Home > Toy Companies > Educational Insights > Hot Dots Talking Pen > Customer Reviews
Hot Dots Talking Pen
0

Customer reviews of Hot Dots Talking Pen by Educational Insights

Return to Hot Dots Talking Pen product information...

Hot Dots Talking Pen has been reviewed 51 times with an average rating of 4.45

Review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 4/4/2010 by Clara Welsh
Rating: 4

I ordered two of the Hot Dot Talking Pens to be used by my three children - an 11 year old girl, 6 year old boy, and 5 year old boy. They quickly figured out how to use them and enjoyed experimenting with the different sounds while trying out the corresponding cards. As a homeschooling mom, I appreciated the fact that I could listen to two children at once and know how they were doing by the feedback from the Talking Pen. Our only criticism is that if the pen is not directly up and down on the surface, it may give a negative feedback to a correct answer.

11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 3/7/2010 by Jo-ann Weleba - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

One pen does not work, and one the volume is set on high, however you can hardly hear it.
If a Hot Dots Pen fails to speak up, don't make the same mistake - please let us know! We promptly shipped a replacement pen to our customer.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 12/27/2007 by Lyle Hangartner
Rating: 1

Our Hot Dots pen didn't work. It wouldn't acknowledge that there were any correct answers. Also, it's hard to tell what mode you're in with the little buttons. Great concept, but it needs a little work in the execution.
Correct answers are soon to meet praise! A replacement pen was sent to our customer.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 6/9/2010 by Cindy
Rating: 2

I bought 2 pens, one works and the other I will take back for the third time. The pen that works is a hit. The kids enjoy but fight over. We will be back to try once again to find a pen that works.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Entertaining
Posted 3/1/2011 by kristin p.
Rating: 4

This product is both educational and fun. My son really enjoys the interactive pen, especially the silly sound effects. I have tried several different methods to help boost his reading skills, but he grew bored and distracted immediately, often putting up a fight to not have to do the workbooks or flash cards. Now, my son actually asks me to play with his talking pen! If only I knew this product existed sooner. I plan on telling all my friends about this product. The only reason that I gave it four stars instead of five is because the pen itself is a little tempermental. I don't believe that it is defective or anything to that nature. You just need to be sure to hold the pen completely upright (not the least bit tilted), and hit the mark perfectly, or it will give you a false response. Again, I don't believe that there is anything wrong with the pen, there is just a certain technique for using it. Overall, we are very happy with this product : )

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots Rock!
Posted 2/9/2010 by JENNIFER
Rating: 5

This is a great tool for helping my daughter be more interested in working on her reading and math skills! She loves that she can have the pen be quiet with only the red or green lights or that it can make sounds too! The fact that Hot Dots has all of the academic material to support various levels and content areas is fantastic. I can use it with my youngest, but also with my oldest. I also like that it is still interacting with text rather than a video format, because my kids don't need anything else that will put them in front of a screen.

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 4/18/2011 by MARSHELLE
Rating: 5

This product is fantastic! My son was having problems grasping math concepts and became frustrated with flash cards. With this product he is able to go through all of the flash cards and is very proud of himself for being able to figure it out!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 3/10/2008
Rating: 5

The Hot Dots pen is a simple yet, very motivating tool to help my students during centers. This is an easy activity to give students remediation or enrichment for a variety of skills.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product!
Posted 1/16/2008 by Robin Garber - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My 6 year old loves to practice his sounds, letters, blends and reading with the Hot Dots Talking Pen. He is excited about "homework" when he gets to use this product. This product would make a great center in a classroom.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 9/4/2007 by K. Blee - TEACHER
Rating: 5

These are fabulous! I especially like the fact that the batteries are now easier to change and the volume can be adjusted. They also work with the old cards. I'll be ordering more.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 2/1/2010
Rating: 5

These are great!

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

hot dots talking pen
Posted 3/29/2010 by Rosalinda Mateo
Rating: 5

This is a great tool to get my daughter motivated. She enjoys working on the educational flash cards. However, the screw on cap easily breaks when you twist it. I recommend being careful not to tighten too tight. Overall, I'm pleased with this product.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 5/20/2008 by Chris Durnan
Rating: 4

I have had my students using these for 2 weeks now. They are holding up fine. I'm so pleased that the batteries are AAA. I had other ones that had a funky round battery that I couldn't ever find.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Product
Posted 4/4/2007 by A. Lechner
Rating: 4

I first used Hot Dots with my 2nd grader's class, reviewing the money unit. I pulled out two kids at a time, gave very quick directions, and instructed them to be gentle with the pens (no hard pounding). Each card set comes with a good number of cards (front and back) so I split the cards between the two, then had them trade. The kids caught on very quickly, and were able to work on their own, at their own paces. I could easily tell when one of the kids was having trouble with a question (the pens "talk"), so it was easy to jump in and help when needed. The kids really enjoy working independently and using the pens. I bought 2 more pens, along with 2 card sets (money and time) for another 2nd grade classroom. Hot Dots work very well for reinforcing lessons, and should be great review in preparation for standardized testing. These pens can also go through the batteries, but are worth the cost of good batteries.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Learning Tool
Posted 11/15/2011 by Chelsea Blazer
Rating: 5

I got this for my son who is 6 years old and in the 1st grade. He really love the fact that he can do it independently. I watched his confidence in math shoot through the roof after using these flash cards. I would recommend this tool for young learners.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Clever idea
Posted 7/25/2009 by RS
Rating: 4

The Hot Dots Talking Pen is a great item for use with the Hot Dots Reading Comprehension Cards. It is self-checking and fun. The one problem is that the student must hold it exactly straight up and down or the pen will mark all answers in a set as incorrect, even the correct answer! Therefore, students should use this while under a teacher's supervision so they do not receive erroneous feedback which is very frustrating for the student and can lead to random guessing.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dot Pen
Posted 9/28/2006 by Patricia A Grunwald
Rating: 5

I have use other hot dot pens before but I have found it difficult and expensive to replace the batteries. This Hot Dot Pen is so much better because the batteries are easier to find - they only require AAA bateries. I can also adjust the volume of the response the students receive so that it can remain quiet in the classroom. I am also able to turn the volume off and the pen will glow red for an incorrect answer or green for a correct answer.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 1/26/2011
Rating: 4

A "fun" way to aid in learning.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 8/21/2007 by Elaine M. Jeffries
Rating: 4

When the pens arrived my daughter immediately opened the box, inserted the batteries, and got to work! Oh how she loved to count money! The pen worked great. Not too much pressure was required to illicit a response, and the design fit well in her 5 year old hand. She especially enjoyed the positive reinforcement that erupted from the pen when she selected the correct response. I would recommend this product!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 3/26/2007 by Gina Lemm - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

My students love the hot dot pens. I had purchased the original hot dot pens 2 years ago, but when the batteries wore out it was not worth buying new batteries for. The new hot dot pens using AAA batteries are more pratical. I also like the feature of being able to control the volume of the sound.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 2/28/2007 by Cheryle Verish
Rating: 4

My son has used the pen. I've also demonstrated it for kids at school, and a few have had a chance to use it. No complaints from the kids. They, of course, like the lights and sound effects. I appreciate that the sound can be varied and turned off all the way. My only complaint is concerning the mechanism appropriated for varying the sound. It's hard to tell how to push it and sometimes I am trying to turn the sound up, but end up turning it off.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 1/17/2007 by Kirby Corley
Rating: 5

This product is great. It works just like it says. The kids love it and it is fun to use.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Feedback For Learners!
Posted 1/10/2007 by Karen R.
Rating: 5

My 5 year old is using the Hot Dots Talking Pen with the phonics cards and my 8 year old is using it with the multiplication and division cards. They both love it. They get instant (and fun!) feedback when they have a right or wrong answer and it takes the frustration away-especially from "drilling" with math flash cards.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots Talking Pens
Posted 11/8/2006
Rating: 5

My students really like the noises and voices that the pens make. Those are the pens they want to get to first.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 10/4/2011 by Kerry Modawell
Rating: 1

2 of the pens I ordered do not work. We changed out and switched in new batteries and they will not work.
Pencil us into your plans if your pens are defective. We readily assist! We shipped two replacements for the defective pens to our customer. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 6/4/2009 by Kathy Verhappen
Rating: 5

The new and improved hot dot pens are terrific for students of all ages. The AAA batteries are an imporvement from the cell type.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 1/30/2007 by Kani McCree
Rating: 5

This pen is superior to the original model. It uses AAA batteries instead of hard to find watch batteries like the original pen. You can control the sound which is a plus for noise control and can add talking prompts if needed. My kids really enjoy the interaction and it adds an element of fun to needed practice of skills.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 12/23/2009 by Christine Jacobson
Rating: 4

Excellent. My omly complaint is that if the pen is not position is exactly correct, it sometimes counts it wrong. Otherwise excellent. My 4, 5 and 7 year olds love them.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great motivator
Posted 2/8/2009 by jennifer lilly
Rating: 4

I bought the pen and two flash card sets for my son to practice his addition and subtraction facts. The talking pen with flashing green light is a great motivator for learning those all-important math facts. I like that he can bring them along in the car to practice on the run. It is also a great feature that you can buy additional cards to pratice other drill and kill facts such as multiplication, division, time, fractions and state capitols. Although it is pricey at almost $11 dollars a pop for the pen and additional card sets each, if you have several children in the family who will benefit, it is a worth-while purchase.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 10/1/2008
Rating: 5

The students love to use this pen and are highly motivated to work when they are allowed to use the Hot Dots Pen.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 8/14/2008 by Andrea Strack
Rating: 4

I bought this product along with some phonics flashcards for my three year old son and he loves it. He loves hearing the pen tell him when he's correct. It's been a great asset to teaching him. The only thing I have negative to say about this product is, is that if he doesn't touch the dot perfectly it will tell him the answer is incorrect when it actually is correct.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots are hot!
Posted 6/30/2008 by Kristine Weiss
Rating: 5

Hot Dots cards and talking pens are an exciting and stimulating way to review specific skills. I've used phonics, reading readiness, fractions, time-telling, and money Hot Dots sets with my students. They enjoy them so much, I use Hot Dots as a reward for completing work in a timely manner.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Good Service
Posted 6/27/2008 by Jami Stafford
Rating: 5

Very educational. My child says it makes it fun to learn.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Hot Dots Talking Pen
Posted 5/29/2008 by JUNE D HAGOOD - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

My students enjoy the Hot Dots activity cards. The pens are reliable and give the students the choice of the sound they want to hear.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hot Dots Pen
Posted 3/16/2008 by Teri Fisher
Rating: 5

My kids love using the pen with the ready made cards and cards of their own. Hot Dots make reading and math fun!

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2015 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb04