Home > Toy Companies > Melissa & Doug > Pound-A-Peg > Customer Reviews
Pound-A-Peg
0

Customer reviews of Pound-A-Peg by Melissa & Doug

Return to Pound-A-Peg product information...

Pound-A-Peg has been reviewed 74 times with an average rating of 4.09

Expected better product
Posted 12/30/2011
Rating: 1

My daughters have many Melissa and Doug products. When I found this product I was excited to purchase it for my 10 month old. When it was opened she tried playing with it but right away the pegs fell out too easily. She spent the rest of the afternoon crawling around with a peg in her hand while my 3 year old tried to get the pegs to stay up in their holes long enough to pound back down. My husband and I were very disappointed since we had similar products when we were young. I have since returned it and gotten the deluxe pound a bench and it is a much better product.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great idea, bad deployment
Posted 1/23/2012 by Derek Nahabedian
Rating: 5

My son loves this toy, however the pegs do not fit the bench properly. Several pegs are so loose they just fall through the holes before he has a chance to pound them. The holes are fitted with a plastic friction fitting to keep the pegs in place. The pegs are too small or the hole is too big. This product is manufactured in China. Have they cleaned up their act with respect to lead turning up in toys? I sure hope so; my son puts the pegs into his mouth all the time. I can't help but worry about lead poisoning with all this Chinese stuff.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 11/9/2010 by alexandria clayton
Rating: 5

The children love the toys cann't stop playing with it , I was abit surprised myself how much they enjoyed all the otehr toys we pruchased from same seller

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 10/24/2010 by Colleen Samuels
Rating: 4

Love the noise the hammer makes, and all the pegs.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great toy!
Posted 8/8/2010 by LAURA E GIESE
Rating: 5

High quality, durable, entertaining, easy-to-use and FUN!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound A Peg
Posted 4/12/2010 by Kelly Ricotta
Rating: 4

Great toy. Much better than any other hammer and nail sets I've seen. Good construction. Hammer is the right size for little hands. And the nails pound from both ends. The only feature it's missing that I would have liked is for the nails to not come out - so i'd be great if the nails would pound only so far one way, so that the bench could be turned around and the nails nailed back the other way. Then the nails wouldn't come out, get lost, chewed up, etc.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 1/21/2010 by Derek Gackle
Rating: 4

The product was shipped quickly and arrived on time. It is made well and should stand up to continuous beating from my two year old. The only problem is that he likes to hit everything with the hammer and not just the pegs!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Toy!
Posted 12/29/2009
Rating: 5

This classic toy provides hours of loud yet engaging entertainment for the toddler in your life. Highly reccomended!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Toy
Posted 11/23/2009 by Shannon
Rating: 4

I like how the pegs stay inside the holes nicely. They stay put due to little rubber grippers along the inside edge of each hole.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Quality Product
Posted 5/16/2008 by Amanda W
Rating: 5

This is a sturdy all wood construction toy. My son has already banged it around and it still looks great and the parts are working as they did from the start.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound A Peg
Posted 1/13/2008 by Danny Hernandez
Rating: 4

Our son loves the toy, but the resistance around the pegs is very uneven. Some of the pegs fall down with the lightest tap, others seems jammed and won't move even if I pound them. This may be by design, though. Either way, he loves the toy and this issue doesn't seem to bother him in the least. We love the bright primary colors and the large hammer helps with his developing hand-eye coordination.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 8/9/2006 by Debbie - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 4

Parts of the toy stuck together, causing paint to adhere to other parts.
Pound away! At our request, Melissa and Doug sent Debbie a replacement Pound a Peg.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 1/9/2006 by Elizabeth Battaglia
Rating: 4

I bought it for my 20 month old, but my 4 year old has taken it over. He loves banging, and my 20 month old girl seems to be more interested in the puzzle we bought from you (with animal sounds). Personally, I think this toy is more attractive to boys, even though I had one as a little girl, and bought it for my little girl. I think it is very well made and looks durable. Hopefully my grandkids will enjoy it.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound A Peg
Posted 9/12/2005 by Felix Hernandez III
Rating: 4

Had one for my son about 20 years ago. This one is for my grandson-just as good as original.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Melissa and Doug Pound a Peg
Posted 3/18/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 2

Sturdy wooden colorful pound a peg with hammer

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 9/20/2011 by Sue Christopher - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This product helps eye hand coordination while giving the child a sense of accomplishment.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pound-A-Peg
Posted 4/27/2011 by Yvette Smith
Rating: 4

This is a great toy but he's not quite ready at 9 months to use it fully. His wrist coordination isn't enough that he can hold the mallet and use it in the right way. He loves chewing on it though!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound a Peg
Posted 12/29/2010 by Dallas L. Yuhas
Rating: 4

My children love to pound away at the work. They find it a miracle every time the peg falls to the floor. Since the product is made out of wood I do not worry about it breaking and let them pound all they want.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound-A-Peg
Posted 7/18/2010 by Joy Majewski
Rating: 4

Sturdily built. The pegs go through a little bit too easily, but they don't fall out. It might be nice if the pegs didn't come all the way out.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 5/31/2010
Rating: 4

My grandson is too young to play with his new pound a peg but I remember my son playing with his and enjoying it very much.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 12/13/2009 by Judy Fox
Rating: 5

GREAT WOOD CONSTRUCTION

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 12/13/2009 by Stephanie Sanders
Rating: 5

This was exactly what I expected and I look forward to giving it to my son on Christmas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Looks Great!
Posted 12/11/2009 by Barbara Gish
Rating: 4

I love the bright colors. They have a glossy finish which is eye-catching. The peg-pounding went great with my 8-month old grandbaby. However, he likes to pick up toys and explore them, both with his hands and mouth. I wish the pegs were tight enough so they wouldn't fall out. I'm not sure if it's possible to balance tightness and ease-of-pounding them through the holes.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 11/4/2009 by Jayleen Mira
Rating: 5

I remember having this toy when I was young and had to get it as a gift for my friend's son (2 years old). He likes banging on things so this toy was perfect for him. The only thing is that his older brother tried to take the toy away from him and he tried to use the hammer for something else, if you know what I mean. I think every child should have this toy growing up, its timeless.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound-a-peg
Posted 9/28/2009 by Miri's Grandma
Rating: 4

I remembered this toy from when I was a baby, and also from when I was a mother, and thought it would be a good toy for my eleven month old granddaughter. I tried to find it at several toy stores but could not. I was delighted to find that Fat Brain had it. They have it listed for 24 month old babies. My granddaughter plays with. it, bangs the pegs a little in imitation of me showing her "how to" but then she just puts the hammer or the one peg that is loose enough to remove from the bench into her mouth. I think we should put it away for a few months!!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

pound a peg
Posted 9/21/2009 by Janina Martin - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

Great large and small motor product for young children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great!
Posted 8/26/2009 by Laura Forker
Rating: 5

Really nice quality fun toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Highest
Posted 8/18/2009 by Dee Lindstrom - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Excellent classical toy that I have tried finding everywhere and could not! Very happy to finally get it for my two grandsons! They both love it and their sisters too!(:

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound a peg
Posted 5/20/2009 by Mary Shapiro - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Just as I remembered it from childhood and just as much fun if you're 1 year old . My grandaughter enjoyed pounding the pegs and they were easy enough to push down with her hand, which she liked to do. I am happy to report that colorful wooden toys with NO batteries are still appealing to young children.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Buy!
Posted 4/14/2009
Rating: 5

My son is in love with this toy! great for hand eye coordination and fine motor skills. Great price, very good quality. I would buy from this company again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 2/16/2009 by Rachel Fleming - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

A clasic toy for my brothers son. He likes to help his dad work on things in the garage and this is a safe yet durable toy.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 2/10/2009 by Jenna Antczak
Rating: 4

We are extremely satisfied with the toys and their quality that we ordered.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 12/4/2008 by Sally Yeagley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

The product are two pieces of wood glued together then holes cut in that the wood pieces are to fit. We found that after the holes were made, there was extra glue that hung out in the holes. I had to take a knife and cut out the extra glue for the pegs to go through the holes. A solid piece of wood would have been better. I suggest that the hammer be rounded, not square with sharp edges. All in all the concept is cute, but the workmanship was not good. I would look for something else next time for my little grandson.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Cute toy
Posted 11/12/2008 by Chanel
Rating: 5

Cute toy we will love playing with it.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Toy!
Posted 5/14/2008 by Rev. Chris Surber
Rating: 5

My two year old loves to build and really anything that has to do with tools at all! He loves this toy. He hits the pegs over and over and play with it every day. All of these Melisa and Doug brand toys are great. This toy helps him to use fine motor skills and it keeps him really engaged. I highly recommend this toy!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent Product
Posted 4/30/2008 by Lea Lockhart - ADMINISTRATOR
Rating: 5

We have bought many of this same product over the years and the one we bought through Fat Brain is by far the best that we have ever bought. WE are very satisfied and would definitely buy it again.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Classic Toy That's Still Fun
Posted 12/27/2007 by Jennifer
Rating: 5

We have the square hammer, but it doesn't bother me. This is so coloful and durable! The holes are lined with a plastic o-ring so they won't wear out. It is pretty hard to get the pegs through, and our hammer has marks and dents in it from that. Hopefully it'll loosen with time, but my 2 year old BOY loves to smack stuff with a hammer, so we're good. I have not told the kids the pegs come out, so they are happy to just keep flipping it over and over. The nice thing about it is it's never "upside down" This is just a pretty, durable version of a simple classic toy that you can't go wrong with. Even my husband and I like to play with it!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 7/13/2007 by Mary Friedman
Rating: 4

My triplets who are almost 2 years old enjoy this product. We have found that the pegs are very difficult to push through even for the adults. We are hoping that with repeated use this will loosen up a bit and be easier to do.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound-A-Peg
Posted 6/6/2007 by Terri Graham - EDUCATOR
Rating: 5

