Home > Toy Companies > U.S. Games Systems > Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks > Customer Reviews
Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
0

5 Star reviews of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks by Creative Whack

Return to Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks product information...

Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks has been reviewed 190 times with an average rating of 4.71

Great for adult fidgets!
Posted 10/31/2008 by Angela
Rating: 5

I got this toy for my husband who likes to fidget with creative toys. I had previously bought him GeoMags (he loved those), but the balls would fall on the hardwood floor leaving numerous dents, so they have been put away. I bought him a Ball of Whacks figuring it might be a good substitute. The pieces are surprisingly light, so no damage to the floor. :) He has had them a little over 3 months and still enjoys playing with them. Also, the pieces always end up together in some interesting shape or sculpture that looks tidy on the coffee table. We still love GeoMags. I think GeoMags have more design potential – including groupings that allow a fidget to spin one piece under another. Also GeoMags have stronger magnets that make a satisfying snap when you put the pieces together. Ball of Whacks does not give the same satisfying snap when you put the pieces together and sometimes certain ‘sculpures’ fall apart because the magnetic hold is not strong enough. However, Ball of Whacks is a fun toy that looks tidy and does not dent hardwood floors or roll under furniture. Also, I can’t imagine a child swallowing the pieces as they are fairly large – I hear this can be an issue with the GeoMags.

24 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/15/2009 by Dione E. Zale
Rating: 5

Great for all ages...I am 77 years old and am taking an award-winning class for seniors to improve their memory, we are playing with it in class and I am sure that will result in more orders for you. When I first got it, my two grandsons, 8- and 13-years old and I enjoyed it together. I am a trained neuropsychologist and enjoyed watching their reactions as well as the sheer fun we had playing together. I would be very interested in being kept up to date on any other brain-stimulating gadgets you come up with.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/4/2010 by Marjorie Fujioka - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

For the child who likes thinking with imagination

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This Toy Rocks!!!!
Posted 4/26/2010 by Luke Hanson
Rating: 5

I am really enjoying this product!!!!! It is really great for picking up and messing around with when you get stumped when writing a paper or working out a math problem. It is a lot of fun and I would recommend it to anyone

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of fun with "Ball of Whacks"
Posted 4/26/2010 by Carol
Rating: 5

High quality toy. At first I felt the price was a bit too much. But after checking all over the internet and after playing with it, I realized what a great deal it really was. Especially if you are looking for the multicolored one, it is always higher priced than the solid ones.. (It adds even more fun to make patterns using the colors, than if it was solid red or blue.) Hasnt lost its entertainment quality. It will last forever because there are many books you can get to keep it interesting. Yeah, definitly worth the price. I leave it sitting out and someone always grabs it to play.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

BEST TOY
Posted 11/28/2011 by Jennifer Bailey
Rating: 5

We discovered the Ball of Whacks at a therapy session. My son fell head over heels in love with it, he couldn't put it down during the whole session. I ordered it for Christmas many years ago, and today, at age 13 it is still is favorite thing to do. My 7 yr old daughter discovered it out one day, and began playing with it...So this year, for Christmas...she'll be getting her own!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/8/2011 by yael bloom
Rating: 5

My 8 y/o son has had lots of fun playing with this. He made many different shapes and structures. It is almost like a new toy each time he plays with it because he can change it so many ways.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My 13 year old LOVES this!
Posted 3/23/2013 by Kym
Rating: 5

We have always bought Lego's for our son for his birthday and holidays in the past, but this year I went in a different direction and bought a variety of gifts from Fat Brain. He loves all of them! This Ball of Whacks, though doesn't leave him! It travels the house with him, goes on van rides, goes to the doctor, etc...He loves manipulating it and even said it was better than Legos. That amazed me! I love it because it's almost impossible to lose the parts. I'm looking for an excuse to buy him another one.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome
Posted 4/24/2012 by B Chris YOUNG
Rating: 5

Ten Year old boy very much into inventions loves this. Took it on vacation to play with in the car, too. Very creative.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super cool toy
Posted 12/22/2011 by Jenise Jensen - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

