Home > Toy Companies > SmartLab > Fashion Studio > Customer Reviews
Fashion Studio
0

Customer reviews of Fashion Studio by SmartLab

Return to Fashion Studio product information...

Fashion Studio has been reviewed 79 times with an average rating of 4.43

Really Great Toy!
Posted 10/21/2009 by Ashley Howcroft
Rating: 4

I gave this product an overall rating of 4 stars because, Pro's : * lots of fun for kids and adults that have a hard time drawing but find drawing fun. * tons of options to mix and match clothes. * good quality product, well built. * fun and easy to use. * Hours of entertainment Con's : * Needs the option to buy even more clothing designs and paper. * Needs more pattern ideas. maybe some stencils of different patterns. * Purses and hats would be a fun option. * more help with faces and hair for your new modles. All and all the Pro's and Con's even out. but i still love the Fashion studio and am happy that i have it. i am a 20 year old girl that loves to draw and do tons of crafts so if i get a kick out of it i know kids would love it.

18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion - Kid Favorite
Posted 7/20/2009 by Laura Goodwin - FRIEND
Rating: 5

Wonderful product - great quality! Perfect gift for a young fashionista :)

16 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's a Hit
Posted 5/5/2011 by Meg E.
Rating: 4

We purchased this as a birthday gift for my boyfriend's 7 year old daughter. She hasn't put it down since she opened it. She's used all the paper provided, and we're cutting up more paper so she can keep going. She loves to change the outfits and colors around. She's also learned how to creat different looking fabric textures by coloring in different patterns.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy! Poor quality.
Posted 7/21/2009 by Erin Kimmett
Rating: 3

This toy received a lot of OHHS and AHHS at the lastest birthday party my daughter attended. The recipient is a 7 yr old budding artist. She was ecstatic when she opened this gift. Her enthusiasm quickly dwindled once she opened the gift and the light button was broken. Fortunately Fat Brain Toys is an amazing company with the absolute best service in the industry! They will be replacing the toy for the gift recipient. I would have given this toy 5-stars if we did not require a replacement.

18 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frshion Studio
Posted 11/23/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Very nice presentation and easy to understand and work with. Christmas present for grandchild. My ten year old neighbor gave it a high ranking of interest and told me she wished she had one too. However, this kid wants everything she sees LOL...don't they all? I would purchase another if needed. Impressed.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 1/27/2011 by yael bloom
Rating: 3

My daughter played with it initially and really enjoyed it. She comes back to it from time to time and makes new outfits.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun but requires some dexterity
Posted 1/19/2011 by Alice Mulhearn
Rating: 4

My daughter is 6 and loves fashion, so I thought she'd love this. She was very excited with it and wanted to get started right away but then got frustrated by all the tracing and drawing required. She had some trouble getting everything lined up the way she wanted it and getting the templates to stay in place. It may be that as she gets older she'll be able to pull it back out and do more with it as her dexterity improves. I think she also expected a little more color and bling, like she usually gets with paper doll sets. Still, a good unique toy.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 1/5/2011
Rating: 5

Lots of mix and match options and easy to use lighted tracing table makes creating fashions loads of fun for my 8 year old daughter. Included book gives her lots of ideas. I like that the paper size/tracing table is exactly 1/3 the size of standard white paper so extra paper is so easy to cut from standard white paper. A small plastic box or envelope would make it easier to keep the templates together and not loose them.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 8/15/2010
Rating: 4

We loved that it was lighted and provided many clothing options to trace. Unfortunately, some of the options didn't line up well with the figure underneath leading to some frustration. Still, my daughter enjoed making her designs.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lot's of Fun
Posted 2/28/2010 by J. Gunderson
Rating: 5

We gave this to our 8 year old for her birthday. It was one of her favorite presents. It provides as much direction as wanted and leaves a lot of room for individual creativity. I think she and her friends will have hours of fun with it

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 2/23/2011 by Bob Feller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We gave it to her on Sunday 2/20 as a birthday gift. Immediately after her party she began to use it.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/13/2009 by linda salamon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter for Chanukah and gave it to her Friday nite. According to her mom, she has been playing with it all day and seems to like it a lot. This appears to be an indication that it is a success--if it continues it will definitely be a great purchase. Thanks for the recommendation.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Customer
Posted 6/7/2012 by CAMI HARTIG
Rating: 5

We bought it for a relative, and spent 3 days with them. The almost 8 year old loved it, wanting to draw and fashion right away. After their baby went to bed, and we left for the hotel, she and her mom both made a fashion girl before they went to bed. She was very proud of her creation from the first night, and right away wanted to do more the next morning. It was easy to work with, and had so many options for creativity. We did have to supply batteries, as it didn't come with any. It might be a good idea to have batteries on hand near the store counter, and a note that the item doesn't have any, so people are prepared to play immediately.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for 7 year old
Posted 5/30/2010 by Jill Friedman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was a gift to my 7 year old niece, who is into everything that is girly. She loves it. Her favorite part is that it lights up!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 11/15/2009
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift, so it hasn't been enjoyed yet. From what I can see, this is right up my daughter's alley. She loves to draw fashions and this will give her a template to work with while allowing her to continue to express her own creativity. The toy looks well made, has lots of options and should provide many hours of fun.

11 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super for the fashionista in the family
Posted 3/19/2010 by Dana Davis
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 6 year old because she said "fashion is her life" It was the best gift because it offers a lot of choices and keeps her busy for longer than usual. Actually the whole family was getting into the fashion design action. It's pretty easy for her to use, once I showed her how to do it. The designs she comes up with are very interesting. It gives the format for the clothes, but she can express herself any way she wants it. This will also be a toy she will grow with - when she's 8, she'll have a new outlook on styles and colors.

9 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for a future designer
Posted 12/9/2009 by Donna Rutherford
Rating: 5

My 8-yr old daughter is a fenatic for "Project Runway" and now can design her own clothes. I foresee hours of her designing.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for a budding fashionista
Posted 3/21/2012
Rating: 4

The light table is a nice feature and makes creating a new design much more fun for my 8 year old niece, but she did complain that the batteries ran out to fast and already had to be changed. The quality of the supplies is pretty nice; there are better color pencils out there, but there are good enough to at least get started.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/29/2011 by Paul Attorri
Rating: 3

Smaller than expected.
Fashionable fun in a compact size. Not your style? Hit this runway! Visit Returns & Exchanges for details.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

She likes it!
Posted 12/27/2010 by Lisa Elder
Rating: 4

This was given to my newly 'acquired' granddaughter. As with the toy given to her 12 yr. old brother, this was a big hit! She is 8 yrs. old and has a tendency to say "I don't like" this-or-that before she's even tried 'it'. LOL She loved this one though, and spent a good hour drawing with it. I know she will use this a lot!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for your young artist
Posted 12/26/2010 by Kendra Pollard
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 8 year old and she loves it. This is a great product for girls who love fashion and love to draw even more. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a girl in their life that fit into either category.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun product - gives great results
Posted 2/2/2010 by Mary A
Rating: 5

My almost 8 year old daughter got this for Christmas. The very first sketch that she created looked very nice. It was very satisfying for her because the result looked more advanced than what she might do on her own. Her 5 year old sister enjoys it also and I think it gives both of them a sense of satisfaction to produce such nice looking sketches. There are plenty of mix and match combination to help them put together many different looks. So far the product seems durable and has stayed looking nice (after 1 month).

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 12/23/2009 by Kristin Keith
Rating: 3

A little disappointed in the product, but I should have read the description better, my own fault. I was looking for a rub-on template where you rub the crayon over the template then color in the designs. My daughter is 5 1/2, so I guess this will help with tracing skills. I would think she would love to be drawing more "prom" style ball gowns vs. pants and tops. Little girls usually like "princess outfits" not the regular clothing they get to wear to school every day! I'm sure she'll still love it though.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Fashion Studio
Posted 5/19/2011 by Pauline Fleischauer
Rating: 4

Has not received it yet because her birthday is in July. I am pretty sure she will enjoy it. Her mother recommended I buy it for her daughter.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 1/10/2010 by Stacie White
Rating: 5

My daughter Lauren will be 9 in March. This is such an awesome gift. It built on her interest, extended her knowledge and inspired her to learn more. After she got familiar with the different styles she also requested how to learn to sew clothes or her barbie. We worked together and used scraps from old clothes, talked about what the clothes would look like. She ended up sewing by hand a blouse, long skirt, and a purse.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 4/8/2012 by Stephane Tumlin
Rating: 5

This is the third time I've bought this product as a gift. The girls love it. My niece squealed with delight when she opened it today!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for a budding fashionista
Posted 3/21/2012
Rating: 4

The light table is a nice feature and makes creating a new design much more fun for my 8 year old niece, but she did complain that the batteries ran out to fast and already had to be changed. The quality of the supplies is pretty nice; there are better color pencils out there, but there are good enough to at least get started.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A hit
Posted 12/29/2011 by Robin Mead
Rating: 5

My 11 y/o daughter loved it, but soon ran out of paper.
When the paper is used up- you know it was a hit! Standard copy paper cut to the size of the light box works wonderfully as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for the trendy girl.
Posted 12/9/2010 by Angie Weeks
Rating: 5

Great project toy for those long winter evenings. A nice quiet toy that is very creative and easy for a child to personalize their work. A+ for me!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 6/21/2010 by April Krupp
Rating: 4

My 7 year old daughter likes to play with this especially if she needs some quiet time or on a rainy day. I like that she can get really creative with it. She loved making paper doll clothes before but with this has an extra advantage.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Fashion Studio
Posted 2/1/2010 by Vanessa
Rating: 4

My 8 year old loves this. It is easy to use with a variety of clothing options to mix and match. The only problem we have had is the button to turn the light on is on top of the studio box and gets pushed when stored, so we have to remove batteries before and after each use because they were always dead.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My girl likes this a lot!
Posted 1/6/2010 by Kathleen
Rating: 5

My 8-year old daughter enjoys playing with this. You simply pick which top, skirt, shoes will be part of the outfit, then slide those plastic guides onto the lightboard and trace away. You can color the traced outfit too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 12/30/2009
Rating: 5

We purchased this as a birthday gift for our 5 year old niece. She loved it as did both of her cousins (7 & 9). My 8 year old daughter also wants one. we highly recommend it, as it is open ended & makes the kids think.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/30/2009 by Sharon Loeffelholz - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

It is an awesome idea. My granddaughter loves it. I appreciate your informing the consumer where to purchase extra items as they are used. My only concern is her losing the clothes' templates. Perhaps a plastic container similar to the one the colored pencils are in would work well and not add bulk to the box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/29/2009 by Donelle Mills
Rating: 4

We purchased this product for our five and a half year old daughter. Had searched high and low for a quality fashion design product appropriate for this age (most are recommended for age 8 and up). This product was a hit with our daughter! She immediately started playing with it, and even showed us how it works. Only suggestions would be to include more paper, and change the design of the container so there is a place to store the fashion tracing designs securely after opened. I think this will be something that will hold its value for at least a few years.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Meh.
Posted 12/27/2012 by JoAnne Collier - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This went to a 7 year-old girl who loves dress-up, dolls and drawing. I figured, "Just the thing." This toy involves choosing, tracing and coloring clothing components. It's big feature, if you can call it that, is a light box on which the child places transparencies to trace. The coloring pencils are these little stubby things, capable of tepid color at best. There's a small supply of paper, cut the correct size for the light box. After that, it's up to the owner to buy/cut replacements. 3 - AAA batteries are required and not furnished. A couple of magazines/coloring books, some tracing paper, and some crayons or markers would do the job at a fraction of the cost. The little girl, whose quite capable of sustained attention, loss interest within 15 minutes. A dud in my view.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 1/22/2012 by Sheri Celtruda
Rating: 5

This product is well-liked by my 7 year old daughter. She loves being creative with it - acting like a fashion designer!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 12/28/2009 by Rikki Mortensen
Rating: 4

It is wonderful. My daughter is having so much fun and I'm having a great time watching her creativity. The light is really nice and strong. The only thing that would make it better would be more paper included.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/28/2009 by Steve
Rating: 5

Excellent, my grandaughter loved it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fun!
Posted 12/28/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Immediately captivated our 10.5 year old! She loved the designs and was able to make nice outfits.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good name. Depicts the product well
Posted 12/28/2009 by Amy
Rating: 4

I think my daughter is enjoying this. She received it from "Santa" this year for Christmas and got right to work on creating some fashions. She is only 5 1/2 so she is on the younger side for this product but still enjoys it - I felt is would be fine for her b/c she likes to do detailed drawing w/ other things. I originally wanted to purchase the "old fashioned" fashion plate rubbings that I had as a girl and couldn't find anyone who had them. I searched everywhere and everyone said that the "Item was no longer in stock". I'd like to find out why. I found the plate rubbings on eBay but was concerned that the manufacturer had pulled the product for a reason - like lead in the toy?? I had fun w/ it when I was young and thought my daughter would too. I went ahead and purchased The Fashion Studio hoping she could do it at such a young age. I believe it will be one of our favorite toys for years to come considering she has two younger sisters. Cons: The tracing plastics stick together w/ a lot of static - kind of a drawback. We will need to find something to store it in in order to keep everything from getting lost...but such is the case w/ many toys. And I wish they would have had heads w/ & w/o hats & scarfs to trace as well but it doesn't include this. This is the biggest bummer but not enough for a total loss. This is the reason I put it down for 4 stars instead of 5.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

One of my daughter's NEW favorite toys!
Posted 12/28/2009 by Susan Defelice
Rating: 5

My 8 year old daughter had this out of the package and was designing outfits within a short time of opening it Christmas morning. She liked the variety of different outfits she could create and was able to use the light box easily. I was surprised at how "professional" her first designs were! I also liked that it was a complete set--no other kits had the pencils, light box, design templates, and book together. Overall, this was a great toy and value, and I expect her to get hours of enjoyment from it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Fashion Studio
Posted 12/10/2009
Rating: 4

I bought these two as gifts for my nieces. The quality is good and it looks like a lot of fun. I can't wait to give them to the girls!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift! Perfect for the crafty girly girl
Posted 12/10/2009 by Michelle Kenney - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I love this gift and really excited to give it to my 7.5 year old niece who enjoys crafts and is really into design -- 7 years old going on 17. I think she can use her imagination, and play with it for hours. It reminds me of "fashion plates" which I had and enjoyed when I was her age.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift!!
Posted 11/7/2012 by MICHELE M BRUNTZ
Rating: 5

Little girls love this! They get to design and color their own outfits and keeps them entertained for a long time.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun gift!
Posted 1/4/2013 by Amy
Rating: 5

I gave this to a friends daughter for Christmas; she is 6 years old. She liked the gift, and she started playing with it right away. She loves crafts but this was the first fashion craft gift she had received. So far seems like a nice set.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 11/15/2009 by Penny Horning - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The gift is for my granddaughter and I feel she will be very happy with it. I checked it out and it looks like fun to do.

6 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

New Customer
Posted 11/30/2009 by Ben Cohen
Rating: 5

Perfect present for my niece!

5 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 12/26/2012 by Michelle M.
Rating: 4

Very nice concept for creative little fashionistas! My daughter is 7 and loves it. There was minimal set up, which we did together, and I only had to show her once. She was able to independently trace her own outfits, on the light tablet using plastic clothing clings and colored pencils. The adhesive templates (clothing clings) are not easy to put away for a 7 year old. She put them haphazardly in the box with the other items. I found creases and lint on them. To all toy manufacturers!... When you sell your products please include an easy way for children to store them so your product will last. I’d pay a little more for that.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/26/2012 by Erin Aubry
Rating: 5

She loves that she can design her own outfits.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Coloring and creative toy
Posted 1/8/2014 by C Young
Rating: 4

When our 5 year old granddaughter grabbed this, she couldn't wait to play with it. She needed adult help the first time and didn't realize how to use the templates. Once she got the hang of it, she did well and so did her 7 year old sister. They would work on their creations for about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Fashion Studio
Posted 12/17/2013 by Bobbie Hunsinger
Rating: 4

my 11 year old grandaughter plays with it and has fun.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Neat Toy
Posted 12/26/2012 by Denna Rentz
Rating: 4

Loved the idea of this gift for my 9 year old. Got it for Christmas and while it was the last thing she opened to play with, she enjoyed it. She didn't ask for it, but I found it last minute. She had a hard time getting the paper and the form of the girl up under the clip. I understand why it's tight to help hold it still, I am worried it will break off - hasn't happened, but the possibility of it happening. She had fun with it and I see lots more time spend using it. Love how the pencils fit up in the bottom to carry with it in the case.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/3/2012 by Carol Keiser
Rating: 4

Gave this to an 8-year-old girl and 7-year-old girl and they went right to work. Plus, a 24-year-old cousin and over 50 aunt jumped right in and were helping out! It was a gift intended to keep them occupied at a company party and it certainly did that. I think it will be played with often. We were, however, unable to located the girl outline on the plastic overhead type material for one. It could have been thrown away, but we looked pretty thoroughly. We were planning on making a copy at our machine at school.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 11/20/2012 by Gloria Leventhal
Rating: 5

Needs to have a sturdier surface.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Fashion Studio
Posted 1/10/2013 by MELISSA
Rating: 4

My 7 year old likes this studio very much but she is impatient. She still needs help to keep her on track and to not get overly frustrated when it doesn't turn out perfectly. I think as she uses it more and also gets older (more mature) she will like it very, very much! *I* like it!

2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Fashion Studio
Posted 10/22/2009 by Cherrie Hefty - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas present for my grandaughter so she has not received it.

5 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02