Home > Toy Companies > Scientific Explorer > Ultimate Gum Kit > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 44 times with an average rating of 4.55

So much fun!!!
Posted 3/19/2010 by Brian Ownsby
Rating: 5

This kit was purchased as a gift for my 7 year old son and he LOVED it!! It kept him entertained for hours making different flavors, colors, etc. I was amazed at the flavor, they were so yummy. The only thing was it didn't last long. Maybe 5 minutes. The kit comes with a ton of ingredients too so you can make a lot of gum. It was easy to use and the kids had a blast measuring out each ingredient. This overall was a perfect gift and was a hit with the kids!!

32 of 34 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kids love making their own gum!
Posted 10/11/2010 by Diana Longarzo
Rating: 3

My kids really loved making gum with this kit. The gum doesn't keep its flavor very long, but that's not really the point. The kids especially liked mixing flavors and thinking up their own crazy versions. I had two 10 year old boys, a 7 year old boy, and a 5 year old girl and boy. The 5 year olds enjoyed the process, but were really too young for it. The 7 year old did okay with a fair amount of help. It was really best for the 10 year olds - that's really the sweet spot. They still needed some help, but were able to do most on their own. IT IS VERY MESSY - BE PREPARED!

23 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate Gum
Posted 1/3/2008 by Scott Burgess
Rating: 4

We got this for my son. He really enjoyed it. My only complaint is that it can be kind of messy other than that, it is great.

21 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/3/2007 by Stacey Morrison
Rating: 5

Product was exactly as described. Our 13 year old was excited to receive it and started making gum immediately!

19 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun!
Posted 11/20/2007 by Jennifer Rainville
Rating: 5

It was a great kit that was interesting for both my 10 year old son and I. It was fun and educational.

17 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 4/14/2010 by Kris Banbury
Rating: 4

Used this at my daughter's 8th b-day party to entertain 6 girls. They really enjoyed it, but it seemed like there wasn't enough of the flavors and other mixes to go with the huge amount of gum base provided in this kit.

20 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun product
Posted 12/27/2009 by Patricia L Charo
Rating: 4

The gum kit was a favorite among the many gifts that were received this holiday. Mainly because it was something that could be done by all of the kids in the house ranging in ages from 2-18. They enjoyed making it and comparing the flavors and showing each other the gooey mess in thier mouths.

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 3/27/2009 by DIANA SARES
Rating: 5

hours of fun, bought for a 12 year old, loved it!

11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ultimate gun kit
Posted 1/17/2011 by Carrie Collins
Rating: 5

The kids were really excited to do this experiment. They loved choosing there own flavor. Definitely use disposable cups to mix..We have enough to do it a second or third time. O:

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Santa Scores
Posted 1/7/2011 by MCarpenter
Rating: 4

Santa brought this for our 5 yr & 7 yr old girls, however the older two kids enjoyed it too. The girls loved it and couldn't wait to start making their gum. It makes a little bit of a mess, so if you have messy children protect/set your work area up before they participate. It will stain clothes or counter like Kool-aid does or colored icing, but eventually comes out. Any extra item you need, you will probably already have in your house. It taste & chews like real gum, but the flavor of the gum doesn't last long. There are 19 different flavors. Children will need help with measuring, making, & microwave but it is a fun activity especially for a rain day or a day when it is too hot or cold to go outside. This kit encourages a child's creativity not only with the gum but by giving tips for marketing their gum.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 12/27/2009 by Larry Anderson
Rating: 4

My 5 year old granddaughter loved this gift. She made some very interesting gum varieties (with the help of her dad).

16 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good buy for 8 year old boy!
Posted 6/24/2009
Rating: 4

Pretty cool! The 8 year old I bought it for really enjoyed it...definitely needs adult supervision though and is extremely messy so I highly recommend using disposable containers to do this!!

10 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This is great!!
Posted 12/25/2010 by Heidi Snyder
Rating: 5

It's Christmas morning and my 10-year-old son has been making batch after batch of gum for a couple hours now. I helped him read through the directions and figure out the first batch, and he has been able to do it by himself since. The directions are written very well and geared toward a child. The gum actually tastes pretty good and is excellent for blowing bubbles. I'm thinking he won't stop until he has used up all the ingredients - which won't be for a while!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate Gum Kit
Posted 10/28/2007 by Cheryl Sheppard
Rating: 5

We haven't opened it yet, but it's much larger than I expected. I know he will just love it.

13 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate Gum Kit
Posted 10/21/2010 by Jennifer McCombs
Rating: 4

My 11 year old son received this as a gift recently. He was excited when he opened it and has had fun experimenting with the different flavors

11 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/10/2011 by katherine
Rating: 5

my 6 year old son loves this, not hard for him to do with a little stirring assistance from me, when I read other reviews I made sure we used hot tap water instead of cold to cover the gum pellots, microwaved for about 30 seconds and used a plastic cup that could be thrown away after use, we had to reheat gum 1x for about 8 sec. which it suggests might need to be done in the instruction. Instructions were easy to follow. There was a little mess but any project done by with child will result in a little cleanup

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 6/21/2011
Rating: 4

The gum kit has proved to be a favorite in my day care. The appropriate age is listed as 8 years old..but with constant adult supervision.. we are using the kit with 4 year old's as well. When you heat up the gum base in the microwave...it gets a little warm...so extra caution was used by only letting an adult handle the cup and stirring it until it cooled. It is definitely a very sticky and messy craft(that shouldn't be a surprise-you are making gum after all)..but it has been so worth it because of the smiles and how proud they are when it is completed. The extra supplies needed (throw away cups/spoons etc) are something you probably have laying around your house and you definitely will throw the cups and stirrers out because they aren't washable. It took about 45 minutes(including some distractions from the other kids) for myself and 2 4yr old's to complete the whole gum making process including wrapping the gum in foil and making a colorful wrapper for it. The taste of the gum lasts a very short time...but that didn't stop the kids from chewing it for an hour.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate Gum Kit
Posted 12/23/2009 by Claudine
Rating: 5

I have not used the product but I gave it as a Christmas present to a 11 year old boy. He was very excited to have a gum making kit. Out of all of the gum making kits I found, this one had the most flavors and seemed to be the best for the money. I would recommend this product!

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate gum kit
Posted 4/12/2011 by Dottie Morris
Rating: 4

He loves it! Can't get enough of the gum - wants to try each flavor!

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product!
Posted 8/25/2011 by Samantha Groh
Rating: 5

This product was very engaging for all of my children. The daughter it was purchased for was younger than the target age listed for the product, but was still able to be involved and enjoyed it with extra parental help. She enjoys mixing the flavors and the colors and likes the fact that she can use it over and over rather than doing it one time.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Big Box with not much inside!
Posted 7/8/2011 by David Pry
Rating: 2

Big box with cool images. Contents could fit in a box 1/4 the size. Contains mostly household items with the only exception being some flavors and gum stock. It needs some molds and packages that can be more easily reused. Once you open a flavor etc. they are not easily stored. You get plastic bags of corn syrup, pouches of powdered sugar, cut up squares of tin foil, food coloring, foil pouches of flavors and a bag of gum base. Sorry, but I couldn't recommend this toy.
Fortunately, if the Ultimate Gum Kit isn't the kind of snapping fun you'd anticipated, we snap to it and help you out! We contacted our customer. Please pop into the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 8 year old niece loved this!
Posted 1/2/2011 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I got The Ultimate Gum Kit for my niece for Christmas. My 8 year old niece LOVES gum. I knew this was going to be the perfect gift for her. When she opened it she started screaming with joy. Right away she wanted to start making some gum. Our plan was to make it in the morning so she spent the rest of the night reading all of the directions (instead of playing with all of her other new toys). She loved making the gum. She measured everything out herself and enjoyed making funny combinations like red mint gum. She also loved the gum away with the pride that she made it. I know there were a few reviews that said it was messy but in my opinion it was no messier than cooking or baking even less so.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gum Fun
Posted 12/24/2010 by Paula
Rating: 5

We bought this for my nine year old niece. She loved it. Every kid loves gum and she love to be doing. This was perfect.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ultimate Gum Kit
Posted 12/16/2010 by Jeanine Scotti
Rating: 5

This was for my nephew who loves to experiment and create. He thought is was "so cool".

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/27/2010 by Marsha
Rating: 5

shows child how ingredients work together to make gum.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of
Posted 12/13/2010 by Deborah
Rating: 5

I bought this for my granddaughter. She has not opened it yet, but it is cool and creative!

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/8/2010 by Cynthia Stewart
Rating: 5

different; fun; educational value

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

haven't used, but can't wait.
Posted 10/10/2009 by Elizabeth Plemel-Scott
Rating: 4

Looks good, but haven't used yet. It is a gift.

6 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 12/28/2009 by Scott Robinson
Rating: 5

My 9 yr old nbiece luvs it.

9 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01