Home > Toy Companies > ThinkFun > TipOver > Customer Reviews
TipOver
0

Customer reviews of TipOver by ThinkFun

Return to TipOver product information...

TipOver has been reviewed 39 times with an average rating of 4.49

Great Idea, Mediocre Execution
Posted 9/10/2009
Rating: 3

After enjoying several other ThinkFun puzzles (River Crossing Jr, Rush Hour, Chocolate Fix), we purchased TipOver. We were somewhat disappointed with this puzzle. The TipOver puzzle is a bit fussy to set up. Worse, if you realize that you've hit a dead end and need to change an earlier move, you can't just backtrack. Rather, you have to dump off all the pieces and start over. That gets tiresome. Rush hour is much more fun because you don't have to totally start over if you make a mistake. Chocolate Fix is much more fun as well, even though you do have to start over sometimes. (In Chocolate Fix if you've made a mistake, starting over is like wiping a slate clean, not like fussing through an elaborate set-up.) Although we typically enjoy spatial puzzles, TipOver just doesn't seem to work as well as it should to be satisfying. It would be much more fun as a computer game with a restart button, and we're not even fans of computer games!

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for TipOver
Posted 3/14/2008 by Angela Billmayer
Rating: 5

This game is extremely educational without the person even knowing that it is! This game teaches spacial relationships between objects as well as cause and effect. You need to be aware of several moves ahead- similar to playing chess. The different levels of difficulty make it fun for the whole family (ages 7 and up) to play.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of TipOver
Posted 12/26/2011 by Philip Schultz
Rating: 4

The instructions were a little difficult to understand but it does make my 12 yo think and he enjoys a good challenge.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for TipOver
Posted 1/20/2012 by Barbara Umbach
Rating: 5

great thinking game...we love it

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of TipOver
Posted 12/15/2011 by Kerry Morgan
Rating: 5

My boy loves this game. He first got to play this game when we were testing him for ADD/ADHD with his doctor. He was completely captivated. He's a thinker and loves to solve problem. He is only 5 yrs old so it took a few rounds for him to get it. Once he got going he was solving ones I couldn't even wrap my brain around. Love this little game!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A fun challenge for all ages
Posted 5/1/2011
Rating: 4

A fun game that is easy to play but sadly the directions are flawed. The directions are meant to be simple without many words but show a series of six pictures showing examples. Unfortunately in every single picture, an impossible move is shown. There is no way that a building could "tip over" and fall directly into the corner square. This error led us to play the game "wrong" for quite a while (tipping over the building then moving it back a square) only to have the answer sheet tell us we were wrong. If a building tips over and you do not move it back a square then there is absolutely no way it can occupy the corner spot from where it was tipped. Because every one of the examples shows it as so, this necessarily leads to confusion.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Gets one to think
Posted 4/13/2011 by Bobbi Dickinson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a very interesting game - good for one player. It encourages strategic thinking.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of TipOver
Posted 4/11/2011 by Kathleen Bushnell - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

I bought this for my students with special needs. Haven't tried it yet but expect it to be a hit like the other things I buy for them!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of TipOver
Posted 4/10/2011 by Kathleen Ketola
Rating: 5

Run a Latch Key Program- -- My oldest childran play the game everyday at least a couple times.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice puzzle game with plenty of challenge
Posted 4/6/2011 by Joseph Theby
Rating: 4

I am pleasantly surprised by this puzzle game. It's a nice variation on the marble tilt game concept. While my oldest boy (age 6) can't yet work out the higher difficulty puzzles, he is replaying the levels he can solve and even creating his own setups. The harder puzzles offer plenty of challenge for the adults. The toy comes in a handy travel bag and is a nice addition to our collection of puzzle type toys. Reasonably priced.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of TipOver
Posted 1/27/2011 by Natalya young
Rating: 4

this gift was for my 5 yr nephew, he called to tell me how wonderful this game is. His mom reports that it's a thinking game and he can play alone but also with others. Very entertaining. He loves it- already working on the expert level with a little help from his parents he reports.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of TipOver
Posted 11/23/2010 by Erin Waters
Rating: 5