I bought this toy as a therapeutic device for my office. All ages and kinds of kids love it and like to play with it and create different arrangements. It is also a useful distraction device, as well as a useful tool to entice kids to participate in treatment. Love this toy!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great fidget for teenagers
Posted 6/15/2011 by Meg
Rating: 5

My 15-year-old and 13-year-old sons love these balls. We had one, but I had to buy another one so each has his own. They fiddle with them all day long -- they are a great and quiet fidget that is acceptable to teenagers. They also like to put the two balls together (one blue, one black), combining pieces in different color combinations and creations.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 3/24/2011 by Carolyn Johannes - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

folks in the house wait their turn to play with it or it disappears for days at a time- usually into someone's room!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/31/2010 by Desert Kay Cowart, Mrs. - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

I find it to be very intertaining and the booklet is quite informative. I purchased one for my husband (67) and one for my youngest son (14) in black and blue. They love them and have combined them for even more madness including writing Merry Christmas on my stainless fridge. They would probably "play" with them more often, but the toys live downstairs and we live upstairs. We live in Mexico and your shipping is also a blessing.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/21/2010
Rating: 5

I ordered one for my friend's 7 year old and he loves it! My 9 year old niece got a hold of it and wouldn't put it down so I ordered a second one for her. My 5 year old nephew loves playing with the one I got for my niece so now I need to buy a third!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/18/2010 by Kathy V. - FRIEND
Rating: 5

I had bought a blue one months ago and came back to buy a red one and a black one so I could explore more options for configurations. I love all of the possibilities of symmetry and how well the magnets make the pieces stay put. This is a favorite toy. It lives by the TV and gets more attention than the TV.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/1/2010 by Cathy OBrien
Rating: 5

My 6 and 10 year spent hours fiddling with this toy. My husband and I enjoy as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Unique toy!
Posted 1/27/2010 by S. Mohammed
Rating: 5

I got this for my six year old but my older kids play with it as well, its something very new and unique and my children have a great time trying out new shapes and designs. I really like the fact that they are magnetic and when u make it back into a ball, all th pieces are securely stuck together. A great concept!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 11/10/2009 by Tom Miller
Rating: 5

I have a 14-year old who asked for Ball of Whacks and X-ball. Unlike most things like this, he has never tired of them, and builds really unusual and creative objects, some stable, some fragile. I got him two more X-ball sets to build larger objects, and just now got three more Ball of Whacks at his request for a birthday present so he could build larger objects with these pieces. He uses both kinds together in some constructions. They aren't cheap, but it's nice to find something he doesn't tire of.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pretty Cool!
Posted 11/5/2009 by allen
Rating: 5

The only complaint my boy had was that he only got one. This really stimulates his creativity. His favorite color is blue but he thought that if he had one of the multicolored balls then he could really make some interesting creations.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Lots of Fun!
Posted 10/18/2009 by LLee
Rating: 5

My 5 year old daughter played with this at a friends house. She loved it and I was amazed at how quick she was able to put it back together (the multi-colored one). I bought her one and am putting it away for Christmas. I think she will enjoy picking it up and seeing what different patterns and shapes she can make with it! I think I'll even enjoy it too!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/15/2009 by CJ - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Hours of fun for many ages. The grandkids (and their parents) stood in line to play . . . so of course, I had to order a couple more so more could play at a time! Expensive but worth it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 10/13/2009 by T. L. A.
Rating: 5

This is a really fascinating magnetic toy that keeps my 8 year old occupied and happy for long periods of time. It encourages his creativity and working knowledge of geometry. The book that comes with it has a lot of great ideas about other uses for the Ball of Whacks, too. Stress relief, getting your brain out of a non-productive loop, etc. My husband has enjoyed it as much as my son.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/13/2009 by Dan
Rating: 5

Ordered the Ball of Whacks after finding one on a co-worker's desk, and WOW - this has to be one of the single most addicting and satisfying "office toys" i've ever come across. The pieces feel perfect and the magnets are strong enough to make the pieces join together in a very satisfying fashion. Play with one for just a few minutes and you'll find yourself hooked. The only downside? At $30-35 it's a little pricey.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/18/2008 by Laura
Rating: 5

This is a very good thought process toy. It is fun to create shapes from your imagination! My son loves it and sometimes I even get a chance to play with it and have a lot of fun!

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good 'Busy' Toy for Grown-up Kids
Posted 6/17/2008 by Leslie Kenny
Rating: 5

We bought this as a Father's Day gift and were surprised at how addictive it was for all of us. There is something about feeling the shapes in your fingers, hearing them slot into place and manipulating them so that they stick in different configurations that is very compelling.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 6/27/2012 by Mary McQueen
Rating: 5

This toy is cool! The kids could play with it at different levels of skills. The younger kids loved the magnetic component . The older liked the challenge of making new and unusual shapes with the pieces.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

This is a Christmas gift for one of my grand-daughters.
Posted 10/24/2012 by Sharlene Tans - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Again, a good travelling toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/20/2012 by Jane Marie Sulzle - OTHER
Rating: 5

I work with children all day in my office and this toy was a huge hit. They used it very creatively and couldn't put it down. I have other offices and will be purchasing this toy for them as well. Great toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 4/13/2012 by Stephen Compton - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Definitely brings out the sculpture artist in all of us. When I play with the Ball of Whacks, I like to think of myself as an Abstract Expressionist Artist. The possibilities really are endless. The best part is that the ball can be played with anywhere, home, car, office...you name it. *As a side note, it's really fun to combine this product with other creative magnet toys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 4/2/2012 by Carol johnson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Great for keeping focus while on a less than exciting conference call!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Whack-y and fun!
Posted 3/19/2012 by S. Arroyo
Rating: 5

This was purchased for gifted students ages 5-11. They love it. They've enjoyed making the shapes in the booklet, putting it back together, and allowing their imaginations to run wild and create new structures.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 3/7/2012 by Diane Reckless - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

My students and colleagues cannot put down the Ball of Whacks. Excellent manipulative for tinkerers from 6 - 46 years old.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/16/2012 by vicki schmer
Rating: 5

My 9-year-old LOVES this toy. It is portable so can be taken anywhere for some fun play time. It is problem solving and puzzle solving in a tactile toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome creative toy!
Posted 2/7/2012 by Patricia
Rating: 5

This toy has endless possibilities!! My 9 year old son loves it. He is a creative fidgeter who likes to manipulate things and this is perfect. My 11 year old daughter who shys away from building toys cannot resist taking it apart and creating different things

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fascinating
Posted 12/31/2011 by Lillian Pluta
Rating: 5

This is a fascinating toy with a lot of possibilities. It's fun to take apart and explore all the possible configurations. It was bought for my fifteen year old son, but other members of the family and visitors are enjoying it. I'm planning on buying a second one. This also makes a good fidgit for kids with ADHD or other special needs.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Suzann'e Ball of Whacks Review
Posted 12/27/2011 by Suzanne Hill
Rating: 5

My daughter loves this toy. She's even played with it over her iPad at times. She's enjoys building different objects with it and has started reading the booklet that came with it. One of her favorite Christmas toys! And what a bargain!!!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/19/2011 by BRENT K POHLMAN
Rating: 5

Great for older kids!! 16 and he loves it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/18/2011 by Kim Risner - OTHER
Rating: 5

I purchased all of my Fat Brain toys for children of families I sponsored at Christmas thru a local organization known as Angel Baskets, so I don't know the children who received them. But I was impressed w/ the quality of the packaging and the timing of delivery AND MOST IMPORTANTLY THE TOYS WERE MADE IN THE USA

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/31/2011 by Mom of 4
Rating: 5

The Ball of Whacks is addicting to play with. My son brought it to several Christmas parties after receiving it for a gift. Many, many people picked it up to try to figure out new configurations.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 9/1/2011 by JCR
Rating: 5

This product has ben a great brain teaser for me and my students. The multi-color ball allows for a challenging game and the students prefer to place the pieces (whacks) in any shape besides a ball.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/8/2011 by SHIVIKA GOVENDER
Rating: 5

she was very excited nad could not wait for the toy to arrive. Plays with it constantly

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 7/26/2011
Rating: 5

Love this product, bought it for my 11 year old son, but my 62 year dad would not put it down.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/30/2010 by julie
Rating: 5

All ages like this toy, from my 8 year old to my 45 year old. Its a very simple toy with a lot of fun. We would purchase it again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My son loves the Ball of Whacks!
Posted 12/27/2010
Rating: 5

