Home > Toy Companies > U.S. Games Systems > Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks > Customer Reviews
Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
0

4 Star reviews of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks by Creative Whack

Return to Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks product information...

Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks has been reviewed 189 times with an average rating of 4.71

fun stand-by
Posted 1/5/2009 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

The Ball of Whacks is fun and a bit addictive, and is very versatile in making shapes and patterns (if multi-colored). It's the kind of toy you leave by the couch for the compulsive fiddler. More for quiet kids or adults, as pieces could easily get dispersed.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 4/2/2010
Rating: 4

Our 11 year old son has enjoyed this toy very much so far. It is creative and interesting. I wish there were a couple of extra pieces included in the set. He has lost one last night when the object he was making dropped from his hands and exploded in all directions. We are hoping we can find the missing piece.

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 6/29/2008 by Carly
Rating: 4

I am 9 and my brother is 6 and we both love playing with this. There are lots of different ways to put the ball together and take it apart. I think this makes a fun birthday gift and its great to take on the go. My teacher recommended it to me.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 4/28/2009
Rating: 4

Very neat. We bought it for our son's birthday and ended up playing with it. We will probably order another one for him. Neat design, neat concept. Only improvement would be stronger magnets or possibly a "rougher"/less slick plastic. Ball will often fly apart in many pieces when you try to remove pieces or pull/twist apart to build different designs. Would reccomend it as a gift.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/21/2010 by Amy Herrera
Rating: 4

It is a hit at my house!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 1/1/2012 by Samantha
Rating: 4

Really great toy for the whole family. Downside: pieces not magnetic enough to stay together all the time. They end up all over the place! I suggest that the supplier provides a container that you can keep the pieces in.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/1/2012 by Jasmin Daniels - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

Interesting but they like the Star Ball better

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

love it!
Posted 1/13/2012 by Trisha Fox
Rating: 4

This is an awesome toy! We got it for our kids for Christmas ages 11, 8, 5 and 3. We weren't sure which ones would like this toy, but it turned out that our 5 yr old loves this the best! He enjoys breaking it and putting the ball back together. The older kids enjoy trying other things with it. Great toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

magnetic brain teaser
Posted 12/25/2011 by Joyce Reed - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

My grandson figured out quickly (age 9) how to put this together, then seemed to loose interest. His older sister got a kick out of making some of the shapes in the booklet. I suspect, once Christmas gifts are boring, my grandson will return to the gift and make additional shapes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/21/2011 by claire carter
Rating: 4

I bought this for my construction minded 6 year old and he has played with it multiple times, i also used it with some of my pediatric therapy patients, some of my older boys with autism have also enjoyed it and I like the fine motor manipulation, in hand skills and perceptual skills that it helps to develop

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/21/2011 by Rolla Bradley - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

This takes some creativity and time. It is a blast to play with.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ball of whacks
Posted 12/13/2011 by Braggi Bamberger
Rating: 4

great thinking toy, it even challenge me, I figure it out by now, but it was a hard one to crack.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

cool!
Posted 8/31/2011 by susan ratajik - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

this is a great toy for young and old! awesome to keep little hands busy...

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Nice, intelligent toy
Posted 6/23/2011 by Beatriz Jimenez-Sanz
Rating: 4

This is a toy that my son saw in the New York Library. There it was like $10 more expensive. The ball is a really creative toy, multicolor is better.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Neat toy
Posted 12/30/2010
Rating: 4

I bought this toy for my 14 year old daughter. She loves Bucky balls, and this is at least a bit similar. It is a neat toy. She has played with it a bit, but I know that she will pick it up and put it down for years, as she has with other similar toys. My guess is she will also use it when we take road trips. The toy was rather expensive, in my opinion, but it is made of good quality materials and the magnets are strong. I bought a solid colored one, but my daughter told me she wished it had been the multicolored one because the different colors can play into different optical effects. I like this toy in particular because you can sit down with it either with a specific intent of what you want the outcome to be, or you can sit down with it and just mess around and see what you can get.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Guilty pleasure
Posted 12/29/2010
Rating: 4

I admit that I bought this one for myself. (24 yr old female) I call it my coffee table toy. It's something I can pick up and play with while watching tv or something guests can play with. It truly does promote creativity.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/26/2010
Rating: 4

My eight year old loves this toy. He always played with it in a toy store we used to go to. He likes just making basic shapes with it now, but I think it is the sort of toy that will last for many, many years, as it can be much more complicated as well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/21/2010 by Teresa Knifley
Rating: 4

Two of these were ordered for Christmas for 2 Boys age 11 and 12. They were a hit! I hate it when I flop! The older kids where jealous and waited impatiently for a chance at it. Luckily there were 2 opened at the same time!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/19/2010 by Lindsey Seydel
Rating: 4

maybe you could try to find a safer version for more ages

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 1/18/2010 by SR
Rating: 4

This is my second ball of whacks, and indeed, it's a whack of fun for all ages, from kids to parents to grandparents.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ball of whacks
Posted 1/1/2010 by tronda
Rating: 4

Great Fun! Can spend hours creating with this toy. Even grandma liked this one!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

unusual present
Posted 12/10/2009
Rating: 4

highly unusual toy. It seems like good quality.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 11/16/2009 by Katrina
Rating: 4

This is challenging and fun for kids of all ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/6/2009 by Sharon Wilson
Rating: 4

My grandson has managed to make a number of creative patterns using one Ball of Whacks and this second Ball of Whacks will no doubt increase and challenge his creativity further.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun toy
Posted 11/17/2008 by Alissa Jones
Rating: 4

This is a fun toy for creative people, but it is probably more enjoyable for kids

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/13/2008 by Austin Brown
Rating: 4

Magnets need to be stronger. Higher N**

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for kids and adults
Posted 6/10/2008 by John
Rating: 4

I have a red one already for myself as a creativity toy, I bought the multi-color one for my young daughter who loves to make different shapes with it.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks review
Posted 1/4/2011 by Sheila Weber
Rating: 4

Fun toy. This kids are enjoying making up new patterns.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

BALL OF WHACKS
Posted 1/3/2011
Rating: 4

great for imagination and creativity

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very nice!
Posted 3/12/2010 by Robyn Price
Rating: 4

These were great. My five year old likes it, and I think will grow to appreciate it more as time goes on. The magnets don't chip and are a good strength.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

annoyingly fascinating
Posted 3/11/2010 - OTHER
Rating: 4

This is a very clever and quite beautiful little thing. The magnets aren't strong enough to resist much hand pressure so complex pointy structures can fall apart - but that just means you get to play some more and recreate and explore. Hard to put down. And it looks so intriguing just sitting there - so then you play some more... Perhaps a little pricey, but a really neat little thing.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/27/2007 by Julie Matternas
Rating: 4

I bought the Ball of Whacks for my 10-year old son, who likes it, and my 6-year old daughter keeps trying to take it and play with it. I love that the ball is easily re-assembled, so it's not intimidating to try to create new things for fear of not being able to put it back together.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/3/2013 by Daniel Otto
Rating: 4

Grandson likes it a lot - but unknown to me already had two others. He said he could now make bigger combinations of all three.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/8/2012
Rating: 4

Crazy time consuming!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

ball of whacks
Posted 1/10/2013
Rating: 4

fantastic challenging item... keeps teenager occupied using their brain, problem solving

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 1/2/2013 by Sara
Rating: 4

My 8 year old daughter saw this online and requested it for Christmas. She often plays with it, as well as her 12 year old brother and her parents. It's fun to see how many designs you can create and we like the way the pieces snap together magnetically. It comes with a manuel with many pictures of shapes you can make, but unfortunately there are no instructions on how to make them. This has been a little frustrating, but that's not necessarily a bad thing - makes the kids work their brain harder to figure it out.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03