over an hour! I am giving the other to another grandchild. For a young child, you would have to turn the crank for them, but the fun of seeing jack pop up is still there, and they want it repeated again and again. The three year old can turn it himself, and enjoys playing pretend games with it. I highly recommend this product as I have seen it in use with children under a year to four years old. Don't bother buying another brand.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect Toy For Little Ones
Posted 11/27/2007 by Connie Barron
Rating: 5

This "Jester in a Box" was just what I had been looking for to give my grandson as a gift. It brings back memories of my childhood, and it works and sounds beautifully!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 11/26/2007 by Cassandra Calamari
Rating: 5

Was very pleased with purchase. My 1 year old loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 10/1/2007 by Nancy Stone
Rating: 3

The overall appearance of the toy was very good, but I was disappointed in the quality of the music and the crank. The Jester did not always pop up and the music was not easily heard. Rather tiny in sound.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 7/24/2007 by Jamie Leslie Donham
Rating: 3

I thought this was a great toy, but not for my 2 year old because he doesn't turn the handle to get the jester to pop out. He lifts the plastic thing on the top back. It kind of takes the fun out of things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Jester in a Box
Posted 7/1/2007 by David W. Hayes
Rating: 4

Very good quality! Almost exactly like the nearly indestructible Jack-in-the-Box I had 50 years ago, except the Jester's face is friendly, not scary-looking, and the little latch that holds the lid shut is plastic (but thick and heavy duty). Also the jester's body isn't a big coil spring, but something else that sort of wants to fold over when stuffing it back inside. My grandson has a problem stuffing the jester back in and shutting the lid because parts of the cloth body want to stick out, and you have to turn the crank a couple of times past the "pop" to reposition the latch. All-in-all, I would say that it is worth the money and looks like it will last a pretty long time with moderate care.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 5/24/2007 by Tahmina R. Mansell
Rating: 4

Love the toy. The only thing that bothers me a little bit is the song has to end in order to be locked again. Other than that, I love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Thanks For This Classic Toy
Posted 5/18/2007 by Vicki F
Rating: 5

My preschool grandkids love this toy. They need a bit of help to get the jester back in the box, but that just gives us another opportunity to play together! It is sturdy, colorful, and entertaining - just like we remember from childhood.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 5/6/2007 by D. Goldman
Rating: 5

I am very happy with the quality and feel of the Jack-in-the-Box. But mostly, it fulfills my expectation of what and how the product should operate. It's authentic.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 4/18/2007
Rating: 4

A good toy. It could be a little more durable. My one year old has pulled on the lid and loosened it. The whole song must be played to get the lid to latch again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box - Great Fun!
Posted 4/17/2007 by Sejal
Rating: 5

This product is very good. It's made well and sturdy. My son loved it. Every time the clown jumps out he laughs. It is a durable product. My son has thrown it around and it's still in working condition. One small issue: the hinge of the box is slightly sharp.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Classic Toy
Posted 4/11/2007
Rating: 5

Prior to purchase, I read reviews of this toy. The biggest complaint was the fact that you have to finish the song before the lid will lock again. If I remember correctly, that has been the same for 30 years or so. It's not a problem for us. My son has no problem operating it for his little sister (he is 3 and she is 7 mos). Both children enjoy the toy. We have not had any problems with the paint so far and it seems like a durable product. I guess time will tell on that! I wanted a classic toy that played a classic song and I am happy with the purchase!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 4/9/2007 by Chris Yingling
Rating: 5

Great toy! We used this as object lesson talk and it worked perfectly. The kids wanted to know where I bought it! They don't see these anymore.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack-In-The-Box
Posted 4/5/2007 by Jamie (Dallas, TX)
Rating: 4

I have been looking everywhere for a Jack-in-the-Box for my 9 month old who loves to be startled. She cracks up hysterically. I thought this would be a perfect toy. I had one when I was little. But apparently these days everyone wants toys that are battery operated or something because I have searched WalMart, Toys 'R' Us, Target, the mall, everywhere that sells toys. No luck. I finally this one for a great price! And it wasn't some plastic piece of junk either! It was made of tin like they were when I was little!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Gift For My Son
Posted 4/5/2007 by Joanne Pamphile
Rating: 4

My 2 year old son loves the toy but gets fustrated putting Jester back into the box. It is easy for an adult, but not for kids. Also my son still doesn't understand that the entire song must play before the lid will close.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Classic Toy
Posted 3/27/2007
Rating: 5

This toy reminds me of the "Jack in the Box" from when I was little. It even has the classic "Pop Goes the Weasel" song. My son (4 months old) loves this toy. He gets excited every time the jester pops out. I haven't had any problems. The workmanship seems really good. I think the classics are always your best bet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 3/22/2007 by Stephanie Benz
Rating: 4

Overall we are very happy. I thought the quality of sound for the music was excellent. The only thing is that the top is flimsy. One side is already broken (our 2 year old has not been real tough or destructive with it but he does like to push the button and open the jester before it automatically opens.) If you could secure the back portion of the door so that it isn't so flimsy, you would have a much better product. But we're happy with it. It's made our son giggle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Son Loves It!
Posted 3/19/2007 by Chris Bahn
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 20 month old son because he watches the birthday episode of Go Baby! over and over and over. A Jack-in-the-Box is the gift in the episode. He loves it and picked up on it quickly. Great toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 3/14/2007 by Mary Ann Pagnutti
Rating: 4

My daughter absolutely loved her Jester and it brought back memories for me too! She is old enough to understand having to finish the song before reloading the Jester, so it was not a problem for us.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 3/12/2007 by Dorothy McCarthy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Very colorful and durable. Good for older than 18 months also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 3/4/2007 by Vanda M. O'Reilly
Rating: 5

Product worked as expected and was the item that garnered the most wonderful reaction from a 20 month old opening a number of presents.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 2/26/2007 by Randy Berg
Rating: 1

This is a good quality toy, it seems to be built well. However, I cannot see a 18 month old being able to replace the Jester back in the box after it has popped out. It is even hard for an adult. If a child can't reuse a toy without adult help what good is it? I am sorry that I bought it, there are other ones that work so much better!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester Jack in the Box
Posted 2/21/2007
Rating: 5

Absolutely the perfect Jack in the Box. Colorful and attractively packaged. The recipient, a 3 year old gal in the hospital, immediately said, "music box" when she opened the gift and immediately started cranking it and loved every "pop" goes the weasel. It appears that it will be around for a long time as a durable toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 2/19/2007 by Julia L.
Rating: 5

The tin box and the felt clown are nice quality and the colors are vibrant. My one yr old hasn't quite figured out how to work the crank yet, but he enjoys when I crank it for him--and he likes the pictures on the box and playing with the clown. I'm happy with this Jester in a Box and would get it as a gift for another baby, although probably one a few months older.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box Rocks
Posted 2/14/2007 by Jane Downing
Rating: 5

From the moment I pulled the Jester in a Box out of the packing paper, I knew I had a winner on my hands. The vibrant colors and playful jesters found on the sides immediately caught the eye of my 15 month old daughter. The music playing as I turned the crank delighted her as well. However, the greatest moment for me was when her eyes opened wide and her grinned stretched from ear to ear in response to the jester suddenly appearing from the center of the box. She is amused time after time after time. The box itself feels solid. I'm guessing the jester and his spring will survive hundreds of jumps out of the box.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Children's Toy
Posted 2/11/2007 by Suzanne Demartini
Rating: 5

This product is amazing. So much better than any other of its kind. My daughter is loving playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 2/8/2007 by Lisa Zimmerman
Rating: 5

This is a great product. I have purchased others for my child but none have measured up in quality or style. Visually bright and cheerful; the jester is fun. The music is delightful. I highly recommend this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 2/6/2007 by Dale J. Burton
Rating: 5

I looked all over Sarasota for a simple Jack in the Box for my granddaughter (2 1/2 yrs. old) since she knew the song Pop Goes the Weasel. I was unable to find one anywhere. I didn't realize that this was almost a collector toy in this day and age. This one works just like I remember. She loves it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack In the Box
Posted 2/5/2007 by Katherine Kallaur
Rating: 5

We love the product. Especially since my son can turn the handle himself. He hasn't mastered putting the Jack back in and covering the lid.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

More Than I Expected It To Be!
Posted 2/4/2007 by Benita Stanford
Rating: 5

I wanted the toy as I remembered it 25 years ago. It was better. Most of these jesters don't pop out at the right time during the song or don't stay in the box more than one crank but this toy does both. I am extremely satisfied with the quality and price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pop Goes The Fun With My Grandaughter!
Posted 2/3/2007 by L. Hansen
Rating: 5

Cute toy, easy to use (for grown-up).

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Pleased!
Posted 2/1/2007 by Texas
Rating: 5

Good quality. The best Jack in the Box I have found. It works well and my daughter loves it. She is almost 2 and can work it very well except for pushing him back in the box...which is not a big deal. I recommend this product.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 2/1/2007
Rating: 5

Such a classic toy with a modern feel. It brings back memories from my childhood!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Brings Back Memories
Posted 1/27/2007 by Melissa E Kamiya
Rating: 5

Jack (jester) in the Box is exactly as he should be. Nice tin box, the song we've heard all our lives. It was exactly as I imagined. Nice toy for the young, nice keepsake for anyone else.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

True Blue Jack-In-The-Box
Posted 1/26/2007 by Prem Raj
Rating: 5

When I was a kid, I had a Jack-In-The-Box that I loved. Even though I knew exactly when it would pop out, I could still feel my heart beating wildly as "Pop Goes The Weasel" played when I turned the handle. And when my son came along (he's 6 mths old now), I thought he should have one too. I searched everywhere but apparently, there are no Jack-In-The-Box(es) sold anywhere. I'm so glad I found this one! I was even more excited to know that it also played "Pop Goes The Weasel." The funny thing was on the same day I bought it, I saw an episode of Fraiser and he had a Jester-In-A-Box too! Bottom line, my son loves it and laughs with delight when Jester pops out. I think the music-box style melody appeals to him a great deal too.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Jester in a Box
Posted 1/25/2007 by Napoleon Manogura
Rating: 4

My 18 month old son absolutely loves playing with this toy. The only problem is that the lid is not attached right, when you close the lid to keep the jester in the box, the other side is raised so not completely closed. Other than this, the toy is providing my son with hours of enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good
Posted 1/24/2007 by Anna Dorosz
Rating: 5

My nephew loves Jester in a Box!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/21/2007 by SP
Rating: 5

My 27 month old enjoys this toy a lot! I looked at a lot of "Jack in a Box" kinds of toys. At last I decided to get this one because it has the traditional look to it. I am extremely happy with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 1/20/2007 by Richard Genaille
Rating: 5

My grandchildren ages 3 and 15 months love this Jack in the Box. It is well designed with good construction, and was easy for the three year old to use. It took two weeks for the 15 month old to master making it work. It has provided hours of enjoyment. It does not scare the children which was a concern of mine. I would purchase it again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Old School Toy
Posted 1/18/2007 by Gregory A McKimmie
Rating: 5

I bought the Jester in a Box for a friend's 14 month old child. They are from Italy and didn't know what a Jack-in-the-Box was. The baby loves it and I think the parents are crazy about it also, since they spent two hours playing with it. Great quality in both the mechanics of the box and the music. This is a classic toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy!
Posted 1/18/2007 by Jason Rose
Rating: 5

Great Quality Toy. Very well made. My 13 month old loves this toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/18/2007 by Yvonne M Eck
Rating: 5

This Jack-in-the-Box was just as I remembered from when I was a kid. My grandson got it for his first birthday and he and his 2 1/2 year old sister both love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/16/2007 by David Caswell
Rating: 5

This was for my grandaughter. She has really enjoyed it. It reminds me of the Jack In The Box I had when I was a kid.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It Does What It's Supposed To Do
Posted 1/11/2007 by Valerie Paolillo
Rating: 4

The product is good. A classic Jack In The Box. The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot put Jack back in the box until the entire song is played through. At 4 she can understand that, but younger kids may have a tough time with that concept.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic!
Posted 1/10/2007 by Elizabeth C. Anderson
Rating: 5

We purchased this for our 2 year old after seeing her love playing with other similar toys. We're anticipating that it'll be a toy she can demonstrate for her new little sister, too. The toy is exactly as advertised. It is a true classic that never fails to delight our daughter. It took her a few tries to figure out how to close it back up again to start the wind cycle over, but she got it pretty quickly and now spends a good chunk of time with this toy every day!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/10/2007
Rating: 5

My grandson loves the Jack-in-the-Box. I was very happy with this purchase.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Present for Our Girls
Posted 1/2/2007
Rating: 4

The Jester in a Box was a hit with our girls (3 1/2 yrs and 1 yr) Our oldest can work the toy without any problems. They both find it very fun to play with. I'm a little concerned that the lid/latch won't stand up to long-term play, but so far so good (Its probably been triggered ~50 times.)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic Toy
Posted 12/28/2006
Rating: 4

This Jack-In-The-Box was the only thing my four year old daughter wanted for Christmas. She'd seen one at the home of another child at the beginning of November and she never stopped talking about how much she wanted one exactly like it. It works great, and she's still delighted with it. It might be a little flimsy and hard to operate for a younger child, but so were the jack-in-the boxes of my childhood. This is a classic toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Jester in a Box
Posted 12/22/2006 by Tracy Antul
Rating: 5

What a nostalgic, wonderful toy. I purchased it for my nephew who is going to be two in a few months. I can't wait to see his face the first time the jester pops up out of his box. This product is colorful, fun, and sturdy. What more could you want from a child's toy?

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hurrah!
Posted 12/21/2006
Rating: 5

This makes a great gift. I actually got it for a friend who is in her 20s as a stress-reliever. She loves it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute!
Posted 11/20/2006 by Christine
Rating: 4

We love it! It reminds me of toy I had as a child. However, my 18 month old has trouble figuring out how to turn the handle. So, at this point, it's merely a novelty. My husband says HIS toy popped at indeterminate times while cranking the handle...He thinks this version is too predictable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 11/1/2006
Rating: 5

I enjoyed playing with a Jack in the Box as a child, and wanted my grandkids to have the fun that I did. This will be a Christmas gift for them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Rating
Posted 8/17/2009 by Hiten Shroff
Rating: 3

It was not as expected. From the description it seemed that it would be a wind up toy, which would then play after winding.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 1/30/2007
Rating: 4

Overall, it is a good quality toy. It enhances imagination and creativity.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack-In-The -Box
Posted 3/10/2014 by Mike Dickinson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Construction of the Jack In The Box is fine. No issues. It is difficult to get him back in his box, making it tough for a toddler. I have no problem with having to finish the tune for the mechanism to lock again. Our grandson seems to be more adept at pushing buttons as are on his other toys, so the crank is a new maneuver for him. After showing him the toy and getting it to open slowly and from a distance, I thought he would like it as he loves the "peek-a-boo" game. But when I start to turn the crank and play the tune, he will take it from me and put on the table and push it away. He seems to be warming up to it if I help him turn the crank with it open. We will be keeping the toy. We are sure as he learns to use it it will be played with more. Having to help him "load" it makes it an interactive toy with him and us. It is a vintage toy, just like we had as kids.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 11/26/2013 by Evelyn Walters - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The Jack in the Box is exactly what I wanted, made of metal and plays the traditional " Pop Goes The Weasel". I am very satisfied. It is an "old fashioned toy" but it delights my 3 year old grandson who has so many modern toys.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 3/20/2013 by Annette - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Was so glad this was make like the old ones--- not plastic!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Laughes Unlimited
Posted 3/4/2013 by Grandpa
Rating: 5

No HD graphics necessary....touch pad activation..high tech programing or pages and pages of directions. Turn the crank....hear the tune...and watch your little grandchild laugh their head off when "Jack" does his thing. My grandchildren just love it!!! Give more 'old time' entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Classic toy!
Posted 12/12/2012 by Christine L
Rating: 5

I searched everywhere for a jack-in-the-box for my 1 year old! Theis was the only place I could find the classic style toy. It has a great sound and provides lots of laughs when it pops up!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02