Home > Toy Companies > MindWare > Bella's Mystery Deck > Customer Reviews
Bella's Mystery Deck
0

5 Star reviews of Bella's Mystery Deck by MindWare

Return to Bella's Mystery Deck product information...

Bella's Mystery Deck has been reviewed 104 times with an average rating of 4.54

A rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 10/27/2010
Rating: 5

This is a great tool to teach reading comprehension and expanded though process. My 9 year old loves mystery books and was so excited to get these cards for her birthday! She reads a few of them every day, and since the stories are short she can either read one if she has a small amount of time, or read 10 of them if she wants to take longer.

18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good for quiet time
Posted 12/25/2011 by JULIE E KUNTZE
Rating: 5

Purchased this item for my 7 year old daughter to play with on an airplane flight/trip. I had to work with her on the first "mystery" to show her how to use the mirror to find the answer, and to read through the story to find clues. After that, she read a few more on her own, and thought they were fun. It was a great choice to pack, because it is small, they are short "bites" of reading and problem solving (rather than tackling a long book), and she can do it by herself or with me.

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/21/2010 by Brook
Rating: 5

We bought this as a Christmas gift for our fifth grade (10 year old) daughter. She has enjoyed it very much. I was a little worried that the mysteries might be too easy for her as she is a straight A student and an avid reader. But, I was pleasantly surprised at how challenging the mysteries actually are. Other family members have also enjoyed reading and solving these with my daughter: dad (38yrs.), mom-myself (38 yrs.), 2 aunts, and one grandma (60 yrs.). I am a fifth grade teacher and was actually thinking of taking the deck into my classroom and using it at school for some quick problem solving activities.

15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great for Kids Who Love Mysteries
Posted 10/8/2007 by Cate Elsten
Rating: 5

My 8-year-old is a mystery fiend and absolutely loves the Bella decks. Each deck card is a self-contained story; the solution is provided, backwards, at the end and can be read with an enclosed mirror (in itself an attraction at this age.) Some of the mysteries can be solved with the clues provided, while others require some knowledge of natural history, science, etc. The cards encouraged my daughter to stretch her reading skills and were great fun for travel, restaurants, etc.

12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Fun!
Posted 12/8/2009 by Michael D. Perry IV
Rating: 5

We gave our daughters (8 & 10 y.o.) both sets and they LOVE them. We only wish there was a deck 3, and 4 and ...

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift!
Posted 2/1/2011 by Karyn Sader
Rating: 5

We bought this as a gift for an 8-year old girl who is an excellent reader. I love buying books for kids but the kids don't always love getting them. This was a great compromise! This product is more gamelike than a book but still involves reading.

8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 9/28/2011 by David Pinnick
Rating: 5

This gift was for my daughter so having a girl (Bella) as the main character was optimum. The stories seem to be just the right length. Since the clues are only a few words at most one has to read very carefully which a great feature.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/8/2010 by Ellen Dowd
Rating: 5

This is a great gift for the child who loves solving puzzles and reading mysteries/adventures. I purchased both decks for my 10 year old daughter who enjoys these interesting and thought provoking stories. These cards are fun for an individual or group and engage children and adults alike. The questions aren't terribly hard, yet one still can exercise their thinking/problem solving skills. I would definately purchase deck 3 if one where to become available

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 5/30/2012 - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter was apprehensive at first but after we did one of the cards, she could not put it down. Fun product and she is learning new things too.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 11/16/2011 by Jennifer Austin
Rating: 5

Great product that stretches child's use of imagination and logic at the same time.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/13/2010
Rating: 5

I ordered this item for my 10 yr old who has reading comprehension issues. The stories are short, have hidden clues and make him think about what he is reading. He is enjoying them and is getting better as deciphering clues.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift for 8-year old girl!
Posted 10/7/2010 by Wendy Huber - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

This is a very kid-friendly toy. Very enjoyable.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bella's Deck
Posted 11/21/2009 by Ricardo Basch
Rating: 5

It was very fun and age appropriate for a third grader. Just enough thought required to make it challenging but not impossible to solve.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Birthday gifts for 9 year old girl
Posted 4/19/2009 by Angela Jenks
Rating: 5

She has loved these mystery cards and the backwards mirror required to decipher the answer was also a big hit.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/27/2010 by Jennifer D
Rating: 5

My 10 year old son plays with this every night before he goes to bed. He loves trying to solve mysteries and these are challenging him.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 6/10/2010 by Rhonda Guerra - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My granddaughter absolutely loved it - takes it with her wherever she goes.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun product
Posted 3/16/2010 by Holly Salzbrener
Rating: 5

Great activity for road trips or airplane rides.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 8/17/2012 by Evelyn
Rating: 5

Great gift idea, mini mysteries

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good fun!
Posted 1/4/2010 by Anita
Rating: 5

The mystery deck was a lot of fun for my kids (8 and 6). The older one read through each card and both solved the mysteries. We used it on a car trip during winter vacation but it's a "keeper" for use at home too. My 8yo amused his sister by creating his own mysteries for her to solve, based on this mystery deck so it's definitely a product that captures the imagination.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/8/2009 by Richard Leifer - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

My other granddaughter wants one, too.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 10/27/2011 by Debbie Moore
Rating: 5

These are very easy to keep in the car and use on trips. Makes the time go by much faster

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 6/20/2010 by LOIS A. BENNINGTON
Rating: 5

MY GRAND DAUGHTER EMMA,,,IS VERY HARD TO BUY FOR,,,,BUT SHE LOVED BELLA'S MYSTERY DECK,,,,AND WANTS MORE!!!! I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE SERVICE. WOULD AND WILL DO BUSINESS WITH YOU IN THE FUTURE.

