Home > Toy Companies > ThinkFun > River Crossing > Customer Reviews
0

Customer reviews of by

Return to product information...

has been reviewed 66 times with an average rating of 4.50

Review for
Posted 4/28/2008 by catherine r
Rating: 4

This "game" was recommended by my son's school physical therapist. He has ADHD as well as being hypotonic with some developmental delays. River Crossing has been a fun (and challenging) way to work on cognitive issues, problem solving and fine motor coordination. We are even able to work on some behavoir issues like anger management when the exercises get a little more difficult and frustrating at times. But the whole family has been having a ball.

11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun puzzles
Posted 6/7/2008 by hardrock
Rating: 5

For kids 8+, or anyone who like puzzles, it is fun to play. Could take hours or days to solve them all, depending on individuals. If you want more, but a second set of boards! If you don't like it, it's probably only because you can't solve it. For all who loves a good challenge.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Bought it for my son...
Posted 3/26/2008 by A dad
Rating: 4

I bought it for my son, but it's captivated my wife, too. It's easy to set up and fun to solve, and my son enjoys making up his own puzzles. One confusing thing is that the expansion set uses a different solution code than the original.

7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 5/29/2009 by Howard Cauvel
Rating: 4

Great toy! Assists with the development of spacial orientation and planning in children. Learning while having fun - the best combination in a toy. Wish that it was better suited to multi-player activity. Children can take turns and do some collaboration, but best as a single user game.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Challenging Fun
Posted 4/17/2008 by Erin
Rating: 5

My kids are 10, 14, and 16 and have all had fun with this product. Some of the cards are easy enough for the youngest, while some are challenging for the oldest. Even I have been challenged (my 16 year old is better than me!) It does have a lot of small pieces to keep track of, but all in all a fun game.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/14/2008
Rating: 4

This is a great mind game for my students. The only problem I see is having to take it apart after solving each puzzle. Otherwise, its been a lot of fun!

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

What is this? the game has a good title. I bought it as a gift for a 9 y o boy.
Posted 2/1/2009 by alice e powsner - FRIEND
Rating: 4

I only spent enough time with the product to review how to use it with the boy I gave it to. It seemed like a lot of fun and challenging as well. the pieces seemed sturdy and "honest." not cheap plastic. The artwork used in producing it was appealing too.

6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

River crossing
Posted 4/19/2010 by Al Kulenkamp
Rating: 4

We are in the process of supplying our trailer with good travel games for journeys that last many weeks. We tried this game on the way to Florida and everyone enjoyed it. There were levels suitable for children and adults.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exciting!
Posted 12/8/2009 by Patricia Livingston
Rating: 5

I purchased this game for an 8 year old boy. He loves adventure type toys and I think this will more than fill that bill! It can be planned independently as well as with others. This game is much different than anything I have seen in stores! I can't wait to see it and try it out myself!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

River Crossing puzzle
Posted 6/17/2009 - FRIEND
Rating: 5

A fun game that appears simple at first glance. This puzzle game turns into a great challenge as players proceed through it. It's a great game to take on the road, as it is small and very entertaining!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

fun little game
Posted 1/30/2009 by M. Sisson
Rating: 5

I like to purchase games that my students can play if they come induring a lunch or have to stay after and then wait for a bus. They like this game a lot. It is solidly constructed as well.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 1/19/2008 by Kelly Rutan
Rating: 5

My daughter, 7-1/2, really enjoys this game, as it challenges her reasoning skills. Even when Mom and Dad sit down beside her for a round, we are definitley challenged, too. Great designed game!!

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 4/25/2007
Rating: 4

Like Traffic Jam and other similar games, I purchased this game for a 8 year old who loves games and has no problem playing a game by himself. A couple of us adults got hooked as we tried to manipulate the planks in order to get across the river. Overall, I a good game for all ages 7 and older. The directions on the back of the box were not adequate with detail needed to start play.

5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Good Thinking Game
Posted 1/27/2010 - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

I bought this game for my 8 year old nephew. He loves to challenge his thinking skills. He enjoys this game and the challenges it presents. It took a few tries before he totally understood the concept, but once he understood it, he had fun trying the different levels. I would recommend this game for anyone who likes a challenge.

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 12/24/2009 by Donna Dugas
Rating: 5

Science is my favorite thing and your toy is about science so this toy actually deserves 376 stars!

5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 1/20/2012
Rating: 5

Great game...when my 7 years old saw it on the internet he wanted it right then.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift
Posted 1/17/2012
Rating: 5

I bought this as a gift for my grand kids ages 8 and 10. Both of them love this game.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

It's just ok
Posted 1/10/2012 by Joelle Brown
Rating: 2

It takes a bit of thought to work through the different levels, and overall the game was easy to understand after I took a peak at the answer sheet. But there was a lot of frustration experienced with the toy itself. When pulling the hiker out of the stumps, half the stumps come up out of the game with the hiker, messing up the arrangement of the planks. Sometimes it's hard to move the planks without pulling out the stumps. The pieces just don't work together in a cohesive manner.
Stumped by a toy's design? We're good at tree-ting you right. Leaf it to us. We're excellent at branching out to help. We assisted our customer -and spared her these poor attempts at humor. Visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 8/2/2011 by Martina Metz
Rating: 5

Interesting story line to motivate logical problem solving. Quality materials, compact size, magnets are a nice touch.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great entertainment
Posted 5/26/2011
Rating: 4

Great game for the single player with or without help. A game easy to understand even for young players giving many hours of fun playing no matter where you are due to the simple packaging.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

a big hit
Posted 12/19/2009
Rating: 5

This game was a birthday gift for my 8 year old son. It took a few rounds for him to get the hang of it, but now he is completely hooked. He went to bed tonight with the game next to him so that he can play again as soon as he wakes up in the morning. I will definitely be in the market for more Thinkfun games in the future.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

New to Fat Brain
Posted 11/10/2009 by Ann Hoyt - OTHER
Rating: 5

My first order was exactly what I was looking for--price and quality. Couldn't have been happier.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

great toy for big kids
Posted 6/26/2009 by Liming Zhong
Rating: 4

I like the toy because my kids use their brains to play. I think they do get something while playing.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 1/10/2008
Rating: 5

I bought this game for my nephew. It doesn't look challenging, but is. The cards get progressively more difficult which make it a great game for older kids. It is nice and compact and a great game to take on road trips.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

River Crossing
Posted 11/26/2007 by A Parent
Rating: 4

We have both River Crossing and River Crossing Jr and I recommend either of them to a puzzle loving family. I wish the games could be stored more easily either in their original box or that everything would fit in or under the plastic platform. The bags aren't that great for storing on a shelf.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Excellent
Posted 8/23/2007 by Lalitha Agnihotri
Rating: 5

This is a fun game for all ages. My husband and I are hooked on it. My 5 year old son can do the initial simple routes. My 3 year old daughter loves setting up the board for us with the pegs and the bridges.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

An Excellent Game
Posted 5/22/2007 by Olga
Rating: 5

Challenges and fun in one package! A+

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

River Crossing
Posted 4/12/2007 by Jenn P
Rating: 5

My 8 year old received as a gift. He loves this game! I love to play it after he goes to bed!

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun Puzzle -- Over Too Quickly
Posted 2/7/2007
Rating: 4

My husband opened it immediately and completed all 40 puzzles within a few days (I'm only about half done). The puzzle is nicely designed. We both enjoy the magnetic pieces. The puzzles are not super hard, but I think that's a plus, because it's kind of annoying to be stuck on one for a really long time. I give this 4 stars instead of 5 because it would have been nice to have more cards so the enjoyment could last longer. They do offer additional puzzles, but even those were over too quickly.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about
Posted 1/2/2007 by David F. Beleny
Rating: 5

River Crossing was for my 11 yr old son. He has played with it constantly, at home, in the car and at other people's homes. Definitely one of the stars of Christmas.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Great Logic Game
Posted 10/26/2006 by Kristina Benson
Rating: 4

I purchased this toy for my 8 year old son because he played with it for so long at the local toy store. It is a fun way to introduce logical thinking in a tactile way.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Super Fun Brain Buster!
Posted 9/25/2006 by Christopher
Rating: 5

I really enjoy the line of games Think Fun has produced. I got the Rush Hour and River Crossing games, and they are a lot of fun. I have them at my desk in the office and play them to relax and unwind.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

River Crossing
Posted 3/27/2006 by LINDA RADONSKY
Rating: 5

It seems like a very clever game. It should be good for visual perception and fine motor skills. But the game is so difficult, that I, with a MA degree cannot get past #9/40 puzzles. How are kids supposed to play this. It is very frustrating.

4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 1/26/2009 by Kim Drey
Rating: 4

A good way to learn trivia about the U.S. Some will never visit these places so it is good information for them. Some have visited these places and like to tell others about their experiences.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of
Posted 10/25/2006 by Tim Franklin
Rating: 4

The River Crossing game was fun and interesting for our kids. The carrying bag is very useful. We tried to use the game in the car which didn't work out so well for us. Too many little pieces to lose track of! The game is challenging enough for our older kids, but not too difficult for our 7 year old.

4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of
Posted 2/9/2010 by Nancy Dooley - GRANDPARENT
Rating: 5

Have not used yet - I didn't note in the description of the item that it was a "single user" item - if I'd known that, I wouldn't have ordered it. I will probably donate it somewhere.

5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for
Posted 2/28/2010 by Patricia Lufkin
Rating: 5

Have not used it yet. My grandson is going to be with me on my boat for spring break and I got it for both of us to play with.

4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Seems Cool
Posted 10/4/2012
Rating: 3

Rush Hour was a more popular game in my class. This may be as good, but not right now.

1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of
Posted 7/22/2008 by Wendy C. Burks
Rating: 5

We havE not yet played the game since it will be a birthday gift for my son next month. However I am sure we will love it based on other customer reviews and how much we enjoy other ThinkFun games.

5 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2014 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N. 205th St., Ste. 120 Elkhorn, Nebraska USA 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131 Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Opening May 2014!

  MacWeb02