Home > Toy Companies > Schylling > Jester in a Box > Customer Reviews
Jester in a Box
0

4 Star reviews of Jester in a Box by Schylling

Return to Jester in a Box product information...

Jester in a Box has been reviewed 168 times with an average rating of 4.54

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/25/2009 by gina - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I ordered the jack in the box for my granddaughters. They are enjoying it very much.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack in a Box
Posted 8/3/2008 by Mr. Jenkins
Rating: 4

The jester in a box was a bargain. It plays "Pop goes the Weasel" and the jester jumps out just like the old jack in the boxes. Quality is real good. Like some other reviews I've seen, one of the only things that could improve is that the "jester" can only be stuffed back in the box at the very end of the song, but it's not that big a deal. I got this for our nearly 11 month old...it may be a little early at this age but I'm sure he will love it later.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

All time favorite for toddler
Posted 7/9/2008
Rating: 4

This is a classic toy. I bought this for my 3 years old. He first saw this toy at his friend's house when he was 2. He loved it at his first sight. Since then, he has been playing with this toy everytime he is at his friend's house. So, I decided to buy him one. Now, he is showing it to his baby sister who also enjoys it when Jester pops. The only complaint I have is, Jester cannot go back to the box unless the music finish playing. This takes a little practice.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic Jack-in-the-Box
Posted 6/19/2008 by Ellen R.
Rating: 4

This jack-in-the-box is a total classic! We got this for our son who is 1.5 yrs old, and he was able to figure out the operation of the music crank right away. At first, he would crank it the "wrong" direction, but the next day he was an expert. The only reason I didn't give this toy the highest rating is that it has some features that are not 100% ideal for a child this age. First, our son can easily release the clown by pressing on the latch, bypassing the whole turning crank. Second, if you turn the crank the "wrong" way, it doesn't make music again until you get back where you started. This makes it hard for a child to figure out which is the right/productive direction to turn the crank. Finally, the inside lid is marked with insctructions that the song has to be finished for the lid to close. While that is well-marked, that doesn't help my non-reading child. Simply put, the toy is not intuitive for a child under age 2. The above shortcomings are no big deal to us. We wanted a classic toy over a plastic imitation, and the complications just mean that we play with this toy together.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/10/2007 by Diane G
Rating: 4

Good music and action. It doesn't have a holding handle on the side, so it works best on a tabletop.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very cute!
Posted 10/8/2011 by Dee
Rating: 4

This toy is very cute, fits the bill if you're looking for a more "nostalgic" toy. My child is very young yet, (4 months) so for now I operate it for him, but he seems to enjoy looking at the pictures on the box and smiles when the jester pops up. There is a little delay between the "pop" part of the song and when the jester actually pops, but then again I believe there was in the version that I had when I was a child as well. Overall good toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 4/2/2009 by Arla Sprouse
Rating: 4

Jester in a Box is an excellent toy for development of cause and effect and to stimulate curiosity. The quality of the procuent is excellent except for the sound of the music. It is off key.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

old fashioned toy
Posted 8/26/2008
Rating: 4

the toy is great, but, the kids had trouble pushing the jester back into the box. he'd try to pop out before little fingers could close the door. the info om the lid about playing the song through was a good idea.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty cute
Posted 8/21/2008 by Natalie
Rating: 4

This toy is cute, unfortunately it scares the poo out of my son, I put it away for a few months!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 4/24/2008 by Richard Rosso
Rating: 4

I have not had a long enough period of time to rate this product at the highest level, however, initial opinion is very good. It works as it should and if you follow the directions you should not have a problem. My son is still very young but he gets a laugh out of it already.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester In A Box
Posted 1/13/2008
Rating: 4

This is a quality product! I don't remember much about the one I had as a child, but this is the closest thing to it. My mother purchased several similar items from local toy stores, but wasn't satisfied with any of them, i.e., poor construction, cheap sounding musical movement, cheap materials, or poor quality paint finish. We turned to the internet and found this item. We purchased three of these because she wanted to give them to her great grandchildren. We are impressed with the overall quality of this item and it's what my mother expected them to be. If you're searching for the traditional "Jack in the Box", this is it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Far So Good
Posted 12/30/2007 by Charles S Wilke
Rating: 4

The only thing I wish were different is that you could close the lid anytime, not just at the end of the song. I do not remember when I was a kid if the ones I played with had that option. Otherwise, it is a very good toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jester in a Box
Posted 12/29/2007 by David Cann
Rating: 4

My 4 year old loves his "Charlie in the Box." It's just like the old time Jack in the box. It appears to be well constructed and works every time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Royston Evans
Rating: 4

A well made Jack in the box. My grandchild loves it. It is easy to wind up and the head is soft so it is no injury to very young children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 12/28/2007 by Amy Hernandez
Rating: 4

This was my 2 year old daughter's favorite present. She bent up the lid a little already and cannot stuff the jester into the box that well, but she understands well that the lid can only close after the song is done. The crank is okay for her. I like that the box is tin, although I had to look up recall lists for possible lead content.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute
Posted 12/27/2007 by Brandie Krey
Rating: 4

It was just what I thought it was, cute! It worked great, the only thing was that I originally thought the arms popped out too, but they just kind of hung there. I wanted to put a message in his hands so when it opened it would display the message, so I was unable to do that.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Nice Toy
Posted 12/26/2007 by Mark
Rating: 4

A high quality toy that our three year old fell in love with as soon as it was spotted. It's now known as "Jacks" and it gets a lot of attention. I liked the fact that she had to figure out how to push Jacks back in the box and get the lid closed at the same time - just enough not to frustrate her and still teach hand-eye coordination. She had it after three or four attempts, but you can tell the concentration level is up even though she now makes it look easy. Also, our ten month old also loves the surprise and is trying to turn the crank.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 12/22/2007 by Deborah Galambos - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Colorful, smiling face. The baby is younger than recommended age, so she can't do it herself, but she is enjoying others winding it for her. I like that it is very much like the ones I knew as a child, and made of tin not plastic, though there is one sharp place.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 7/1/2007 by David W. Hayes
Rating: 4

Very good quality! Almost exactly like the nearly indestructible Jack-in-the-Box I had 50 years ago, except the Jester's face is friendly, not scary-looking, and the little latch that holds the lid shut is plastic (but thick and heavy duty). Also the jester's body isn't a big coil spring, but something else that sort of wants to fold over when stuffing it back inside. My grandson has a problem stuffing the jester back in and shutting the lid because parts of the cloth body want to stick out, and you have to turn the crank a couple of times past the "pop" to reposition the latch. All-in-all, I would say that it is worth the money and looks like it will last a pretty long time with moderate care.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 5/24/2007 by Tahmina R. Mansell
Rating: 4

Love the toy. The only thing that bothers me a little bit is the song has to end in order to be locked again. Other than that, I love it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Jester in a Box
Posted 4/18/2007
Rating: 4

A good toy. It could be a little more durable. My one year old has pulled on the lid and loosened it. The whole song must be played to get the lid to latch again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack-In-The-Box
Posted 4/5/2007 by Jamie (Dallas, TX)
Rating: 4

I have been looking everywhere for a Jack-in-the-Box for my 9 month old who loves to be startled. She cracks up hysterically. I thought this would be a perfect toy. I had one when I was little. But apparently these days everyone wants toys that are battery operated or something because I have searched WalMart, Toys 'R' Us, Target, the mall, everywhere that sells toys. No luck. I finally this one for a great price! And it wasn't some plastic piece of junk either! It was made of tin like they were when I was little!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Gift For My Son
Posted 4/5/2007 by Joanne Pamphile
Rating: 4

My 2 year old son loves the toy but gets fustrated putting Jester back into the box. It is easy for an adult, but not for kids. Also my son still doesn't understand that the entire song must play before the lid will close.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy
Posted 3/22/2007 by Stephanie Benz
Rating: 4

Overall we are very happy. I thought the quality of sound for the music was excellent. The only thing is that the top is flimsy. One side is already broken (our 2 year old has not been real tough or destructive with it but he does like to push the button and open the jester before it automatically opens.) If you could secure the back portion of the door so that it isn't so flimsy, you would have a much better product. But we're happy with it. It's made our son giggle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Son Loves It!
Posted 3/19/2007 by Chris Bahn
Rating: 4

Bought this for my 20 month old son because he watches the birthday episode of Go Baby! over and over and over. A Jack-in-the-Box is the gift in the episode. He loves it and picked up on it quickly. Great toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 3/14/2007 by Mary Ann Pagnutti
Rating: 4

My daughter absolutely loved her Jester and it brought back memories for me too! She is old enough to understand having to finish the song before reloading the Jester, so it was not a problem for us.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 3/12/2007 by Dorothy McCarthy - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Very colorful and durable. Good for older than 18 months also.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/25/2007 by Napoleon Manogura
Rating: 4

My 18 month old son absolutely loves playing with this toy. The only problem is that the lid is not attached right, when you close the lid to keep the jester in the box, the other side is raised so not completely closed. Other than this, the toy is providing my son with hours of enjoyment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It Does What It's Supposed To Do
Posted 1/11/2007 by Valerie Paolillo
Rating: 4

The product is good. A classic Jack In The Box. The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot put Jack back in the box until the entire song is played through. At 4 she can understand that, but younger kids may have a tough time with that concept.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Present for Our Girls
Posted 1/2/2007
Rating: 4

The Jester in a Box was a hit with our girls (3 1/2 yrs and 1 yr) Our oldest can work the toy without any problems. They both find it very fun to play with. I'm a little concerned that the lid/latch won't stand up to long-term play, but so far so good (Its probably been triggered ~50 times.)

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic Toy
Posted 12/28/2006
Rating: 4

This Jack-In-The-Box was the only thing my four year old daughter wanted for Christmas. She'd seen one at the home of another child at the beginning of November and she never stopped talking about how much she wanted one exactly like it. It works great, and she's still delighted with it. It might be a little flimsy and hard to operate for a younger child, but so were the jack-in-the boxes of my childhood. This is a classic toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute!
Posted 11/20/2006 by Christine
Rating: 4

We love it! It reminds me of toy I had as a child. However, my 18 month old has trouble figuring out how to turn the handle. So, at this point, it's merely a novelty. My husband says HIS toy popped at indeterminate times while cranking the handle...He thinks this version is too predictable.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Jester in a Box
Posted 1/30/2007
Rating: 4

Overall, it is a good quality toy. It enhances imagination and creativity.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Jack-In-The -Box
Posted 3/10/2014 by Mike Dickinson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Construction of the Jack In The Box is fine. No issues. It is difficult to get him back in his box, making it tough for a toddler. I have no problem with having to finish the tune for the mechanism to lock again. Our grandson seems to be more adept at pushing buttons as are on his other toys, so the crank is a new maneuver for him. After showing him the toy and getting it to open slowly and from a distance, I thought he would like it as he loves the "peek-a-boo" game. But when I start to turn the crank and play the tune, he will take it from me and put on the table and push it away. He seems to be warming up to it if I help him turn the crank with it open. We will be keeping the toy. We are sure as he learns to use it it will be played with more. Having to help him "load" it makes it an interactive toy with him and us. It is a vintage toy, just like we had as kids.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03