Home > Toy Companies > Zometool > Zome Tool - Bucky Ball > Customer Reviews
Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
0

Customer reviews of Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit by Zometool

Return to Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit product information...

Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit has been reviewed 22 times with an average rating of 4.59

Great!
Posted 4/22/2010 by S Pegany
Rating: 4

I'm a teacher and ordered the Bucky Ball to help my students understand the concept. It is so much fun to put together! I do have a few pieces that slip out of the joint connectors, but for the most part, I am thrilled. It is very cool looking, and the kids can't wait to get their hand on it!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Zome Tool - Bucky Ball Kit
Posted 3/21/2010 by JT Breijo
Rating: 5

My friend's son loved this gift. Out of all the presents he received, including the latest electric gizmos, he spent at least two hours playing with this toy. Once all the hubbub settled down and the gornwups were drinking cofee, he sat down with us at the table and just created shape upon shape. A budding architecxt perhaps!!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
Posted 3/24/2008 by Margaret M
Rating: 3

This is a fun project. My son loved putting the bucky ball together. The directions are very hard to read and follow, but once you get working on it, you don't really need them. My big complaint, though, is that Zome made all the bonds the same, and in reality, each carbon atom within the bucky all should have one double bond and two single bonds. To fix this glaring error on their part, we ended up cutting masking tape to wrap around the bonds that were supposed to be single bonds.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Almost great
Posted 12/27/2010 by Lisa Teet
Rating: 3

This would have been the hit for my son - had it not been for the missing rod that would have completed his Bucky Ball. The first thing he created was a salt crystal (cube), then he added to it to make a giant salt crystal. Too bad he couldn't complete the full model.
Bucky Ball soon to be complete! A replacement rod will be shipped to our customer. For top-notch assistance, visit our Returns & Exchanges center.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bucky Ball kit review
Posted 11/3/2009 by Wayne Mansell
Rating: 4

The kit consists of the correct number of nodes and blue links to construct the Bucky Ball model. There was an instruction leaflet and general information pertaining to the Carbon 60 molecule it was intended to represent. All in all I think that the components were well made and had a hi-tech feel to them. Overall, the kit did what it said on the tin but unfortunately no more! - From my perspective this is limited in foresight. After all, this is a small kit and could be treated as a taster kit by Fat Brain toys. I am currently thinking about purchasing the Creative Kit 4 which retails at approximately $200 USD. If I had a few of the alternative link parts to adress my concerns on the kits flexibility it would have been a much clearer decision. I appreciate that you are only a distributor to Zome Tools, but as you took the effort to add a news letter, etc... you obviously see yourselves as a value add as well as a developer. Overall though, the experience was good.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
Posted 9/13/2006 by Joe G McDowell
Rating: 5

I have tried the Bucky Ball on two of my students, with intriguing results. Both boys loved the set, but their behavior with the set was the reverse of what I expected. The thirteen year old just started making a construction utilizing square and triangular shapes, while the seven year old tackled the dome. What amazed me about the seven year olds problem solving is that he used only front photo and trial and error to assemble the first two hexagons. His only questions were about the finished size of the dome, to which he responded "cool". Once figuring out (roughly) the angle of the facets he proceeded steadily self-correcting as he went. He became more and more efficient as he progressed.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Zome Tools are great
Posted 4/3/2012 by Love to learn home
Rating: 5

The bucky ball was the first item put together and is now proudly displayed over the computer. The other Zome Tools are being used for a myriad of building/learning projects. Its small size (~ 1 foot diameter) was a disappointment to the chemistry enthusiast. At the same time, its small size allows it to be kept intact and displayed.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Intro to Chemistry
Posted 3/22/2011 by E. Anderson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Got this for my college age daughter - a chemistry major - who just loves this item! She uses it for demos and in tutoring other students.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
Posted 4/13/2010 by Jill Stubenvoll
Rating: 5

Boys, 8 and 5, were very excited to see and opened right away. THey enjoyed building and exploring. Has lasted so far!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
Posted 11/30/2009 by Laurie Ryan
Rating: 5

This was a huge hit with all our children and their children. We saw our sons doing science type lessons with their girls as they assembled the ball. Will surely suggest this item to anyone who likes the challenge of creating and building things.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Really Cool!
Posted 10/21/2009 by Mike Little
Rating: 5

I had been using huge kits of magnetic ball bearings and rods to build my special interest which is Platonic and Archimedean solids. The magnet just doesn't work well for something like the bucky ball. I built the bucky ball and took it to work. I tore down the bucky ball and made the 3 platonic solids that can be made without green struts. It is amazing how such a simple design can make so many shapes. I was sold when I heard that Zome can be used to make all the archimedean solids except for two stub solids. I intend to get many more of these.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Zome Tool- Bucky Ball Kit
Posted 7/17/2007 by Vijay Joshi
Rating: 5

Since in the past I had made the Bucky Ball by using the Construction Paper, I knew the basics. I had no problems in making the Bucky Ball using this kit. The Zome Tool Company has designed this product extremely well.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Buckyball
Posted 5/15/2006 by Sergio De Agostini
Rating: 4

Buckyball is an excellent toy. Material is almost perfect. Some of the connection balls (nodes) have some defective holes with some plastic deformities. Other than that, excellent.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Zome Tool - Buckyball Kit
Posted 11/16/2005 by Millie N Craig
Rating: 5

The Bucky Ball was bought as a gift for my grandson (10 yr). Since he hasn't gotten it yet, I can't say how he likes it. However, I fully intend to play with it myself after he opens it. Not many toys strike me as "wonderful", but this did. Your service was great & very prompt.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Buckyj Balls
Posted 12/22/2009 by Richard Sindeldecker
Rating: 4

Bought as a gift for christmas

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun, Education, Not So Sturdy
Posted 4/3/2014 - EDUCATOR
Rating: 4

I am reviewing this product as both a toy for my four-year-old and as a materials science tool in a lab. For the child: My child LOVES this. This literally occupied his full attention for a three hour car ride (not a good choice for a car due to the small parts). He quickly figured out that different shapes go into different shaped holes, and we had a series of snowflake-like creations in all orientations. Note that he has this kit in combination with one of the creator kits. More free form use than buckyball creation. As a drawback, the strut pieces are a bit weak at the ends, and the tips tend to break off. Evident both with my four-year-old as well as with graduate students in the lab. Zometool will replace for free, but I have not tested this yet. For the scientists out there: As a scientist, I bought a set for my lab (this set). In combination with bulk parts bought from zometool, I can make any lattice structure. Note that the Buckyball kit alone can only use the rectangular holes, which have 6-fold symmetry. For the scientists out there, this differs from commercial kits that "swivel" at the bond/molecule joint and allow different lattice formations from one "bond". For example, this kit can make a hexagonal buckyball and a cubic lattice, but not tetragonal lattice. For tetrahedral bonds you need triangular (yellow) whereas the outside of the polygon would be made with offset (green) struts. Note that bonds look a little "twisty" due to the strut shape.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03