My 5 year old son loves this toy. He is fascinated by magnets and magnetic toys and this one is great!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/25/2010 by John in PA - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Grandson loved it and continues to creat shapes with it. The operative word is 'create'. It is what we had hoped for, something that stimulates creativity, is non electronic, and apparently will maintain his interest for some time going forward.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/21/2010 by Patricia Dexter
Rating: 5

I bought this for my 7 yr. old grandson. He is a very bright child, and loves things like this. This is a perfect toy for him. He really loves it. He had for the 5 hr. trip to my house for Christmas, and it kept him busy the entire time. He got here today, and he has thanked me 4 times since they arrived.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/19/2010
Rating: 5

If your older kid loves legos, they'll enjoy this toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/16/2010 by Barbara P Graham - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

These are Christmas presents and haven't been played with yet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very successful gift
Posted 3/7/2010 by Bliss
Rating: 5

The gift was given to a boy turning 8. According to his mom it was an immediate favorite, not only with him but with his brother turning 5. They played with it, took it to school, etc. The mom doesn't like her kids to have lots and lots of "stuff", but she seemed pleased with this addition to the boys toy collection

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Whack-y
Posted 3/1/2010 by Sarah Wolfe
Rating: 5

Got this for my 8 year old nephew. He loves it. It definitely fosters creativity, both in terms of visual creations, logistical placement of pieces and the physics of figuring out how they can magnetically work together. He put the pieces together in numerous ways. I encouraged him to look through the booklet that came with the toy - a great addition to further their learning and get their creative juices flowing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 3/1/2010 by mary ann kelly
Rating: 5

For a gift to be given later

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/26/2010 by John
Rating: 5

My curiosity about this product was peaked based on Roger's book "A Whack on the Side of the Head." I enjoy thinking but sometimes feel brain-locked and have tried to use different tools to challenge and foster my thoughts. This product (in part because it is new) seems to aid in fostering change of perspective. I was a college athlete so using my hands while I think is very helpful. My son has also loved playing with the toy. We have had special dad/son time of exploring different shapes and such. Maybe one day he can explain to me in more detail the principle of the golden ratio!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great mind toy!
Posted 2/17/2010 by Carlos Peres
Rating: 5

Very entertaining toy, family and I have spent hours playing with it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/7/2010 by pauline gennis
Rating: 5

I love the Roger Von Oech's Ball of Whacks. I ordered only one and I wish I ordered a second one. I have a very bright multiage class of Pre-K and Kindergartners. This group been together since infancy. ( my school is from infants to Kindergarten). They take turn putting the Ball of Whacks together. I have heard children use the words : " I discovered that.." "I am figuring out..." "it helps me concentrate." "I have been waiting for my turn to use it"

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Design
Posted 1/7/2010 by Joseph - OTHER
Rating: 5

This toy requires quiet time to explore the possibilities; it was not well suited to the insanity of Christmas day. However, as the day quieted down, new designs started to emerge. I am hoping that it becomes one of her lifetime favorites.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Multi-generational toy
Posted 1/4/2010
Rating: 5

My nine year old, my fifteen year old and my husband enjoyed playing with this toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/29/2009 by Mom
Rating: 5

Best gift of 2009 Christmas. My 12 year old son has not put it down for more than a few minutes at a time. He likes to fiddle with it. It comes with a good instruction book. To his disapointment, he sometimes finds it in his 9 year old sister's room. We may get one for her birthday. I would purchase this item again and will purchase for gifts.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Wacks
Posted 12/27/2009 by Karyn of Vermont
Rating: 5

We purchased 2 of these magnetic balls- while they seem a bit costly for magnets, they are well worth it. We have had just about every age range of guests, including a visually impaired person, to our home pick them up and reassemble the ball or some other contraption. We have had other magnet sets (I can't recall the brands) but this one seemed to be more suited toward older kids (and adults). The ball is smaller than I imagined but very fun and entertaining!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/16/2009 by Theresa Lim
Rating: 5

Have not opened the toys yet but they appear to be of high quality and the price was appropriate. The survey below was a guess of how the toys will be used.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent product that all ages can enjoy
Posted 12/9/2009 by Mike Nerenberg
Rating: 5

The toy is very good it has kept both of my boys (4) and (6) very occupied for hours. Both my wife and I have both tried to assemble many of the shapes in the manual. The manual could be a little clearer with some of the shapes, but all in all it is a great toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Whacky but great
Posted 11/23/2009
Rating: 5

Clever mind-bender. I bought this for an adult -- grownups need toys, too. I haven't tried it with youngsters but it seems good for a range of ages.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 10/7/2009 by Amy Cieslicki
Rating: 5

Again, Christmas gift...not sure yet!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 5/30/2009 by Mark M Turnbull
Rating: 5

The Ball of Whacks is great and used by the whole family (it's our second) but mostly by a 17-year old girl who has turned it into an art form.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 5/24/2009 by Barbara Dobbertin
Rating: 5

Child loved the toy!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 4/30/2008 by ann Ceraldi
Rating: 5

Our entire family has enjoyed playing with this--the 19 year old college kid to the second graders. It's fun and relaxing. I did notice that at least one of the figures in the book--the "articulated" star I believe it's called--needs TWO balls of whacks to complete. Fortunately, I had ordered two. You should also!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Favorite!
Posted 2/26/2008 by Nancy W.
Rating: 5

My husband found the Ball of Whacks, and bought one to give to my daughter's friend. The toy was such a hit that my daughter decided to use her precious savings to buy one for herself. She loves it, and it seems to be an endless source of entertainment. I like that it develops spatial reasoning and gives her a chance to think about symmetry. The multi-color version seems by far the most interesting it has pieces in red, blue, and yellow, providing lots of opportunities for pattern-making. The magnetic pieces are sturdy and stick together with a very satisfying solidity.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 1/18/2008 by Joanne
Rating: 5

The Ball of Whacks is a very interesting toy. It is very hard to put down. Great for any age or ability. It's one of the few toys that is still played with daily.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/27/2007 by Lara Wolfe
Rating: 5

My 12 year old son loves it. Every time I turn around I see it in his hands. I haven't had a chance to try it out. I'm going to wait until he's asleep tonight! Don't tell him!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy For Kids And Parents
Posted 12/27/2007 by Rachel Honoway
Rating: 5

This is a really cool toy. I bought one each for two 5 year olds and a 6 year old. The boys like taking them apart and building lop-sided objects by just sticking peices together. My son keeps having me "come look what I made". My husband and I have found ourselves playing with it as well, trying to master the shapes found in the book.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/25/2007 by Alison MacWilliams
Rating: 5

Addictive. My 11 year old nephew loves it. The rest of the family kept swiping it to fidget with. If you don't like your creation, drop it. Explodes very satisfyingly! Much to the delight of even smaller members of the family.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/16/2007 by Meredith Morrow
Rating: 5

My 4 year old can't leave it alone. I am amazed at the things she can make out of it. Just by using her imagination. It's great for hand/eye coordination.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/5/2007 by Sophie J. Keefer
Rating: 5

Great toy that I first saw at the MoMA in NY but they only had red or blue. Multicolor is more interesting.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 11/15/2007 by Patricia Shapiro
Rating: 5

My college son loves the Ball of whacks. He has been using it for stress relief. He is constantly creating new shapes, trying to imitate some of the organic chemistry bonds and compounds that he is studying. I don't know, he is way beyond me. I am thinking of getting a second ball so that he can create big, better shapes.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Coolest Thing Ever!
Posted 8/20/2007 by Stacie Wood
Rating: 5

This is way cool! I bought it for my son who has ADHD and finding things like this that focus his energy and nurture his creative side are really calming to him. It is so fun that I want one too!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Therapy Hit
Posted 8/1/2007
Rating: 5

I am a Clinical Psychologist and bought the Ball of Whacks to include in the toy options for children with whom I work. I was surprised to find that this toy became the favorite choice of the children in very quick order. Each child plays with the toy in a different manner, some to express feelings and ideas, others to create shapes, others to hide and find pieces. Furthermore, I often leave created shapes intact and adults become intrigued by the changes they see in configuration. By the way, I sometimes play with the Ball of Whacks myself, when I have a free hour!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 3/16/2010 by Sandra Drury
Rating: 5

My 12 year old son can't put this toy down. It is an excellent way to foster creativity and an all around great way to occupy inquisitive hands!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

The more the better
Posted 5/9/2013 by Dave Popple - OTHER
Rating: 5

The more of these I have, the more creative things I am putting together. I bought them as an object lesson for an innovation workshop and have been playing with them ever since

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/10/2007 by Erika Arens
Rating: 5

Love the toy. Very fascinating to play with. I bought it for my son. My husband and I opened it up to fiddle around with it ourselves before wrapping it up for him! I am only dissapointed that it is multi colored. I prefer the solid red and thought that is what I had ordered. I think the different colors detract from the geometric shapes a little.

5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 6/28/2009 by Linda Kuhns - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

An entire evening of fun for two very bright boys aged 7 and 9.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift For Guys, Adults, Creatives, Kids
Posted 1/25/2008 by arita wong
Rating: 5

Everyone was intrigued by it, and many played with it immediately, making some of the designs in the book. The boys age 10-12 keep playing with it at home, but mom says it was hard to do some designs because of the negative magnetic force. Better to have 2 sets to play with. I like the snap action when a piece clicks into place. I left it on a table, everyone reaches for it.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roger Von Oech's Ball Of Whacks
Posted 12/30/2007 by Jeanine Dickman
Rating: 5

Much fun! I bought it for my fidgety husband and he is enjoying it very much.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Addictive!
Posted 12/27/2007 by Robbin Thornton
Rating: 5

I purchased a Ball of Whacks for each of my two children (ages 9 and 10). Even with everything else that they received, this one has been pulled out more often than anything. Interestingly, when it was set down, it was usually picked up by one of the adults.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/27/2007 by Donald Jaeger
Rating: 5

The product was well made. A little pricey. Durable. I was not disappointed in its quality.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/27/2007 by Lark
Rating: 5

My 7 and 9 year old have been pulling apart, dropping and reconfiguring since they received the Ball of Whacks! The adults in the family have been seen playing with it and reading the Creativity course.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/16/2007 by Patricia Winkler - TEACHER
Rating: 5

We couldn't keep our hands off of it. Great product!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Creative Tool
Posted 12/10/2007 by John Robinson III
Rating: 5

This item induces unrestrictive thinking. It's just fun to putz around with.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/3/2007
Rating: 5

Great toy.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Whacky fun
Posted 11/19/2007 by A. Casselman
Rating: 5

The ball of whacks is a lot of fun. My 9 year old plays with it in the car on long trips. It is easy to use and keeps him entertained.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Multi Color Ball of Whacks
Posted 11/19/2007 by James B Whitehead
Rating: 5

Great conversation piece and invites creativity. Who knows how it will end up on your desk next!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My Students Speak
Posted 10/9/2007 by Dorothy Bukantz
Rating: 5

One of my students says-"I like the ball because you can make a lot of stuff with it. It's cool and it has magnets. You can find a lot of stuff, like a star. " Their only complaint is that you only have red. They want to mix colors. Some of them even like it better than Burst, up until now the favorite toy.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Awesome Toy
Posted 9/9/2007 by Natalie Hamilton
Rating: 5

My son, age 11, plays with it non-stop. On the rare occasion he puts it down, it is immediately picked up by my 6 or 8 year old. I am amazed at all of the different designs you can create. This is a great toy to keep your child busy on long trips or time when they have to wait for long periods.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 8/23/2007 by Sarah
Rating: 5

I bought this for my husband to take to work. He says that no one seems to be able to come into his office and not pick it up.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Balls of Whack
Posted 6/18/2007 by Parker Kuldau
Rating: 5

Cool, awesome, neat, terrific, a blast to play with! I have been a big fan of Geomags and have more Geomag pieces than I should probably admit to. Now I have a toy that competes with Geomag for creativity and fun. I just need to decide if I'm going to purchase just one more set or several so that I'll have more pieces to create with! I'm definitely a 'Fat Brainer'.

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 2/1/2013 by Paula
Rating: 5

Great product!!! Such a neat toy with endless possibilities!!!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/9/2012 by Michael Leonard
Rating: 5

Bought for Christmas after son played with it multiple times at a friend's home. Fun to put together, but even more fun to break apart agin and again and redesigning unusual configurations. Magnets inside the ball make this toy a winner!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/2/2012 by Kay Howard
Rating: 5

challenged an exceptionally intelligent child. excellent product

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Love at First sight.
Posted 11/27/2012 by Dru Faith
Rating: 5

I bought this as a Christmas gift but did so because he fell in love with it at the psychologist's office. The first words out of his mouth every time he goes there is "Can I play with that ball?"

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Funs toy for the office
Posted 3/31/2014 by Ernest Sorochan
Rating: 5

Great product. Everyone picks it up and does not put it down.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Roger Oetker's Ball of Whacks
Posted 1/9/2014 by Nancy Bevilacqua - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Very creative toy for a very creative boy!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/28/2013 by Susan
Rating: 5

Purchased as a stocking stuffer for my 14-year-old. She has enjoyed putting it together and reconfiguring it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 7/6/2013 by Mary Patino - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

They loved it and keep playing with it.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun like Lego
Posted 10/9/2012 by Katrina - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My son (6) got this for his birthday from his Mamu. He loves it, and it has provided a LOT of hours of entertainment. His older brother (8.5) also loves it... declaring it, "My favorite toy, aside from Lego." That's the highest honor a toy can have at our house. Thanks Fat Brain, and Thanks Mamu!

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 7/25/2013 by Julie Moeller
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my son turning 12. He wanted to play with it as soon as he opened it. Then it took awhile to redirect his attention to his remaining presents! When he did, his older brother & father took turns with it. When he got it back from them, he took it to bed with him!

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Ball of Whacks
Posted 7/3/2014 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

I bought one of these for each of my kids (ages 8 & 12) for a long road trip. It was in their hands CONSTANTLY. They had contests of who could build something faster, they would put the pieces together to make one large model, or sometimes it was just something to fiddle with while looking out the window. Make sure you buy each kid their own, because sharing is not an option with this one!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Whack a Ball Wonderfulness
Posted 4/12/2014 by ANDREW M GOBEL
Rating: 5

I was very pleased with the quality of this product. The plastic is a good quality and texture for this product and the magnets that are inside each piece are strong but not too strong and not too weak.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/26/2013 by Judy B
Rating: 5

Lots of fun, purchased for my 8 year old, his 29 year old brother couldn't put it down

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 11/18/2013 by Sue Austin - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 2 granddaughter's ages 9 and 6 were interested with the ball. They immediately started taking the pieces apart. . The older one took the instruction book and started reading then put it aside and started trying making "star" shapes. The younger one just experimented with the pieces to see what they would do. They worked together showing each other and me the shapes they made. they probably played with the ball for 45 minutes. We were also working with magnets during the earlier part of the girl's visit so they were really interested in that.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 1/24/2013 by Glenda Baucom - OTHER
Rating: 5

I purchased this for my 11 year old grandson. He loved this item. It was one of his favorite items.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Makes you think!
Posted 12/25/2012 by Katrina Marino
Rating: 5

Received as a gift. It was a huge hit at a party. It is challenging even for an adult. For a kid, it may be a bit too hard, but it was fun working with the kiddo.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

So Fun!
Posted 12/21/2012
Rating: 5

This was given to a high energy 6 year old boy and he loved it! Actually the whole family loved it. All of the kids played with a few pieces for a while. It it so easy to reassemble into a ball. I think he loves that feeling of a quick accomplishment. A person feels very accomplished solving a Rubik's cube, but it takes a lot of learning and practice to be able to do that. This toy doesn't really requite any learning or practice. It fosters creativity while giving you that feeling of accomplishment associated with a puzzle.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Roger von Oech's Ball of Whacks
Posted 12/15/2012 by Deborah A Lapeyre - CO-WORKER
Rating: 5

This was no purchased for a child, but for my office. We have two whacks now and build all the time! Great fidget toy!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Can't tell you anything yet!
Posted 11/12/2008 by Victoria W. Clark
Rating: 5

Sorry, folks--The things I ordered are for Christmas/birthday presents and haven't been tested yet... But I'll try and let you know after the holidays. Everything looks good, anyway--and I'm happy to have found your site.

6 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03