This game allows for critical thinking. It has been helpful with problem solving and spatial awareness. The whole family has enjoyed playing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Kanoodle and Tipover games
Posted 3/10/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I purchased two gifts for my husband to help him to "reconnect" his brain following an embolic stroke. He loves Kanoodle! He is so fascinated by the challange of the Kanoodle puzzle, that he has yet to try the "Tipover" puzzle (but he assures me he will get to it). He is progressing nicely with the reconnection of his cognitive skills and your games are helping him to accomplish that. Thank you

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

7 year old LOVES it
Posted 1/19/2010 by Joshua Strauss
Rating: 4

My 7 year old boy loves this game, finds it challenging and really keeps him occupied for long stretches.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of TipOver
Posted 12/29/2009 by Margaret Parker
Rating: 3

Family members say they are not smart enough for this toy. I hope they will keep trying it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great game!
Posted 1/13/2009 by Lisa Bergquist
Rating: 5

This is an excellent brain game. It's fun for children as well as adults. If you leave it out on the table, no one can resist playing one more card. It's a fun way for a child to learn spacial skills as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tipover
Posted 8/19/2008
Rating: 4

I really like this game. It is great for the kids to use for critical thinking. I also like the information about the origin of the games

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Tip Over
Posted 1/17/2008 by Robert Vitale
Rating: 5

TipOver is one of many fantastic ThinkFun games. I also enjoy River Crossing and Rush Hour. But, I always go back to TipOver.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about TipOver
Posted 1/19/2007 by DB
Rating: 4

What a great product. I gave this to my 12 year old nephew and everyone from age 9 to 75 enjoys playing with this game. I love the fact that it is so easy for travel as well. It comes with a bag to put everything in and is small enough to pack anywhere. There are different levels so everyone can play with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of TipOver
Posted 1/10/2007 by MaryAnn McCann
Rating: 5

We really enjoyed the TipOver game. We played it at a friends house and immediately had to purchase it. We took it along on a scout trip and all the boys were waiting to take a turn to play it. I'm sure you'll be getting a few more new customers.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

TipOver
Posted 1/6/2007 by Scott Havice
Rating: 5

In a day where all things electronic rule, it is great to find a toy that my daughter will pick up over her GameBoy. I bought this for her, but truth be told...I wanted to play with it too! I hope another set of challenges is created!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Almost Like Chess
Posted 12/21/2006 by Kenneth Carper
Rating: 5

I say it is almost like chess because you have to think three to four moves ahead.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of TipOver
Posted 10/22/2006 by Ed Reingold
Rating: 5

A nice mathematical puzzle.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun Game!
Posted 10/18/2006 by Bryan Auer
Rating: 5

This toy puzzle is so much fun! I've had it for a few days now. It's challenging yet fun. I really enjoy figuring out the challenges. Usually it takes me about 5 minutes. I'm on Expert. It's also useful that it comes with a carry bag. The size of the game board is so convenient! I am only 9 years old!
Expert! At age 9? We are impressed, too!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

TipOver
Posted 9/7/2006 by Karen B.
Rating: 5

My 10 year old loves this puzzle. He plays with it in very creative ways, including making his own challenges and "cards" for others to try. It appeals to his interest in logic, and that aspect makes it fun for adults, too. We had it on a weekend trip with two families, and everyone was playing with it. A big thumbs up!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Simple concept, great puzzle
Posted 12/23/2005 by Mark Shumway
Rating: 4

The concept is easy enough for non-English speakers and children 5-6 to understand, but TipOver is very entertaining.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

TipOver Tipsy
Posted 9/8/2009 by Peter Birtolo - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Excellent puzzle. Problem completely understanding the directions. Two matters were not clear: 1 - Can the character "walk" along fallen towers or just hop? 2 - Does it matter what "order" is followed tumbling towers? It appears that sometimes the answers to both questions are affirmative, and if so, there are far too many simpler solutions than those given. The movement rules need clarification.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb01