Home > Toy Companies > Zometool > Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit > Customer Reviews
Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit
0

5 Star reviews of Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit by Zometool

Return to Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit product information...

Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit has been reviewed 33 times with an average rating of 4.73

Geometry comes alive
Posted 7/30/2009 by Richard A Libby
Rating: 5

Back in college I was introduced to Coexeter's work on polytopes and thought the world needed a product, "tinker toys for adults," that would allow one to construct Platonic solids and projections of higher dimensional polytopes. A recent internet search on "120 cell" (one of the 6 regular 4-D polytopes) came up with a site showing the construction using this product, so I ordered it and spent the better part of my free time over the following week building various polytopes. The parts are well constructed and well designed, and the Creator 4 kit had enough parts to conduct a number of geometry "experiments" that allowed for quick learning. I thoroughly enjoy this product.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fantastic for Exploring 3D Geometry
Posted 2/7/2006 by Dale Batson
Rating: 5

I bought this set for exploring the worlds of polyhedra and minimal surfaces (with bubbles), and though I'm just getting started, I'm really impressed with the quality of the Zome system. I suggest getting something like the "Large Infinite Divider Box" from the Container Store for organizing the pieces, since the storage box that comes with this kit doesn't include a sorting tray. I also recommend getting the "Zome Geometry" book, as the included "manual" is very brief. You might also want to pickup some Half-Green and Half-Blue struts from zometool.com to supplement the struts included in this kit. Overall, I am delighted with this product and I recommend it for all "kids" of all ages.

10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Zome - Awesome
Posted 4/14/2009 by Jael - OTHER
Rating: 5

The coolest, most versatile construction kit EVER!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

amazing product
Posted 10/1/2009 by RB - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

It's expensive, but fantastic for building models, conducting explorations, or just having fun!

9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fast service, great product and price
Posted 9/3/2009 by Elizabeth Knees
Rating: 5

I bought the ZomeTools for my math class. Now if I can only keep my reading class away from them...The ZomeTool website provides a free downloadable manual of lessons to teach math concepts at a variety of levels. I've allowed free play for a little over a week, and now the kids will use them in directed ways to learn and reinforce math concepts. They love the expanded kit with the greens.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Building Product
Posted 2/1/2006 by Thomas Affinito
Rating: 5

I first bought some small Zome building kits (the DNA, 5th Element, and Alien Virus) at an after-Xmas sale for New Years presents for my nephews...I had a lot of fun building them with the kids. I later picked up an Adventurer set also during a sale, and after learning about the system through the internet I became intrigued enough to bring them to work (I'm a software engineer). The Advanced Math Kit is a great resource to really explore complex models (from the Zome Geometry book and the internet); what's great about all the pieces is that you can build many different models without having to disassemble some to reuse their pieces. The plastic box has limited value; the pieces are stored in baggies, and the box has no shape sorter so it is simply a way to carry the baggies....I'll probably make my own better box from a tool organizer at the hardware store. Other than that, I find the pieces well built and very very fun to explore 3D spatial relations and fibonacci relationships. I wish I had had this kit when I was in high school and doing geometry and chemistry for the first time! When I can save up some more, and justify it to my wife ("yes, it is for the kids, really!") I'd like to get the Hyperdo and Megatube kits next! FatBrain shipped on time and had competitive pricing...Thanks for a great product!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great "toy"
Posted 1/26/2006 by Homeschool Mom
Rating: 5

My kids, 8 and 10, split the cost of this and paid with their own money, as they liked smaller Zome sets so much. They LOVE this set and have built all kinds of things with it already. I have no doubt that we will get full use out of it and probably end up buying even more. The 10 year old is interested in the Zome geometry book, so I will be getting that for her to use with this set. This set will come in handy for all kinds of educational purposes, formal and informal alike.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit
Posted 6/2/2005 by kim connell
Rating: 5

I'ts amazing to see the "light-bulb" go on when the kids are building with these toys. My 9-year old was stunned when he overheard me describe them to a friend as a "math" toy. He just thought they were fun to build with.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

wonderful math toy
Posted 1/30/2012
Rating: 5

My son is still very young to play with this toy. So I have to update this review once he starts playing with it. But I love this toy. I wish I had toys like this when I was learning math. After spending 2 years as Math major I really struggled with understanding concepts. Tools like this would have helped me tremendously. Definitely worth buying it for the kids. I wish fatbraintoys also sell Zome Geometry book.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Zome Tool- Creator 4 Kit
Posted 10/31/2011 by Linda West
Rating: 5

I used this with middle school students after watching the movie "Flatland 3-D". An activity was included with the purchase of the novie that asked students to find the number of vertices, edges, etc, to study some laws, and to create some rules for each. The Zome Tool peices were perfect for this. The connecting balls (spheres) were perfect for counting the vertices and the struts reperesented the edges. The students loved building with the tools and they served an educational purpose also. My job is to create activities to use in an outreach setting with middle school mathematics students and teachers.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exploring geometry
Posted 3/19/2009 by Joana V. - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

It's a great set for exploring the 3D geometry, and 4D geometry as well! The green struts are the big addition to this set compared to the other Zome Tool Creators Kits. For instance, these allow to build the tetrahedron and octahedron, and explore their relation with other solids. It an excellent product for high school kids, and older ones too.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Professor
Posted 1/24/2007 by Lyle Welch - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

It is a truly amazing product. It is a product that every High School Geometry student should have a chance to use and enjoy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit
Posted 3/29/2005 by Karin Brooks
Rating: 5

i like the one we picked. 4 of us were able to play with it. i think the children really enjoyed it and i know i did too. and the best part is it makes you think.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit
Posted 3/11/2005 by CYNTHIA MACHEN
Rating: 5

This is a Christmas gift. My 12 year old is anxious to have the green lines. we bought a 484 set last year. Zome is an activity that he keeps coming back to and shares with his 8 year old brother. We look forward to many creations.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Zome Tool - Advanced Math Creator 4 Kit
Posted 12/6/2012 by Carol Latzel - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Easy to use. It allows for creativity and imagination. You can make and learn about geometric shapes: balls, squares, bridges, buildings, etc.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb02