Home > Toy Companies > Uncle Milton > Aquasaurs > Customer Reviews
Aquasaurs
0

Customer reviews of Aquasaurs by Uncle Milton

Return to Aquasaurs product information...

Aquasaurs has been reviewed 65 times with an average rating of 3.82

A rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 2/6/2008 by Laura Oates
Rating: 4

Aquasaurs are pretty interesting for my boys, ages 3 and 7. This set hatched quickly. They are still doing fine, going on 19 days. The tank is very flexible. I wish it were a thicker plastic. Aquasaurs need spring water. The water temperature needs to be 72-80 degrees. Needs to be near a light for warmth. Overall a good product. Be prepared for some work.

30 of 38 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs Rule
Posted 2/27/2007 by Holli
Rating: 5

These little guys are something not to miss. You will receive a plastic tank, complete with little fake plants and a fake rock. In a plastic pack, you will receive food for your Aquasaurs, and a separate pack that contains the actual Aquasaurs. Take half of the Aquasaurs package and empty into the tank with spring water only. In a few days, you will see a lot of tiny specks swimming like crazy. In a few more days, they grow into one inch creatures that look like a cross between a crab and a roach. Only a few survive, as they tend to eat each other. They are fascinating to watch, and great because there is no long term commitment, as their life span is a few weeks. My kids, seven and five, loved to watch and help feed them. I would suggest getting a good lamp to shine in the tank, as the water needs to be kept warm for them to thrive.

18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasars
Posted 2/6/2008 by Laura
Rating: 4

The kids love watching the life cycle of the Aquasars (triops, they call them). We have watched one whole life cycle, and the kids are looking forward to hatching more (there are enough eggs in the package for at least two hatchings). My only complaint about this product is the strength of the container- while it's standing still it's fine, but if I need to move it I need about four hands to keep it from bending and spilling over.

17 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 12/14/2007 by Sharon Yelton
Rating: 5

My grandkids love watching the aquasaurs grow. Since they give you enough eggs to grow two sets, we will get to do it again. It is very nice that this comes With the aquasaurs you do not have to send away for some them like with some sets.

13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Aquasaurs
Posted 8/22/2007 by Victoria Tague
Rating: 1

Only one "aquasaur" ever hatched which was very disappointing to my daughter as she saved her money to buy this for a long time. We are very disappointed with this product.
A solitary Aquasaur is a lonely fellow. Let us know if Aquasaur eggs fail to hatch. We'll rally more eggs to delight you. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details.

16 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Aquasaurs
Posted 10/5/2006 by Jennifer K East
Rating: 4

I have bought this Aquarium for my son for Christmas, I was impressed with the quality of this item. It is decorative, fun and good quality plastic. I know my son will love it!

12 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Children Will Be Amazed
Posted 12/26/2007 by Jessica Goodrich
Rating: 5

This is a great product. My daughter loves it! She has stayed amused with this for days now. The eggs hatch and these tiny creatures swim all around. It is entertaining to watch and fun to think that these things grew from eggs inside an envelope. She is so fascinated with this Aquasaur habitat that every time I walk by the room - she is peeking in at them in amazement.

11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs Are Cool
Posted 12/21/2007
Rating: 4

My nephew was so excited to see those little eggs hatch! The instructions are detailed, but easy to follow. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because the tank itself is a little floppier than I expected. However, with the lid on, it's plenty stable. Just don't try to move it. Overall, great and fun product.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Very Cool
Posted 11/1/2007 by Tamara Sutcliffe
Rating: 5

My 10 year old son loves it. About 10 of the eggs in the first load hatched and we still have 4 small ones going. They are growing fast and it's cool to see them grow 3 times their size over night. I feel the tank should be made of a better plastic for the money. Never the less it is a cool toy.

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Fun with Aquasaurs!
Posted 6/12/2007 by Julie R.
Rating: 5

I purchased this product as a gift for my 5 year-old nephew and he is really enjoying watching the Aquasaurs hatch and grow. They are truly growing each day and as much as doubling in size every 2 days or so. He's had the tank running for about a week and a half now and can't wait to see how the little critters are doing each morning when he gets up. A great science project for young children to share with their parents!

10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Can't Wait To Use It!
Posted 12/24/2007 by Sharon Smith
Rating: 5

We are very happy that the Aquasaurs actually come with the item. We have ordered many of the "insect" items (ants, lady bugs, tadpoles) and hated waiting for the creatures to arrive in the mail. Our nine year old has enjoyed every one of these kits and this will be no different.

10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 9/20/2007 by Jennifer Darnstadt
Rating: 4

This is a great product for kids of all ages! In just a few days little "tadpole" like creatures hatch from their eggs. They grow so quickly there is no time for the kids to get bored! Great project for a rainy day!

9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaur Habitat
Posted 11/13/2007 by Rebecca Whitten
Rating: 5

Very cool. Appearance is great. Tripods are thriving and growing.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Aquasaurs
Posted 11/8/2007 by Kristin - OTHER
Rating: 4

I now have many hatchlings. I really like the tank design. It is thin plastic but it works and looks great. The water temperature is not as big a deal as mentioned in the instructions. I really like the set up and look forward to them getting bigger!

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Aquasaurs
Posted 7/18/2007
Rating: 4

At first, I was a little upset because there wasn't much going on after the first few days. I left it there for about a week, hoping that something would happen, and on day 8 I had 2 little Aquasaurs swimming around. The only aggravating part is that there are these little shavings that come in the package with the eggs that are a pain. I really want them out of the tank, but I'm not sure how to go about doing it.

9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 1/30/2007 by Mary Jane
Rating: 4

A great educational experience. Unique creatures. Easy to follow instructions. My son is fascinated with them.

8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 5/20/2008 by Andrea
Rating: 1

We can't keep the water between 72 and 80 (which may be key to keeping the Aquasaurs alive). None of our eggs have hatched yet. We are trying round two though! We haven't given up.

9 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 11/20/2006 by Teresa J. Molinaro
Rating: 5

I am part of the education department of a zoo. I'm using the Aquasaurs there. The magnifier part is fun for the kids. They love all of it. It's colorful and attracts attention and it's especially good for the dinosour exhibit I designed (with a t-rex tooth, raptor claws, mammoth molar, etc). Small children, especially, love anything colorful. The item was a wonderful addition to the interactive exhibit.

8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Aquasaurs
Posted 3/3/2012 by Karan Blackmer
Rating: 2

We thought that the instructions were a little confusing. The eggs came in the little container and not a packet like the instructions talked about. Plus... and we did follow the instructions exactly - the little aquasaurs all died except for one.
Hang on little Aquasaur buddy - your new family is coming! Our customer was promptly shipped new eggs. Hatch another plan if your eggs don't make it - please visit our Returns & Exchanges center!

7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

aquasaurs
Posted 7/30/2011
Rating: 2

My son was real excited to watch the Aquasaurs hatch, unfortunately none did. Maybe the key is keeping the water from overheating? The plastic seems a little flimsy but seems to hold the water fine.
Watching Aquasaurs hatch is an experience that you want to see- and we'll help to see you through! We requested new eggs from the manufacturer for our customer. If your Aquasaur eggs never hatch, please visit the Returns & Exchanges center. Our claim of great customer service is all it's cracked up to be.

6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Difficult And Disappointing
Posted 4/14/2007 by Kim
Rating: 2

This toy was hand picked by my science/dino-loving 4 year old. He was so excited when he received the Aquasaurs. It looked just as described. My husband and I read the particular and precarious instructions - written in a way that made it hard for our son to participate in setting up his new toy. He was disappointed not to be able to "get his hands dirty" so to speak. Some of the pitfalls: Apparently the eggs will not hatch if the water is not kept at a consistent 75-85 degrees. You cannot keep the tank in direct sunlight, or near a heat source. In New England, unless you live in a greenhouse or it's the middle of July, that's a pretty tall order. Also, there is warning that the water (after adding the eggs) becomes highly contaminated and germ filled. Again, not really conducive to a 4 year old "hands on" science experiment. Get a few gallons of distilled water-that is the only kind to be used-even to rinse the rocks for the bottom. Lastly, the tank separated from the base when we tried to move it over a smidge and spilled germy water. Needless to say, the eggs have not hatched. We are left with a mucky mess that my poor son looks at longingly every morning. Good concept, but didn't play out for us.
If your Aquasaur experience causes your head to swim with doubts, let us know! We're not egging you on when we say we make things right! Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for details and peace of mind.

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Third Time Is The Charm, I Hope.
Posted 3/14/2007 by Adrienne
Rating: 2

Well, I followed the included instructions, which included using only half of the egg pack & saving the other half. The instructions stated that they would be visible in 48 hours, but after a week, there was nothing. I then followed the instructions given for what to do if nothing hatched, adding the rest of the egg pack. After a couple of days, we did finally see something, which I assumed was the aquasaurs/triops. My daughter was very excited. Apparently, however, these creatures we have spawned must not be triops, because we have had them several weeks now, and they have not grown at all. I mean at all. They are still alive and we have been feeding them, but they don't grow. Also, there are supposed to be about 50 eggs in the entire egg pack, and there must be about 300 of these tiny little things, so I don't think they can possibly be the triops. I am not sure at this point if we will buy a refill kit and try again. Overall, so far I am not very impressed.
Don't stop feeding them. Those tiny little swimming creatures are baby Aquasaurs! Give them time and faithful attention and they'll grow into the odd-looking swimming creatures you expect them to be!

8 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review for Aquasaurs
Posted 11/28/2007 by Christine Van Bemmel
Rating: 4

The product was easy to set up and my 6 year old nephew was enthralled with it.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Aquasaurs
Posted 11/13/2007 by Rhodes. W. C.
Rating: 4

Simple and fast results. Exotic animals, and a great conversation piece.Once full it is not easily moved. Concept was visually attractive and handy and th etop viewing piece is cool. The material chosen for the container is poor.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Product review of Aquasaurs
Posted 5/28/2007
Rating: 2

My 5 year old grandson was so excited when the Aquasaurs were delivered so we tried to set it up right away. Unfortunately, the tank is very cheap plastic and it started leaking. After some experimentation, I found it would not leak if we only filled it slightly less than half way (the instructions say to fill it to an inch from the top). It's been 5 days and no eggs have hatched. If they do eventually hatch, I'm not sure if there will be enough water in the tank. I'm tempted to rip out the 'scenery' from the tank and try to create a new tank using a glass bowl. The only reason I'm not rating this product with just one star is because I have hopes that the eggs may hatch in the next few days.
Give them a little more time. Some Aquasaurs are hesitant to leave the comfort of their shells. Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center if they are not happily swimming outside their shells beyond a week's time.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 1/31/2007 by Ron Waldrep
Rating: 4

A very unique item. I have 3 living Aquasaurs and half the pack of eggs left. Very interesting to setup and view.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 1/19/2007 by Kimberly Mitchell - EDUCATOR
Rating: 3

I am a science teacher and ordered these for my classroom. The volcano is just a painted bump in the lastic floor, and the whole container is a very flimsy plastic that I won't be able to transport home on the weekends once it's filled with water and live creatures. The packaging also doesn't mention that the little guys only last a few weeks (which is fine for science purposes, but may not be for a kid hoping to get a pet). The cost, however, is great, and I do feel I got what I paid for.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Exciting Fun for Youngsters
Posted 11/30/2006 by Susan M. Seaholm
Rating: 5

My daughter had found these Aquasaurs in a magazine and asked me for them. When I first looked at the product, I didn't think much of it, but purchased it anyway to make her happy. After going online and checking out some reviews from previous shoppers, I found that young children LOVE these little creatures. They're kind of like Sea Monkeys, except you can actually see the Aquasaurs. They don't live very long, which is sort of nice to have a short-term committment. And they come with enough eggs so that you can hatch more at a later date, after your first batch die. I am so happy with this product that I've decided to buy it as a present for my nephew.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Great Gift!
Posted 11/26/2006
Rating: 5

This was a great gift for my girlfriend. She really enjoyed it.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Aquasaurs
Posted 11/7/2006 by Robin A Lemire
Rating: 5

This product was bought for my daycare and so far so good. It was very easy to set up and we are now awaiting the fish to appear.

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A Bit Confused. . .
Posted 4/30/2006
Rating: 3

My children and I followed the instructions, putting in half of the egg packet five days ago and waiting in vain for something to happen. Two days ago we put in the second half but, again, nothing seems to have occurred. I have no clue why we got no Aquasaurs...In fact, I am not even sure that there were any eggs in the package; all we saw was a sort of grit, almost all of which is still floating on the top of the tank. I'm still fascinated by the idea and will probably try to order another set of eggs, but at this point I am not sure what to think of the product.
We ordered our customer new Aquasaur eggs. Happy hatchlings coming to your tank soon! Please visit the Returns & Exchanges center for assistance!)

