Home > Toy Companies > Scientific Explorer > Colossal Crystals > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 11 times with an average rating of 4.45

Excellent learning opportunity
Posted 11/2/2008 by Anna Medvecky
Rating: 5

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed the unique learning opportunity that Colossal Crystals offered us. The instructions were easy to follow and we were successful in growing seed crystals that are now being used to grow several colossal crystals. We also thought that the instructions were quite informative in regards to the basic knowledge in crystal formation on a molecular level. We also liked the creative suggestions to grow crystals of any color and the fact that the Monoammonium phosphate compound could be used again and again.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Science and fun
Posted 11/2/2008 by D Hu
Rating: 4

We purchased this as a gift - the recipient reported having lots of fun growing the crystals - it really worked! Seems to require interaction for set up - otherwise, wait and watch.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cool If You're Patient
Posted 1/10/2008 by Jennifer
Rating: 4

We got these for my 7 year old son (he's been asking for them for 2 years so we finally got them!). Basically, my husband has had to "do" the experiments due to the use of chemicals/measuring, etc. but we expected that. The kit does grow crystals but it does require patience, we've been at it for a week or so and ours is about 1" long. Even though he's basically just watching, my son has really enjoyed the process, and is thrilled that we've actually made our own crystals! However, I cannot imagine ever getting them to anything close to "colossal." Overall, though, still very cool!

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/27/2007 by Jane Suter
Rating: 5

My son was thrilled to be able to grow "diamonds" (crystals)! He is only 5, but with help is doing his experiment with great enthusiasm! A great way to introduce science and patience.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 12/10/2007 by Holly Barba
Rating: 5

My kids love making crystals, and this was so easy to do. We are anxiously awaiting the results.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

excellent
Posted 10/4/2010 by barbra spaugh
Rating: 5

My daughter was so excited to get this. She waited for the mail everyday. The instructions were so easy to follow that she did not really need help. It also told the why behind the what. Although it is too soon to actually see crystals yet, we only just started them, we are having fun checking for them.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grow Colossal Crystals Review
Posted 9/27/2010 by SUSAN K KAUP
Rating: 4

It is a limited time use. It was a fun project!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Value
Posted 5/15/2007 by Dr Fawn
Rating: 4

An excellent kit for any child with a budding interest in gems, minerals, or geology. While the kit specifies ages 9 and up, I took a chance with my 6 year old son. The 2 chemicals involved could be harmful if not handled properly. That gave me the opportunity to explain the how and why of chemical safety and first aid appropriate to this class of chemicals (monoammoniumphosphate or MAP). He and I both thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01