Pound-A-Peg is something that can withstand several uses, is dependable, can easily be used by "little hands", and worth the price.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Difficult To Pound The Pegs
Posted 5/2/2007
Rating: 2

While this product is cute and brightly colored, the pegs are way to tight for a child to use. My husband even struggles to pound them through the holes. This doesn't work like the toy I remember as a child.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

For My One Year Old
Posted 2/11/2007 by Megan
Rating: 3

My daughter likes to play with the hammer quite a bit. Other than that she hasn't shown interest in pounding the pegs in the board. I've demonstrated and some of the pegs are hard to move. We'll see if she enjoys it more over time.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound-a-Peg
Posted 11/7/2006 by Anita Hill
Rating: 3

I felt the hammer should have had rounded edges instead of the squared off corners with sharp points. Otherwise the product is good quality and is being enjoyed by twin boys.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 6/22/2006 by Christy Christopher
Rating: 3

My daughter got bored with the pound a peg fairly quickly, but she is only 21 months. The pegs are harder to pound than I expected. This might be good for older kids to practice their hand-eye cordination though.The toy itself is of high quality. I think maybe she is not quite old enough to enjoy it yet.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Hours of Entertainment
Posted 6/14/2006 by Julie Cheek
Rating: 5

I love the design of it. You don't have to worry about the pegs getting lost. It is also easy for little ones to figure out. It is one of those toys that even older children love.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 6/8/2006 by Maria - RELATIVE
Rating: 3

A well-made toy with vibrant colors but it is difficult to "pound" the pegs through.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound a Peg
Posted 5/30/2006 by Nita Patterson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I got the pound a peg because I remember having it as child and because my grandchildren like to "pound". It is very similar to the one I enjoyed as a child, but I remember the hammer as being round. That's really here nor there, but what is relevant is that my grandchildren love them. Thank you.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pound-A-Peg
Posted 5/16/2006 by Shonna Jones
Rating: 4

Great toy! My little boy who is very in to "pounding and hammering" right now loves it! The bright colors and the easy to hold hammer are exactly what I was looking for. I believe it will hold up for many years to come.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound A Peg
Posted 5/12/2006 by Kady Gotlieb
Rating: 3

The product is OK. It's hard to pound the pegs though even for an adult. You really have to hit it hard. Not sure if this will get better after a lot of use or not.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

pound a peg
Posted 12/8/2005 by Lea Burbank
Rating: 5

My two year old loves this toy. He has played for hours. I really love your selection of old-timey wooden toys

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound a Peg
Posted 4/28/2005 by Nancy Hasselmeier
Rating: 3

Wanted to buy this toy because I remembered it when I was a kid. I didn't remember the pegs being able to fall out so easily. That's the only negative.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pound-A-Peg
Posted 4/24/2005 by LARRY J JONES
Rating: 5

his was the perfect toy. I had been looking for a wood version and this was a classic. Thank you,

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

pound a peg
Posted 1/11/2012 by emily johnson - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Bought it for niece she enjoys to play with it she will be one

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 9/4/2012
Rating: 4

My son is 18 months and I thought he would love this. He likes the hammer to hit everything else in the house besides the pegs right now. Hopefully, it will be something he gains interest in as he gets older.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 9/2/2012 by Brenda Vinson - EDUCATOR
Rating: 1

The set I recieved is defective. The pegs slide right through the holes.
Pegs sliding away in fear of the hammer... Slide into the Returns & Exchanges Center for a replacement. We assisted our customer promptly.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Pound-A-Peg
Posted 4/23/2014
Rating: 4

It is super fun and interactive. I love the smile my nephew gets when he hits a peg

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Pound-A-Peg
Posted 3/23/2014 by Kathryn Sloan
Rating: 5

This is for a gift. He didn't get it yet, so I am just guessing as to how much he will play with it. Seems to be exactly what I wanted.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 10/8/2013 by Shari Brown
Rating: 2

The pegs fall out just when picking toy up as a whole. Not much resistance to pegs as you push down. Was really disappointed by this since we love other Melissa and Doug products.
A fallout in peg performance is a sign of a defective product. Fortunately, Melissa & Doug is a manufacturer pegged as making things right. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for help, and everything falls into place. We contacted our customer promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 9/18/2013 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 1

Pegs fall straight through the holes in the bench. I think she would play with it if it were made better, because she has shown interest in using the hammer on her blocks.
Random falling pegs are always benched. Get your game on and visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for sure assistance. We contacted our customer promptly.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Pound-A-Peg
Posted 7/11/2013 by Heather
Rating: 5

Bright colors and well build. It was a gift and the little boy will not put the hammer down!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Pound-A-Peg
Posted 12/26/2012 by Jeanette de Richemond
Rating: 3

Good idea but product immediately fell apart -- lost red side panel and required gluing.
In the rare event that it falls apart, we'll pull things together for good. We provided our customer a credit for the defective item. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Toy!
Posted 11/14/2012 by Ronnie Shalev
Rating: 4

Fun, colorful, keeps the kid occupied!

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb03