Home > Toy Companies > Talicor > Herd Your Horses > Customer Reviews
Herd Your Horses
0

5 Star reviews of Herd Your Horses by Talicor

Return to Herd Your Horses product information...

Herd Your Horses has been reviewed 104 times with an average rating of 4.57

Herd Your Horses
Posted 8/13/2008 by Mary S. Oberg
Rating: 5

I ordered this game for my 11 year old granddaughter, who is crazy about horses. She really, really likes the game, and plays it with her friends a lot.

22 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Unique & Fun
Posted 5/7/2008 by Heather Hughes
Rating: 5

This is a unique product. My daughter and granddaughter love horses. They have had hours of fun with this game. Fun time together. Beautiful memories. What more can you ask of a product!

16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 7/18/2008 by Debra
Rating: 5

Excellent game for my 8-year old. The various options keep it fresh and fun, and the solitary play games are great to keep her occupied on her own. Good quality board and cards. Only upgrade I would suggest is a bit better/higher quality game pieces (the stallions that move around the board). A little figure or something would be great.

16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Well liked by my 8 and 5 yo daughters
Posted 12/3/2010 by Cathy D.
Rating: 5

We have played this game with my 8 and 5 yo daughters. My 5 yo, who can read, would not be able to play this game without help. I, myself, had to refer to the directions multiple times throughout the game for help. It is not that it is a hard game, there are just numerous things to remember. I really think with practice, my 8 yo will be able to play without adult help. The girls loved the game. They couldn't wait to pick up the horse cards and see which ones they were adding to their herd. They ask to play it often. I like that there are 3 options for playing, plus the choice for solitaire play. We are working on the first game for now until they are familiar enough with it to move on. I'm glad we bought it!

12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Herd Your Horses
Posted 4/27/2010
Rating: 5

My 8 year old loves this game. We had to read the directions and play a few rounds before she could do it on her own. Once you do that, it is not a difficult game.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Neat game!
Posted 1/6/2010
Rating: 5

This game contains three different mode of play. The family and I have only tried the wild mustand mode so far. It seems like it is a much more open ended game than your standard kids' board game. It's more along the lines of a light kids strategy game. That being said, the instructions are fairly easy to understand. I was impressed with how well the instructions were written and that they even contained frequently asked questions for just about any question I had about how to play. Our 5 year old was able to play along with us. The horse cards (illustrated with text descriptions) are great. Obviously a high quality game.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun game for horse lovers
Posted 10/25/2009 by JAMES W.
Rating: 5

My daughter loves horses and she loves this game(s). There are at least 3 games in one involving ranchers, wild mustangs and stallions. The game models what horses lived through on the range out west. Wild mustangs getting caught by ranchers and managing their herd of mares and foals, while fighting the elements and predetors. The pictures of horses on the cards are pretty and my daughter likes their names, she already has her favorites. As she gets older, the information on the back of the cards will be educational and make the game more difficult, so the game will grow with her.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/27/2011 by Jeff Gibson
Rating: 5

My eight-year-old daughter loves this game. Of course, it doesn't hurt that she likes horses, but it's also a sweet game with simple, well-functioning rules and principles that engage her imagination as she learns about life on the trail and the different characteristics of various horse breeds. The design and card illustrations are beautiful and the descriptions of the horses thoroughly charming.

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/4/2010 by Danielle Cross
Rating: 5

Very enjoyable game. Even my 4-year-old son enjoys playing with us. It's an easy way to learn about horses.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/14/2013
Rating: 5

We bought this game for a 10 year old friend of our daughter's birthday because our whole family enjoys it so much. There are three different group games that use a fun combination of luck (dice rolls) and strategy (race to the end and maybe have too few horses, or go more slowly and collect more horses?) The rules are a bit complicated and there are a lot of cards to keep track of, so it's not an intuitive, "play right out of the box", or short attention span kind of game. The version one game that we usually play lasts at least half an hour. That all works for us because the game is not overly simplistic once you get the hang of it; we play often.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/28/2009 by Anna
Rating: 5

I bought this game for my 10 year old niece. She loves horses. We have a great time playing it! She loves it! Its a fun way to learn about all the different types of horses.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/5/2009 by Joyce - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

My 10 yr. old daughter was given Herd Your Horses a few years ago for Christmas. We've had so much fun with it. One of my good friends can't wait to come for her annual visit so she can play again and is afraid my daughter will out grow it. I don't think that will be the case, my 15 yr. old niece came for a visit this summer and the girls had a blast. So I'm buying the game for her for Christmas.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/13/2006 by Joseph M. Suarez
Rating: 5

This is actually six games in one, since the instruction manual includes three multiplayer and three solitaire games. Children younger than the recommended age of eight, particularly homeschoolers, should be capable of understanding the basics of the game. Younger children will get more out of the game each time they play and their curiosity is stimulated. At the same time, the game is appropriate for older children, so it's easy to get the whole family to play (four at a time, of course). The instruction manual also includes six pages of general information about horses, a glossary of horse terms, and a recommended reading list.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/26/2008 by Susan Telehany
Rating: 5

My daughter recalled this game from camp. The horse cards in particular are very well done.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses Game
Posted 6/26/2007
Rating: 5

Over a long weekend together all separate ages played together for hours (2 - 11 year olds and 2 - 7 years olds. I liked the game a lot, price is perfect--I ordered several to have for bitrthday presents. I also suggested that our local riding supplies and apparel store consider stocking it!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses Game
Posted 4/4/2007 by Elizabeth Saxon Erikson
Rating: 5

This is a high quality educational game that is also a lot of fun! My children, ages 8 and 9, can play it by themselves with little difficulty. I've played it with them as well; it's not boring for an adult to play along. The artwork on the cards is quite lovely as well, a nice bonus. A quality product in every way.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/4/2006 by Kalen M Schultz
Rating: 5

This game was purchased for a 10 year old American girl living in Germany who is absolutely nuts about horses. Having taken her on in other horse related board games, I know she will love it! The best features of the game are the amount of information contained on the game cards, the fact that there are 3 different games that can be played using the one set, and even a game to be played alone (solitaire).

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/3/2011 by RHONDA L CARDEY
Rating: 5

game has not piqued any interest at this time. But to be fair it was not the only horse game that she received this Christmas. Almost every family member gave her something related to horses.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/12/2009 by Heidi Coughlin
Rating: 5

My daughter is 7 years old and has a love for horses, and what a fun way to learn about all the different types of horses, while playing a game.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Game Is Awesome
Posted 1/16/2008 by Sharon
Rating: 5

My daughter loves this game! She loves horses. This game is perfect for her.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/15/2008 by Jenny Lynn Bean
Rating: 5

My family really enjoys this game. I enjoy that my children are learning and they don't even know it! As a homeschooling mom of 5, you can't beat the feeling of having fun time together learning and playing.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/13/2007 by Jacqui Savage
Rating: 5

If you love horses, you'll love this game.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/13/2007 by Melody Stoker
Rating: 5

Lots of fun for the kids.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 11/8/2007 by Whitney C Ware
Rating: 5

We love this game! The variety of play it provides makes it an excellent game for kids, and promises to keep them playing it for years. The art is fantastic as well. Horse products for kids are often made of low quality art, so the quality of your product is very appreciated.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/9/2007 by Jane Doyle
Rating: 5

This is a great game. I enjoy playing it as much as my 5-year old niece!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 8/5/2007
Rating: 5

My daughter plays this game all the time. She loves horses and has grown to love all the horses pictured on the cards .

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 7/12/2007 by Colleen Marsini
Rating: 5

My 11 year old daughter loves this game. It is fun and educational.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 6/30/2007 by Laura L.
Rating: 5

Love this game! For anyone who is a horse enthusiast it will provide many hours of entertainment. Perfect for the 7 to 12 year girl who is wild about horses. However, it is also enjoyable for an adults to play along too...and you might even learn something along the way.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 2/12/2007 by Kate Webster
Rating: 5

While I haven't played with it myself, the feedback is that Herd Your Horses is a fabulous game. Given as a gift to a 9 year old girl who loves horses, she played with it the evening that she got it. (She chose that gift to play with first from a pile of presents. I think that's a pretty good sign!)

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 1/16/2007 by Carnan Thurgood
Rating: 5

This game has been amazing. This game was a Christmas gift for my 6 year old daughter, but my 10 year old daughter continually plays with her. They have made up numerous games on their own as well as the other game options suggested.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/1/2006 by Rebecca
Rating: 5

I gave this to a little girl who absolutely loves horses for her 8th birthday. We opened it immediately and began playing. She enjoyed it so much her bedtime was later than usual. This is an excellent gift for any child who loves horses and wants to learn more about them. I especially like the fact that she can play with it on her own or with others. It was even fun for the adults.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 11/27/2006
Rating: 5

The game is very interesting and fun. It will provide hours of amusement.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Herd Your Horses
Posted 11/22/2006 by JT
Rating: 5

The girls that played at our daughter's 11th birthday party commented that they had never played a game like this before, and really liked it. My daughter of course loves it because the horse cards have interesting information about the horses. It has been great entertainment and educational. Even my 5 year old enjoys learning about the horses.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 11/16/2006 by Susan Johnson
Rating: 5

3 children gave it a 5 Star rating. Not only did the 3 children love the game, they played very intently and quietly.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/20/2006 by Richard Francis Cope
Rating: 5

This game is entertaining to play and educational at the same time. You learn a lot about how wild horses live and interact with one another. The fact that the player can move backwards, forwards and sideways instead of in just one direction adds a sense of realism to the game. I would highly recommend this game to anyone interested in horses whether you have young children or not.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses
Posted 10/17/2006 by Barbara Lynn Henderson
Rating: 5

My 9 year old daughter loves playing this game with her friends.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Herd Your Horses Game
Posted 10/11/2006 by Shelley Axtell
Rating: 5

This is an excellent game for children and young teens. We gave it as a birthday present to our 13 year old granddaughter. It was her request. She had played it at a friend's house. Since she is a horse lover it appealed to her. It seems appropriate for older children and adults, as well. It is informative and fun!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hold Your Horses
Posted 11/26/2009 by Claudia Ganote
Rating: 5

Wonderful on many levels. Would like the game pieces to be sturdier and less sterile-looking; but, my daughter loves the game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

learning while playing
Posted 11/24/2009 by Carolyn Hart-Hazelwood - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The Herd Your Horses game was a birthday gift for my eight year old granddaughter who loves anything and everything about horses. She loves playing this game, and she is learning informative, interesting facts about horses during the process. Nana won points with that quality gift. Thanks for your "user friendly" website.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

First On-line shopping ever - 2 children's toys
Posted 1/9/2012 by Donna Mayo
Rating: 5

This review seems to be only for the Herd Your Horses game, but I will give other review here also: Herd Your Horses - I submitted on the Wizard the age of the child, 6, and gave interests. This game was chosen so I purchased. However, when I got it, it said it was for kid age of 8+. The game was not opened, and she didn't seem interested at all in it.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

good buy
Posted 12/28/2012 by Dorothy Breitenstein - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Purchased for a young girl who loves horses. She really enjoys playing the game.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/20/2012 by Brad Grier
Rating: 5

Not too hard to learn. Fit an 8 year old girl just right.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Herd Your Horses
Posted 12/6/2012 by Jeremy Donati
Rating: 5

Hasn't been given the gift yet, it's a Christmas present.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Chirstmas gift:)
Posted 11/21/2013 by shay isbel
Rating: 5

Unfortunately the two items we ordered from your company are Christmas gifts and have not been opened yet. Look forward to seeing my 7 year old open them though!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Herd Your Horses
Posted 3/11/2013 by Kathy Radovich
Rating: 5

I AM SORRY BUT I RETURNED THE PRODUCT ONLY BECAUSE MY GRANDDAUGHTER IS STUDDING FROGS IN SCHOOL SO I DECIDED THE "TADPOLE TO FROG" AQUARIUM FOR HER B~DAY GIFT.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02