7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 12/13/2007 by Janet Woodhull
Rating: 1

The student I tutor was so excited and eager to do everything right...she had to wait a day to start because she didn't have spring water for the Aquasaurs. When I went back to the child's house to see what "hatched" I was very disappointed. Nothing hatched. All she has is a tub of water with eggs floating on the top like fish food. She did everything as instructed.
Granted, while the Aquasaur eggs are neat, hatching Aquasaur eggs are better. We sent a replacement to Ms. Woodhull.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

My rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 2/16/2007 by Heather Cox
Rating: 5

Very cool! Our eggs just hatched, and we are very excited to watch them grow. It was easy to set up, and the directions were easy to follow.

7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Information about Aquasaurs
Posted 12/12/2007
Rating: 4

I ordered this because my grandson received it last year and loved it so much. He rates it a 5 star. I'm ordering one for another grandson.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Aquasaurs
Posted 2/9/2007 by Lynn - RELATIVE
Rating: 4

A little more work up front than I expected and was a slow start, took the eggs longer to hatch, but was worth the wait. My boys love watching the Aquasaurs swim around even when they are miniscule. We currently are at day 6 and are watching them grow. I bought an extra kit and I am sending it to school for the Kindergarten class.

6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 12/6/2007 by Steve Uhr
Rating: 4

Nice item.

7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaur
Posted 2/4/2007
Rating: 3

It has only been a few days since the eggs were put in the water. We were able to see about 6 hatchlings but they are very tiny. I don't think the box really prepares you for how tiny these are and how long it takes for them to grow. If I had purchased this for a small child, I could see how the child would be disappointed. We are still hoping that by day 7 the hatchlings will be much bigger.

6 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 11/19/2012 by Julie B
Rating: 5

My daughter keeps going back to it watching. She has never been interested in anything this long that is eduucational and really interesting

3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 2/20/2007 by Maryanne
Rating: 2

The container is flimsy and it not appropriate for the age group that this product is for. Also the temperature of the water cannot be maintained to keep the triops alive.
We contacted Maryanne. A refund or replacement is offered to customers for Aquasaurs that aren't a swimming success.)

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Aquasaurs
Posted 4/9/2006
Rating: 3

Great concept, but not realistic. Our "fish" did not even get to be the size of a pencil eraser after 30 days. Only 3 survived!

6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Neat
Posted 12/24/2012 by stephanie trulin
Rating: 4

Aquarium was a little flimsy, but it was a very neat experience all around!

2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

A rating of Aquasaurs
Posted 1/14/2013 by Lynetta Wood
Rating: 2

The product was easy to set up but once the water was in the aquarium it was extremely flimsy and crumpled easily. We stablized it with a baking sheet. The eggs did not hatch and my nephew was really upset.
Great service is eggs-actly what you can expect. A replacement was promptly shipped for the defective Aquasaur unit. Visit the Returns & Exchanges Center for details.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)

Review of Aquasaurs
Posted 12/28/2012 by Lynetta Wood
Rating: 3

Gave it as a present to my nephew. Followed the instructions and the eggs have yet to hatch. It has been 3 days now. The container that you are to use is flimsy and collapses easy. I would not recommend for anyone under the age of 9 to use this product. Even at 9 they need to have an adult to help them.

1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful to you?    (Report abuse)


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Home | Shopping Cart | Help | Privacy Policy | Return Authorizations | Toy Blog | Coming Soon | Christmas Toys
Best Toys by Age | Birthday Gifts | Top Kids Toys | Toys on Sale | New Toys | Popular Toy Searches

Copyright © 2003-2015 Fat Brain Toys LLC. All rights reserved. Fat Brain Toys® is a registered service mark of Fat Brain Toys, LLC
Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.
Fat Brain Toys Offices
1405 N 205th Street, Suite 120
Elkhorn, Nebraska 68022
Phone 1-800-590-5987
Omaha Toy Store
16909 Burke Street, Suite 131
Omaha, Nebraska 68118
Phone 402-504-6218
Overland Park/Kansas City Toy Store
5601 West 135th Street, Suite 2230
Overland Park, Kansas 66223
Phone 913-305-4894

  MacWeb04