Home > Toy Companies > SmartLab > Fashion Studio > Customer Reviews
Fashion Studio
0

4 Star reviews of Fashion Studio by SmartLab

Return to Fashion Studio product information...

Fashion Studio has been reviewed 79 times with an average rating of 4.43

Really Great Toy!
Posted 10/21/2009 by Ashley Howcroft
Rating: 4

I gave this product an overall rating of 4 stars because, Pro's : * lots of fun for kids and adults that have a hard time drawing but find drawing fun. * tons of options to mix and match clothes. * good quality product, well built. * fun and easy to use. * Hours of entertainment Con's : * Needs the option to buy even more clothing designs and paper. * Needs more pattern ideas. maybe some stencils of different patterns. * Purses and hats would be a fun option. * more help with faces and hair for your new modles. All and all the Pro's and Con's even out. but i still love the Fashion studio and am happy that i have it. i am a 20 year old girl that loves to draw and do tons of crafts so if i get a kick out of it i know kids would love it.

18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's a Hit
Posted 5/5/2011 by Meg E.
Rating: 4

We purchased this as a birthday gift for my boyfriend's 7 year old daughter. She hasn't put it down since she opened it. She's used all the paper provided, and we're cutting up more paper so she can keep going. She loves to change the outfits and colors around. She's also learned how to creat different looking fabric textures by coloring in different patterns.

15 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Frshion Studio
Posted 11/23/2009 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Very nice presentation and easy to understand and work with. Christmas present for grandchild. My ten year old neighbor gave it a high ranking of interest and told me she wished she had one too. However, this kid wants everything she sees LOL...don't they all? I would purchase another if needed. Impressed.

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun but requires some dexterity
Posted 1/19/2011 by Alice Mulhearn
Rating: 4

My daughter is 6 and loves fashion, so I thought she'd love this. She was very excited with it and wanted to get started right away but then got frustrated by all the tracing and drawing required. She had some trouble getting everything lined up the way she wanted it and getting the templates to stay in place. It may be that as she gets older she'll be able to pull it back out and do more with it as her dexterity improves. I think she also expected a little more color and bling, like she usually gets with paper doll sets. Still, a good unique toy.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 8/15/2010
Rating: 4

We loved that it was lighted and provided many clothing options to trace. Unfortunately, some of the options didn't line up well with the figure underneath leading to some frustration. Still, my daughter enjoed making her designs.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 2/23/2011 by Bob Feller - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

We gave it to her on Sunday 2/20 as a birthday gift. Immediately after her party she began to use it.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/13/2009 by linda salamon - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 7 year old granddaughter for Chanukah and gave it to her Friday nite. According to her mom, she has been playing with it all day and seems to like it a lot. This appears to be an indication that it is a success--if it continues it will definitely be a great purchase. Thanks for the recommendation.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gift for 7 year old
Posted 5/30/2010 by Jill Friedman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

This was a gift to my 7 year old niece, who is into everything that is girly. She loves it. Her favorite part is that it lights up!

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for a budding fashionista
Posted 3/21/2012
Rating: 4

The light table is a nice feature and makes creating a new design much more fun for my 8 year old niece, but she did complain that the batteries ran out to fast and already had to be changed. The quality of the supplies is pretty nice; there are better color pencils out there, but there are good enough to at least get started.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

She likes it!
Posted 12/27/2010 by Lisa Elder
Rating: 4

This was given to my newly 'acquired' granddaughter. As with the toy given to her 12 yr. old brother, this was a big hit! She is 8 yrs. old and has a tendency to say "I don't like" this-or-that before she's even tried 'it'. LOL She loved this one though, and spent a good hour drawing with it. I know she will use this a lot!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for your young artist
Posted 12/26/2010 by Kendra Pollard
Rating: 4

I bought this for my 8 year old and she loves it. This is a great product for girls who love fashion and love to draw even more. I highly recommend this to anyone who has a girl in their life that fit into either category.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 5/19/2011 by Pauline Fleischauer
Rating: 4

Has not received it yet because her birthday is in July. I am pretty sure she will enjoy it. Her mother recommended I buy it for her daughter.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for a budding fashionista
Posted 3/21/2012
Rating: 4

The light table is a nice feature and makes creating a new design much more fun for my 8 year old niece, but she did complain that the batteries ran out to fast and already had to be changed. The quality of the supplies is pretty nice; there are better color pencils out there, but there are good enough to at least get started.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 6/21/2010 by April Krupp
Rating: 4

My 7 year old daughter likes to play with this especially if she needs some quiet time or on a rainy day. I like that she can get really creative with it. She loved making paper doll clothes before but with this has an extra advantage.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 2/1/2010 by Vanessa
Rating: 4

My 8 year old loves this. It is easy to use with a variety of clothing options to mix and match. The only problem we have had is the button to turn the light on is on top of the studio box and gets pushed when stored, so we have to remove batteries before and after each use because they were always dead.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 12/30/2009 by Sharon Loeffelholz - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

It is an awesome idea. My granddaughter loves it. I appreciate your informing the consumer where to purchase extra items as they are used. My only concern is her losing the clothes' templates. Perhaps a plastic container similar to the one the colored pencils are in would work well and not add bulk to the box.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/29/2009 by Donelle Mills
Rating: 4

We purchased this product for our five and a half year old daughter. Had searched high and low for a quality fashion design product appropriate for this age (most are recommended for age 8 and up). This product was a hit with our daughter! She immediately started playing with it, and even showed us how it works. Only suggestions would be to include more paper, and change the design of the container so there is a place to store the fashion tracing designs securely after opened. I think this will be something that will hold its value for at least a few years.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 12/28/2009 by Rikki Mortensen
Rating: 4

It is wonderful. My daughter is having so much fun and I'm having a great time watching her creativity. The light is really nice and strong. The only thing that would make it better would be more paper included.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good name. Depicts the product well
Posted 12/28/2009 by Amy
Rating: 4

I think my daughter is enjoying this. She received it from "Santa" this year for Christmas and got right to work on creating some fashions. She is only 5 1/2 so she is on the younger side for this product but still enjoys it - I felt is would be fine for her b/c she likes to do detailed drawing w/ other things. I originally wanted to purchase the "old fashioned" fashion plate rubbings that I had as a girl and couldn't find anyone who had them. I searched everywhere and everyone said that the "Item was no longer in stock". I'd like to find out why. I found the plate rubbings on eBay but was concerned that the manufacturer had pulled the product for a reason - like lead in the toy?? I had fun w/ it when I was young and thought my daughter would too. I went ahead and purchased The Fashion Studio hoping she could do it at such a young age. I believe it will be one of our favorite toys for years to come considering she has two younger sisters. Cons: The tracing plastics stick together w/ a lot of static - kind of a drawback. We will need to find something to store it in in order to keep everything from getting lost...but such is the case w/ many toys. And I wish they would have had heads w/ & w/o hats & scarfs to trace as well but it doesn't include this. This is the biggest bummer but not enough for a total loss. This is the reason I put it down for 4 stars instead of 5.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Fashion Studio
Posted 12/10/2009
Rating: 4

I bought these two as gifts for my nieces. The quality is good and it looks like a lot of fun. I can't wait to give them to the girls!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 11/15/2009 by Penny Horning - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

The gift is for my granddaughter and I feel she will be very happy with it. I checked it out and it looks like fun to do.

6 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fashion Studio
Posted 12/26/2012 by Michelle M.
Rating: 4

Very nice concept for creative little fashionistas! My daughter is 7 and loves it. There was minimal set up, which we did together, and I only had to show her once. She was able to independently trace her own outfits, on the light tablet using plastic clothing clings and colored pencils. The adhesive templates (clothing clings) are not easy to put away for a 7 year old. She put them haphazardly in the box with the other items. I found creases and lint on them. To all toy manufacturers!... When you sell your products please include an easy way for children to store them so your product will last. I’d pay a little more for that.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Coloring and creative toy
Posted 1/8/2014 by C Young
Rating: 4

When our 5 year old granddaughter grabbed this, she couldn't wait to play with it. She needed adult help the first time and didn't realize how to use the templates. Once she got the hang of it, she did well and so did her 7 year old sister. They would work on their creations for about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/17/2013 by Bobbie Hunsinger
Rating: 4

my 11 year old grandaughter plays with it and has fun.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Neat Toy
Posted 12/26/2012 by Denna Rentz
Rating: 4

Loved the idea of this gift for my 9 year old. Got it for Christmas and while it was the last thing she opened to play with, she enjoyed it. She didn't ask for it, but I found it last minute. She had a hard time getting the paper and the form of the girl up under the clip. I understand why it's tight to help hold it still, I am worried it will break off - hasn't happened, but the possibility of it happening. She had fun with it and I see lots more time spend using it. Love how the pencils fit up in the bottom to carry with it in the case.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Fashion Studio
Posted 12/3/2012 by Carol Keiser
Rating: 4

Gave this to an 8-year-old girl and 7-year-old girl and they went right to work. Plus, a 24-year-old cousin and over 50 aunt jumped right in and were helping out! It was a gift intended to keep them occupied at a company party and it certainly did that. I think it will be played with often. We were, however, unable to located the girl outline on the plastic overhead type material for one. It could have been thrown away, but we looked pretty thoroughly. We were planning on making a copy at our machine at school.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Fashion Studio
Posted 1/10/2013 by MELISSA
Rating: 4

My 7 year old likes this studio very much but she is impatient. She still needs help to keep her on track and to not get overly frustrated when it doesn't turn out perfectly. I think as she uses it more and also gets older (more mature) she will like it very, very much! *I* like it!

2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03