8 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 8/21/2012 by Tina
Rating: 5

I bought this as a stocking stuffer so I do not know yet what my daughter thinks but I know she will love solving the mysteries.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

?
Posted 5/3/2010 by John Chapman - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Based on feedback from our granddaughter, the mystery toy is great.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 1/8/2010 by Gillian Blackwell
Rating: 5

This was a Christmas gift for my great niece who is 8.5 years old. She says in her thank-you letter that she is enjoying these cards very much and is half way through the first pack.

5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Mystery Lovers Need This
Posted 1/14/2012 by Barbara
Rating: 5

Solving mysteries like Nancy Drew was my intent. My 10 year old enjoys reading the cards, solving the mystery and then checking if she was right. Great gift for this age.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/21/2010 by Laurie
Rating: 5

She loves to read the mysteries and figure them out. Really good for reading comprehension and problem solving. creates opportunities for family discussions. Some use of idiomatic expressions challenges language development.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great gift
Posted 12/22/2009 by Kathleen Hanlon
Rating: 5

My 9yr.daughter received this as a gift and really enjoys it. She can use on her own or with others. There are many things I love about it. It's a quick activity when she has a few minutes,but it also entertains her on long car trips .She will read them to me while I'm making dinner,use at indoor recess at school. The real bonus is it gets her reading and thinking. I have purchased 2 as gifts and have heard the same positive feedback from those moms. It is a great gift b/c the price is right and you don't feel like your giving the usual useless stuff they can get.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/15/2009 by Elizabeth Hilles
Rating: 5

Perfect for my nieces who have been loving the Encyclopedia Brown books. Small enough for car rides and travel. Keeps everyone engaged.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 6/1/2007 by Susan Hannan
Rating: 5

My 7 year old loves these! Usually she hates to do anything "educational" for fun, but she can't put them down!

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 10/10/2012 by Lynda Speckhart - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

It was my 10 yr. old granddaughter's favorite birthday gift.

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 12/21/2011 by Frank Easton
Rating: 5

it is christmas gift so they haven't had chance to play with the gifts

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 11/30/2010 by Ann Marston - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

I wish that I could review this product, but my grand daughter hasn't received it yet.....Christmas present! I expect it to exceed all my expectaions! Great Company!

4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Grandmother
Posted 7/24/2013 by Rochelle Cooper - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Plays with Grandma after younger siblings (1 and 3) have gone to bed. The cards have stimulated much laughter and discussion. My granddaughter will be 10 in January.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 6/16/2013 by HEATHER TRAXLER
Rating: 5

We LOVE this product. We read the mysteries in the car, before bed, on the porch while drinking lemonade...whenever and wherever we want. These are very creative and get the critical thinking skills activated.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Engaging Fun for 8-year-old!
Posted 12/11/2012 by Rebecca Gray
Rating: 5

My daughter loves to engage her dad as she tries to figure out the mysteries in "Bella's Mystery Deck"... and she loves to dive in on her own. She will go stretches of time without using the Deck, but when it's a Bella's Mystery Deck day, she will spend hours with the cards--not only reading them and trying to string clues together, but talking about them afterwards.

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Outstanding Product
Posted 7/20/2014 by JDO
Rating: 5

My 7, 8 and 9 year old all love reading Bella's Mystery Deck and work together to try and solve the mystery! I love how they talk through their strategy and reasoning and come up with creative solutions.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 11/28/2009 by Ann Goodwin - RELATIVE
Rating: 5

cannot rate yet, its is christmas present for my seven year old niece. I was looking for something different that she might enjoy as she is an amazing reader for her age and I look for things that keep her interested in reading. I think she will like this product.

4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Perfect for a little detective
Posted 1/15/2014 by WENDY S
Rating: 5

This was a gift for my 9 year old daughter. She loves it! There is a mystery scenario written on each card and a question at the end. Use the clues from the story to answer the question. The answer is on the card, but you have to use the enclosed mirror to read it. Fun!

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bella's mystery deck
Posted 12/28/2014 by DEBBIE B
Rating: 5

Bought this as a gift for a 10yr old. She loves mysteries and trying to solve them. This is a great quiet activity that requires engaging your brain.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bell's Mystery Deck
Posted 6/11/2013 by henrietta will
Rating: 5

Very fulfillling in stimulating solving skills.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 2/20/2013 by Margot Weinberg
Rating: 5

Great set - don't know how long it will last (once she's gone through all the mysteries though)

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 10/27/2013 by Sue Mccaskill
Rating: 5

great quality and keeps the children guessing.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 11/1/2009 by leticia rodriguez
Rating: 5

I have not had a chance to use this item yet, but want to use them to help my daughter comprehension with story telling.

5 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 11/26/2013 by Susan Schall
Rating: 5

We haven't used it yet. It is a gift for Christmas.

Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Bella's Mystery Deck
Posted 9/11/2010
Rating: 5

I purchased this as a gift and she does not reside in my house, so I don't know what her experience is with this product

4 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2015 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb04